Positive Self-Image

0 13
Avatar for Explorers
3 years ago

Three old men, three good friends, began to talk about the joys of youth and the burden of old age.

"Ah," cried one, "my arms and legs no longer serve me." I used to run like a deer, now I can barely walk from foot to foot. ”“ You're right, ”said another. Time has overtaken us. ”The third, in a slightly better condition, added:“ Dear friends, I don't understand you at all. What you are talking about I do not notice at all. I am as strong as I was forty years ago. ”His friends did not believe him, and he was furious:“ It is true what I am telling you! I was convinced of that just yesterday! There has always been a heavy oak chest in my room. Forty years ago, I tried to move it once, but - you won’t believe me - I failed. Yesterday it occurred to me to try again. I tried my best and - I didn't succeed. And that proves that I am just as strong as I was forty years ago! ”

Story taken from the book: Conversations with a Mirror.

This story is an example to us that the view of ourselves depends on the individual and differs between each of us. The view of oneself is learned, but also chosen. Certainly, the good thing is that we can change it!

We may wonder how we feel when we look at ourselves as a helpless and poor person, and how we feel when we look at ourselves as someone who is powerful, strong, capable, vital…

Of course what we focus on in our minds affects how we feel! Following the example of these friends, we see that we will not be satisfied with ourselves if we expect something unreal from ourselves. For example, it is quite unrealistic for an older person to have the same physical abilities as a young person. Our body changes with age. This does not mean that we are less valuable, capable, important, smart, successful, etc. If we expect from ourselves something that is not currently possible, we will be disappointed by what we see. And therefore - we will be dissatisfied.

If, on the other hand, we remember and focus on all our positive sides and strengths, our strengths and values ​​- we will feel better. We will be happier and happier. We can also focus on small steps that lead to what is already possible to realize.

When you notice that you are dissatisfied with yourself, try to stop and become aware of what thoughts are going through your head… Where do these thoughts come from? Are they really the only truth? Have you focused only on the negative and forgotten to remember all that good?

Let us accept ourselves, our possibilities, advantages and disadvantages. We work on ourselves. But despite the fact that we always have room for improvement - let's be aware of our virtues that we already possess.

3
$ 0.70
$ 0.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Explorers
3 years ago

Comments