Red T-shirt

0 23
Avatar for Erinn
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Mom is crying in the kitchen today. I could see if I could hide my tears from everyone. After crying, the mother carefully wiped her eyes with the hem of her sari. The water can be wiped with the edge of the sari, the wet spot remains under the eyes. If you look closely, the stain can be clearly understood.

Seeing me, my mother seemed to fall into discomfort. He said to himself, Sharif used to say why am I cooking semai today?

Why again, today is Eid. These days, but there is no father? Don't you remember your father?

I did not answer. The mother will be upset if she answers. My father works in a lumber shop in Chittagong. Dad never gets a holiday on a special day of the year, the two days that come every month are very happy for our two brothers. This time I am in the ninth grade, Tuhin is in the third grade. We don't have any sisters, we have never felt the lack of sisters in the midst of lack of family.

When Dad arrives, he brings home a ten to fifteen day market. The rest of the month is very difficult for the mother to continue. With the money that goes into the mother's hand while going, a person's hand does not go hand in hand. Still, his mother dragged him away for months.

He woke up and sat stubbornly. He will not take Semai in his mouth today. I have to buy him a new shirt this Eid. Don't put anything in your mouth until you get a shirt.

Mother explained it to him in many ways. Not making a profit. I did not buy anything on Eid, I have no complaints about this. But Tuhin does not want to understand it.

Tuhin did not go to the Eidgah, I am sitting next to him. Mother is feeding Tuhin with her own hands. He has been told with great difficulty that both shirts and pants will be bought for the upcoming Eid. He will tell his father to bring shirt and pants to come from Chittagong.

Going to school with Tuhin is very annoying lately. When I see something red on someone on the street, I start to say with interest - I will ask my father to bring a red shirt just like this Eid.

When I heard words, I stopped him with a threat. My mother said this to calm me down and I couldn't tell her. Tuhin threatened and said, will not bring for you so you are angry? Okay I don't need pants. I will ask my father to bring two red shirts for two.

When I went to share, I was happy to see Tuhin's pull towards me. For a moment it seemed as if I was wearing a red shirt with the dirty genjita off my body.

Eid al-Adha is just a week away. This Eid will be spent with much joy. Dad got a holiday this Eid. He said he would bring two shirts for the two of them when he came from Chittagong on the eve of Eid.

He doesn't want to waste time. Tuhin counts the days of his father's arrival by counting the fingers of his hand every night before going to sleep.

Eid has really come. It is like an Eid smeared with sadness. On the morning of Eid, my great uncle came from Dhaka and took me with him. Mother went to uncle's house with Tuhin. Dad didn't come with a shirt for us. I heard from my great uncle that my father will not come again, leaving my mother, my father got married in Chittagong.

Although it was hard to believe my great uncle's words, in a few days I realized that my father did not love us from the bottom of his heart. As much as it was, it was just a sense of responsibility.

Mother is at uncle's house with younger brother. Tuhin went to his uncle's house and was admitted to the school. I did not study anymore. I came to Dhaka and got a job in a wholesale goods store.

This is how the times are passing. Growing up over time, much bigger. Many years have passed between growing up.

After finishing his studies, Tuhin got a job in a bank. I am also quite well. With the help of big uncle in the business line and his own efforts, he now has two wholesale shops of his own.

My small family, wife and only one daughter. The girl will be in the third grade this time. Mother is old. Sometimes I have to stay in the hospital due to illness. Then there is discomfort in the mind. The emptiness that is created when the mother is not at home can not be filled with anything.

When Eid comes, everyone in the family gets together. Tuhin took my daughter with him for shopping. But he did not buy anything for himself.

On the day of Eid, the girl put on new clothes, Tuhin himself taught her. After reading, he immediately ran to the verandah. She is silently shedding tears. Sensing my presence, he hugged me and said in a sad voice, "I miss my father very much, I remember the days of waiting for my father, when I used to count my fingers to get a red shirt.

I don't know any language to comfort Tuhin. I know why I can't look at the girl for a moment today. Seeing the new clothes on the girl's body, the memories behind her are not allowing the tears to hold back. The water in the river of eyes is trying to flow out like a stream.

Sponsors of Erinn
empty
empty
empty

2
$ 3.16
$ 3.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Erinn
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Shortstory

Comments