Getting ready for My Practice Teaching

0 29

February 26, 2023. Sunday.

Practice Teaching or Teaching Internship is what I will face in my next semester which is second sem and the last sem that I have to finish to graduate.

Yesterday was the last day of enrollment at our University. And fortunately, I was happy to read that I was Officially Enrolled even before the system closed. Well, because our enrollment is online, they say it will be better if the university does this so that people do not have close contact, which is still avoided until now because the virus has not been completely suppressed.

While looking at my COR or Certificate of Registration, I saw that I only have two Course Subjects, which are Competency Enhancement and Practice Teaching. I am not that familiar with the first course subject but I already have an idea about what it is and the second course subject is really familiar to me and I already have a background about this subject.

Screenshot of my COR

Practice teaching is also known as student teaching, teacher training or teacher internship. During practice teaching, student teachers have the opportunity to work in real-world classroom settings under the guidance of experienced teachers or we call it Resource Teacher/Cooperating Teacher, student teachers also have an opportunity to apply the knowledge and skills they have learned in the classroom to real-life teaching situations.

If last semester we only did Observation in the classroom because it was just a Field Study, now it is different because we will actually experience teaching the students or we will actually participate in the whole class and discussions.

I can say that Practice Teaching has many challenges just like Time Management. Student teachers have many responsibilities such as for planning lessons, delivering instruction, grading assignments/activities/laboratory, and managing classroom behavior. This can be overwhelming, especially for those who are new to teaching. Another is Meeting the Needs of All Learners. Student teachers must create lessons that meet the needs of all learners, including those with learning disabilities or language barriers. This can be a challenging task, as each student has unique needs and learning styles. But since we already tackled about learning disabilities I think I can handle this challenge. Dealing with stress is also a challenge. Teaching can be a stressful job, and practice teaching is no exception. Student teachers may feel overwhelmed and stressed as they navigate the challenges of teaching. If teachers who have been around for a long time are still sometimes stressed, how about those who are just practicing, right?

Of course, you will not only face challenges in Practice Teaching because it will also give you opportunites that you can use when you become a full-fledged teacher someday. These opportunities are to Gain practical experience. Practice teaching allows student teachers to apply the knowledge and skills they have learned in their coursework to real-world situations. This hands-on experience is invaluable in preparing them for their future teaching careers. Next is to develop teaching skills. Student teachers have the opportunity to develop their teaching skills, such as planning and delivering effective lessons, managing classroom behavior, and assessing student learning. And finally, reflect on teaching practice. Practice teaching provides student teachers with the opportunity to reflect on their teaching practice and to identify areas for improvement. This reflective process is a critical part of ongoing professional development and helps ensure that student teachers are continuously growing and improving as educators.

Source: Unsplash

Overall, practice teaching can be a challenging but rewarding experience. Practice Teaching experiences provide invaluable insights into the world of education and can help future teachers make informed decisions about their career paths.

So I can really say that I should be mentally and emotionally prepared for my upcoming Practice teaching. Getting ready for practice teaching can be a daunting task, but with proper preparation and organization, it can be a rewarding and successful experience.

But of course Practice Teaching is not my only subject so it should not be the only thing I prepare and focus on. I have two subjects and I must give them both time and attention, I must focus on both.

I made it in Canva

Thank you so much for reading this, I appreciate the time you spend for it. Until my next article! Have a great day.


This was first published on my ecency account.

Lead image source: Unsplash

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Expelliarmus30
empty
empty
empty

Comments