One day at a time

0 7
Avatar for EvanG
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Poem, Story, Poetry

One day,

One day at a time.

I'll be more.

More than a boy,

In a fort of sheets.

More than a friend,

Waiting,

For someone to keep a seat.

More than a love,

Asking for some back.

More than a soul,

Begging for some slack.

More than the wind,

Looking for a way out.

Stuck in a house of glass,

I can see you walking there.

You go on with your war,

I'll work something out,

From here.

There's little to no remorse,

Just a wayward path.

With your back on the wall,

You may be at the end.

But never the last.

I'll be a little better,

Than the snow on the grass.

Unafraid of the sun,

I'll leave my mark.

More than a soldier,

I'll ever be.

One day I'll be called forth,

And then you'll see.

A simple man I was,

And a simple man I'll be.

Just a bit older,

Walking endlessly.

One day I'll be more,

For sure,

More than a bard.

Looking not for fancy covers,

Just an ear or two,

From afar.

More than a son,

Looking for some spare change.

More than a lad,

Looking for a fast lane.

One day I'll be more.

Just a bit more time.

I'm working on it,

Night and day.

If not the past.

The future will be mine.

One day.

One day at a time.

0
$ 0.00

Comments