They don't want to see us grow.

13 23

Lead image

It was a very painful experience, a past I don't like digging into because it hurts.

I was working in a factory then (Dangote Noodles) we produce noodles, I must have mentioned it in one of my posts before and I work there as a checker, all I do is to make sure every noodle passing through the machine must have seasoning, it sounds simple right? But not as easy as it sounds, because we work 8am to 8pm in the night shift and morning shift as well, Sunday to Sunday no holiday except for festive period only.

I was still working in the factory when I gained admission to the Lagos State Polytechnic (laspotech), I never knew the lecture has started because I was waiting for the school to mail me first but I guess I was wrong about that, so on that day which was Friday I did night shift and I will close by 7am. The next day which is Saturday I closed from work heading home so I discovered that am out of cash for transport fare and I branch inside the school bank to make use of the ATM.

As I got to the entrance I saw people running for lecture and I asked one guy what was going on with those people running and he told me that they are the fresher's that just got admitted to the school, they have started receiving lectures and I was like what since when and he said: maybe two weeks now. I was speechless because I was living just opposite the school.

I didn't go to the ATM again I ran with people as they are running even though I don't know my department yet but I knew it's computer science department.

Funniest part

I followed the crowd into one class they all sat down and I joined them as well then one lecturer came in and started teaching then I turned to one guy and asked him for a sheet of paper but he gave me a complete 60leaves book, the lecturer didn't even introduce himself to the class but as a fresher (newbie) we don't dare to ask him yet. After two lectures my mind just came back to ask of the department from a girl and the girl threw it to the class saying: please everyone what department are we? Chorus answer masscom (mass communication) then all of them laughed at me, I really act too childish on my first day in school.

So I left the class to look for my department and when I finally found it there was a lecture going on and I stood outside until when the lecturer left, as I entered the classroom I saw so many people and I was like how do I cope but God helped me to cope.

I love sitting at the back of the classroom because I don't come early to school, so on that day it was a rainy Saturday and I was coming from work straight to school. I went to inform my supervisor that I want to be going because I have exams that morning he said that he was coming and I should just hold on.

I was working while checking outside maybe he was coming and I can't leave my duty post because the person taking over is not yet around and my exam starts at 8:30 am on the dot when it was 7: 30am I couldn't concentrate on my work again then I started crying because am going to be late for my exams, exactly 8:00 am the other shift that will do morning duty resume to take over from me and I couldn't control my tears because I have struggled and suffered so much before I could pay my school fee and now am about to miss my exams.

When I finally got to the exam hall the paper was almost over and even some students were coming out of the exam all already and I just put my two hands on my head crying because if that my supervisor has help me till another shift resume I would have had a better chance with the exam.

And if I miss work for one day, two days payment will be deducted from my salary, this was how my wicked supervisor made me carry this course over that means I have to seat for the exam with my junior next semester and I have to pay for another course registration again.

Sponsors of Esthery97
empty
empty
empty

Meet my beautiful, inspiring, motivating sponsors kindly visit them if you haven't


My thoughts

Sometimes I wonder why people like him get to that powerful seat because they just suffer people, when I got back to work in the night I reported him to the admin but it was like I just pour fuel inside a little fire. They made the case worse by telling me to quit working if I know I want to school, that I can't eat my cake and have it as well and I must not miss work.

It was then I realized that those people up there that we call bosses are not human they don't care about their workers' growth, all they want is to use people and dump(sack) them whenever they want.

This is my true life story when I was in school and there are lots more to write but let me just stop here so that I won't waste my readers time

Thanks for reading

6
$ 2.73
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 3
Sponsors of Esthery97
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Oh no! That's kind of sad. Sorry, Esthery you had to go through all these 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah sis but thank God am not working there anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hugs!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hugs 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! This is sad. I am not surprised because there are people like them who do not want their employees to be great but would keep using them as slaves and at the end would give them penny. What a world. So sorry you had to go through this and even missed your exam. Thank God it's in the past now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am telling you they are just so mean

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah... You surely had experiences with your first time in school...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very disgrace first time in school 🤦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I am so sorry about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's ok dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're lucky if you get a boss that will treat you as a friend, not a worker, in this case they care about your other priorities like studies. It's rare to find.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am sure they don't want people to be like them that's why they behave like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago