Why I Love to Write About Video Games

3 12
Avatar for EricFarmer
2 years ago

I Love to Write About Video Games

I write guides and info articles about tech often. I write about Windows, Android, and Linux. But my favorite topic to write about is video games.

Why? I am going to explain why!

I Play Video Games a Lot

I play video games often. Well, not as much anymore since I am working full-time. But it still is one of my favorite hobbies. So why not write about the things I like?

I frequently write guides and reviews for my favorite games.

As I have played my favorite games for hundreds of hours, I can easily write guides for games.

I Want to Teach People What I Know About Games

I always found the idea of sharing things about games with others to be very fun.

I remember reading GameFAQs guides years ago and being impressed with what people would write and publish for free.

I have been inspired by these guides to writing my guides and how-tos.

I tend to write smaller guides instead of big ultimate type guides, though.

I am also inspired by certain YouTubers. I like the pacing of certain YouTubers and the way they show content.

I tend to watch YouTubers that explain things or review games. I also feel my own reviews are somewhat inspired by certain YouTubers.

I have not made any video content myself. Well, none that exist anymore. It is something I have toyed around with but never committed to doing.

Make That Money!

I make money writing online. But I won't lie, I make very little with my online writing.

I make about $30 - $40 (USD) with my HubPages articles every month. My AndroidGamingFox blog makes less than $10 (USD) a month. All other sources make almost no money.

This is about as much as much money my blog makes in a month.

You might wonder then why I write online to make money when I make almost none?

I am stubborn. I like to write, so I won't give up so easily.

So I keep on writing. Hoping maybe someday I will get lucky and write about a topic people care about.

It turns out writing about only my favorite games might not be the best strategy to make money.

Summary

I write online about video games because I enjoy playing them, I like to teach others about the games, and I like to make (very little) money from writing online.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @snapping.turtle
Avatar for EricFarmer
2 years ago

Comments

Hello there. I like playing games as well. Same as you, I am also stubborn. I love to write, but I love writing stories. I just noticed that storytelling does not earn much than other articles.

But being stubborn as I am, I still write them. Still hoping that it will be recognized someday, somehow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds interesting. I tend to write informational content more than anything else. But I have thought about testing other topics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go and try it, you might find your niche. I'll wait for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago