The daily devotion

3 22
Avatar for Esinu1
Written by
3 years ago

*🙏The Word Daily Devotion 🙏*

(Global Evangelical Church)

*📖SELF-CONTROL*

👉(Reading: 1 Corinthians 9: 24-27)

🗓Wednesday, September 16

📜I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified *1 Corinthians 9:26-27 (NKJV)*

📋The ultimate aim of every born again Christian is to make it to heaven. However, there are many enemies opposing this very aim. The devil is not the only enemy opposing us but also our fleshly desires. In the focus text, the Apostle Paul pointed out that the body and its fleshly desires as the first things we must subdue before we can go to heaven. The journey to heaven calls for focus, commitment and determination. Paul says, “I don’t run aimlessly, I do not box as one beating the air; but I pommel my body and subdue its” v.26 (RSV). In order to subdue the body, three things are essential. They are: personal commitment, focusing on the cross and forsaking the desires of the flesh. The Christian life journey is compared to boxing where boxers commit themselves to rigorous training and discipline. Christians must do the same under the control of the Holy Spirit— they must be disciplined. The flesh is the one which must be subdued with conscious effort before one can make it to heaven. Do you want to go to heaven? Then subdue your body under the control of the Holy Spirit.

_*🛐Meditation And Prayer:*_ Father, give me the grace to subdue my body under the Holy Spirit’s control in order to make it to heaven.

_*📚Further Reading:*_ Romans 8:13; Colossians 3:5; 2 Corinthians 13:5-6

_*🔑Key Lesson:*_ For one to make heaven the body must be subdued by the power of the Holy Spirit

_*◼The Bible in one ye ar:*_ Joel 1-3

6
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Esinu1
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Jesus is our saviour :) Great devotion.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At first it's to get to heaven. But as time progresses I think it's to love God (Jesus, Father, Holy Spirit). The power of the resurrection is amazing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes if you love your God, there is no way you will miss heaven.

$ 0.00
3 years ago