Fowl Wa dy lay egg dy tire.

0 3
Avatar for Excelord
2 years ago

my dad favorite proverb "Fowl wa dy lay egg dy tire" my dad often say this proverb to me and my siblings.

Although at first i didn't get the meaning of the proverb, I thought my dad was using that proverb as a means of not giving me or my siblings money, but it far from that.

My dad is not as wealth as dangote or bill gate, but he is well to do, that mean he is rich in his own kind of way, anything he want he could afford, so in other word my dad is comfortable and OK.

Despite the fact that he has money and can easily give us anything we want as long as his money could get them, yet he always make this proverb for us. "Fowl wa dy lay egg dy tire".

It was few years, I started to understand the concept behind the proverb, my dad was trying to tell me and my cousin that we should be a liability,and we should try and feed for ourselves no matter what.

He might not be there for us anytime we need him or want anything from him, but it will be better we would stand on our own and be a man.

My dad often advised us how he started life and the mistakes he made in life, so that we won't end up doing the same mistake.

The proverb my dad often make, as made me a man, even though I still ask my dad for money up till date, I still try my best to work for my own money, so that I won't be disturbing him with my responsibility.

I learn to work for my money, even though i know that the money I make in a month, my dad can give me in a day, without him shaking. But the proverb he always say to us, make me not to totally depend on him.

My dad even went as far as demonstrating his proverb to my siblings and I. My dad decided to training fowl so that we all can get the point he is trying to make.

My dad started poultry business with 3 fowl. As the plan was to kill 1 for easter, another 1 for Christmas, then the last one will be laying egg for some time till when we are going to kill it.

So he started, he bought a week old chicken, then we train them. Until when they were big, so we killed one for easter, and the other one for Christmas. So I was wondering how will a fowl start to lay egg if they were not male and female in the cage. It was at that moment I knew that fowl can lay even though they don't mate.(sex). With food they can lay. That is they have a feed which you can give to fowl automically they can lay eggs.

So my dad bought the food. And the fowl started to lay, on a dialy basis, for like 2weeks it was a continous process. So after two weeks the fowl stop laying, then I told my dad abt it and he laugh and said that if I have forgotten his favorite proverb, and i said no. The proverb is "fowl wa dy lay egg dy tire" . so my dad still left the fowl at the cage, this time around the bone of the fowl is strong. So we just left the fowl there and just wait for when to kill the fowl, so after one month again, the fowl started laying,but this time around it was not on a daily basis like two to three days interval.

But the point was drawed fully when my dad decided to do a practical example for us.

So no matter what, don't fully depend on anyone.

0
$ 1.36
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @francis105d1
Avatar for Excelord
2 years ago

Comments