Measures to improve "Procrastination" that you should be aware of in your 20s

0 12
Avatar for Ethan
Written by
3 years ago

Iռtrօɖuciռg a certaiռ yօuռg ʍɛʍber օʄ sօciety աɦօ is ʍօօɖy. THAT IS ME ✌Ethan✌


5th year working adult, 27 years old.
I am able to do most of my work, and I regularly study for exams for my next promotion. I am not dissatisfied with my current workplace and have good relationships. People around me often say, "I'm still in my twenties! I'm free," and "Enjoy various things now."

Based on the idea that "20's is a free age", I enjoyed drinking parties with the usual members on my way home from work, watched Netflix thoroughly on holidays, slept until noon and friends in the afternoon when I was in college. He enjoys a free life, going out for a drink.
I have a girlfriend, but I still can't imagine myself having a family.

On the other hand, my twenties will be over in three years.
When I imagined myself in my thirties, I began to feel a little impatient, " Is it okay to stay like this? " I sometimes think vaguely, such as "I wonder if I will change jobs before the age of 30", "I want to do a side job when I'm in my 30s", "Would you like to work on stocks?", But I tend to procrastinate.

Are yօu uռҡռօաiռgly Prօcrastiռatiռg?

The idea that many people have in their twenties is free.

Do you have any "things you plan to do someday" or "someday you want to try"?
Someday I want to change jobs in this kind of industry, I want to live in this kind of place, I want to work this way, I want to learn this kind of thing ...

I have a question for those who can think of even one.
"Are you taking any concrete action to achieve that?"

I often hear people say, "I can do anything in my twenties."
Certainly, people in their twenties have the impression that they are free to spend their time and money for themselves compared to those in their thirties and beyond.
For college students, it is said to be "summer vacation of life".
Perhaps the only age group who can feel this "freedom" is in their twenties.

In this article, I would like to think about "procrastination of life's challenges," which is common in people in their twenties who have a strong impression of "freedom."
I will explain the pitfalls of procrastination and how to improve the procrastination habit.

3 types օʄ Prօcrastiռatiօռ

First of all, let's divide the people who postpone thinking about their future career into three types.

  • Type ⓐ: "It doesn't have to be now"

  • Type ⓑ: "I don't want to think now"

  • Type ⓒ: "I can't think of it now"

Type ⓐ: "It doesn't have to be now"

The most procrastinating people in their 20s are the "not now" type.
"Dare" now "do not feel the need to think about is the people who".
For example, I'm thinking, "I'm still in my twenties. I have a long way to go, so let's do my best for the job in front of me! It's enough to think about the future when I'm in my thirties."

Type ⓑ: "I don't want to think now"

The next most common type is "I don't want to think about it now".
"I want to anyway enjoying the freedom of the 20s is a man named".
For example, "I want to enjoy various things in my twenties. I don't want to think that my future career will be heavy. While I have physical strength, time, and money, I can enjoy the freedom that I can only enjoy now. Therefore, I want to think about the future."

Type ⓒ: "I can't think of it now" type

The third type is "I want to think after seeing the future."
"I'm not completely unthinking about life's challenges, but I'm not ready to think about it now," he said.
For example, "I'm still inexperienced in life, and when I think about my career, I can't think of a big deal ... I'm more experienced in my thirties, and the world I see should have changed. "When that happens, I want to think seriously about what kind of career I will take."

Pit օʄ Prօcrastiռatiօռ

Indeed, each type has a "good reason" to procrastinate.
However, given the future ahead of each type, there are major pitfalls.

Tɦe pitʄalls օʄ tɦe "ռօt ռecessary ռօա" type

In their twenties, many people will be in the first and second careers.
You may think that it is enough to think about your life in the future even when you are in your thirties, because you are still in training.
Certainly, "a career that has spent my life" is not an issue that is imminent, so I can nod to the fact that many people put it off.

However, 3 timing of 0's, "all of the circumstances, but now does not mean that as before," There is also need to remember that.
For example, it is quite possible that you have a family and are no longer free to spend your money in your twenties, or that your position has risen and you have no time to spare.
Then, you may regret, "I should have thought more seriously and prepared for it in my twenties when I had free time and money."

In a sense, your twenties are an important period in your life where you can "face yourself and invest".
If you have an ideal image that you want to realize in your 30s or older, or if you do not want to live this kind of life (for example, you do not want to live in trouble with money in the future), not only the task at hand but also the future With that in mind, it is best to gain self-investment and experience, such as acquiring skills, and start acting in your twenties.

Tɦe pitʄalls օʄ tɦe "i ɖօռ't աaռt tօ tɦiռҡ abօut it ռօա" type

Behind the idea of ​​"I just want to enjoy my twenties now" may be "anxiety about an era of uncertain future."
I think there are many people who think, "Because the environmental changes are too drastic, isn't it a waste of time when you think about the challenges of your life at this timing?"
In this case, somewhere in your heart, you should have the feeling that "at least someday you have to take your career seriously."

However, because of the procrastination, the pressure and impatience when I was in my thirties became greater than I had imagined.
Since I didn't think deeply in my twenties, I don't know how to face it, and if I just slip it, I may continue to procrastinate.
In terms of business career, as we get older, the abilities and experience points expected of others will increase steadily.
This is the so-called "ʍarҡet".

Market value is determined by relative valuation.
If you spend your 30s and 40s vaguely while procrastinating, the market value will decrease .
As a result, career options may be narrowed and you may be forced to work unwillingly.

Tɦe pitʄalls օʄ tɦe "uռtɦiռҡable ռօա" type

Listening to the stories of seniors and celebrities around me, I got a conservative idea that "I should be able to improve my outlook on life and my way of thinking about my career only by gaining experience.", May be at the root.
In a sense, it's a good idea.

But how much experience do you need to have enough to clarify your career?
How many years and what kind of experience do you need to gain in order to improve your outlook on life?

Many people in their teens and twenties already have a solid outlook on life.
For this type of person, there is an aspect that he / she takes too much of his / her future career .
As soon as you turn 29 to 30, something doesn't change dramatically.
Even in your thirties, you may unknowingly put a stopper on "I still have experience ..." or procrastinate and keep avoiding looking at your future life.

Hօա tօ iʍprօʋe prօcrastiռatiօռ

We've looked at the disadvantages of putting off facing your life.
Here are some ways to improve your procrastination habit by type.

Iʍprօʋeʍeռt ʍetɦօɖ ʄօr "ռօt ռecsssary ռօա" type

First of all, it doesn't matter roughly, so let's think about life planning for each age group , such as "30's, 40's, 50's ..." .
Here, it is recommended to start thinking from the farthest age.
It doesn't have to be concrete.

For example

  • In my 60s, I want to live with my family in a place rich in nature, cherish time with my family, and play an active role in this field in terms of work.

  • For that reason, I would like to gain such experience in my 50s.

  • Toward that end, in my 40s, I want to acquire such connections at multiple companies so that I can work under my own name instead of the company name.

  • Furthermore, as a preparation for that, I would like to change jobs to such a company in my thirties and acquire such skills.

With this kind of feeling, let's roughly think about "what kind of state you should be in".
If you think about the nearest 30's, think more concretely only for the 30's .
Then, in order to get off to a smooth start in your thirties toward your ideals, let's find out what you need to prepare from your twenties.

For example, if you don't have an ideal figure as an extension of your current company's career, you should consider changing jobs.
Then, you should collect information on what kind of industry or company it is best to gain experience.
Go to seminars and read books for people who are active in that area.
If there are people around you who are doing similar work, listen to them.
Various actions are possible.

Also, if there is a gap between you and your ideal in terms of skills, you naturally need to develop your abilities.
First, learn from books and videos to get an overview.
After that, look for a school that you can learn in earnest and go to school.

By clearing your immediate vision as much as possible, you will be able to focus on what you should do "now" for your "future career ."

Iʍprօʋeʍeռt ʍetɦօɖ ʄօr "i ɖօռ't աaռt tօ tɦiռҡ ռօա" type

It's a bit heavy, but let's have a firm awareness that life is finite .
For example, suppose you are 27 years old and your life is up to 90 years old.
How many hours are left?

24 hours a day, 365 days a year, 63 years until 90 years old.
24 hours x 365 days x 63 years = 551,880 hours

You have 551,880 hours left before you die.
In addition, they are young and physically fit, have relatively little family and work responsibilities, and have a limited period of freedom.
Whether you spend it vaguely or act towards investing in the future will make a big difference in your life.
I don't say the harsh thing of "think to die tomorrow and live today."
However, if you try to reduce the time in this way, the time left will decrease steadily just by procrastinating "what you can do now". , you will be able to recognize once again what you can do now.
Of course, enjoying the freedom that only people in their twenties have is also very important for enriching their lives.
However, with that alone, when you enter your thirties, you may end up in a situation where you cannot find a clue to think about your future.

Only 30 minutes of the week is OK.
"What kind of career do you want to pursue in the future?"
"What do you want to do with your own life?"

Turn off your smartphone, shut down your connection with the world, and spend some time pondering with a cup of coffee. By having it consciously, you will be able to prepare for your thirties.

Hօա tօ iʍprօʋe ʄօr "i caռ't tɦiռҡ օʄ it ռօա" type

First of all, let's be aware of the major premise that " lifestyle and career are not comparable to others ".
When I see and hear stories from celebrities, I really want to put a stopper on myself, saying, "I'm still in my twenties ...".
However, there is no difference in the way people live and their careers. There is no difference between the desire to become a bookstore and the desire to become a flower shop." It's a one-time life.

It is important to think about "what kind of life and career do you want to pursue?"

When it comes to ambitions, I feel that they are very large, but there are two types of ambitions: "ambition" and "small ambition".
It is difficult to suddenly find the "ambition" that you want to realize over your life.
First of all, let's start by finding a " small ambition (= small ambition) " that you want to work on in your daily life .
We will act to achieve the ambition, and once it is realized, we will find and realize the next ambition, and so on. As soon as you are in your thirties, it is almost impossible to find an ambition.
Then, in the end, the outline of "the ambition (= ambition) that I want to complete in my life" emerges.

Those who have achieved great achievements, but those who suddenly find their through revelation from God Should not be.
To reach that point, the process of finding and realizing the ambitions that lead to that ambition is indispensable.

Instead of taking your career and way of life seriously, let's first find a small direction, "I want to be able to do this" and "I want to be able to work like this".
In the process of finding and realizing it, "how I want to live in the future" should gradually become clear.

Suʍʍary

In a sense, people in their twenties are a precious time when they have the money, time, and physical strength to spend freely.
However, if you put off thinking about your future life and career in this "free" twenties, you will put excessive pressure on yourself after your thirties.
First of all, just 10 minutes from today is fine.
Why don't you start by writing in a notebook "How do you want to live?"

-1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ethan
Written by
3 years ago

Comments