A Noobs Only Problem with BCH

1 12
Avatar for EventualM
2 years ago

Crypto as a whole can be somewhat of an emotional rollercoaster where the highs are exhilarating and the lows are depressing. I’m an average guy making an average income while providing for a wife and three kids. I discovered BCH around early 2020 through a well-trusted family member and I have since purchased what might be considered an irresponsible amount to somebody who doesn’t understand the potential value to each one of these coins. Most of the crypto scene, as far as this still-somewhat-of-a-noob can tell, is a hype game designed solely to turn fiat into more fiat as quickly as possible no matter who gets rek’d in the process. The more you start with and the more people you get on board the better because you had no intention of sticking with that coin for the long haul anyhow because it was fucking useless to begin with. 

BCH is different to me and I believe it is different to the vast majority of us who purchase, mine or trade for it. We believe in the bright future that BCH offers. My father runs a business and tries with all his might to NOT accept credit cards because of the insane fee’s that he is charged to do so. Cards are easy. They are fast and with few exceptions reliable. But as a business owner they are too expensive to conduct business with. ~3% fees add up quickly when you’re running a business. BCH could obviously solve this dilemma (among many others)- but this brings me to my only issue with the coin as it stands today. Being what I consider a normal person and by no means a “crypto whale” - I have a death grip on the little BCH that I have and I absolutely refuse to part with any until the value of each coin is recognized accordingly by the world. As of todays writing the world says that one BCH is worth roughly one iPhone 12 mini. 

The only way I could see myself parting with any of what I’ve accumulated thus far would be if there was a way to automatically repurchase whatever BCH I just sent to someone else. Buy a burger for $5 using BCH and then my wallet/exchange/whatever automatically purchases exactly that amount at whatever price BCH is at using my card or bank. It gets replaced as soon as it goes out so in theory any potential ‘loss’ would be trivial if at all.  Not being somebody holding fat virtual bags of coins I am super reluctant to get rid of any part of what I consider to be my ticket to a more comfortable future. I have to assume there are more people in my boat than not. Being able to transact is the selling point of BCH but for many of us that likely won’t happen until the value of the ~18m coins presently in circulation actually makes sense. I do not know what I should be able to get in exchange for a coin. Is it a high end laptop? A car? A house? I’m really not sure but I do know it’s not a small iPhone. 

I’ve lived through a handful of ‘if only’ moments in my life and this one I happened to not sleep through. I see the value in BCH through all of the noise that things like BTC or Doge makes and for me to part with even a portion of the little I’ve got it would have to be for something incredible.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for EventualM
2 years ago

Comments

Relatable! I have the same mindset of not spending any BCH I saved (or converting it to fiat). I know that it is just money, and it is meant to be spent but I always imagine BCH as the money of the future. What if it goes waaayyy up in value? What if I became like the guy who spent 10,000 BTC on a pizza? That kind of stuff, so yeah, I understand the way you see BCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago