The Village life of a city dweller

12 42
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago

I woke up later than usual today. More precisely, my mother woke me up late because she prepared breakfast a little late. Normally we have breakfast with my mother at 09:00 in the morning. However, we had our breakfast at 11:00 today. I guess she didn't hear the clock's alarm. I don't set an alarm just because my mom wakes me up anyway.

Our favorite breakfast these days is fresh cheese fries. We fry cheese at least 3-4 times a week. One of the advantages of living in the village is that such fresh products are easy to access.

After breakfast, we enjoyed tea with my mother in the garden. Fortunately, the weather has softened in the last two days. Now we can sit in the garden and enjoy the sun rays at certain times of the day.

My mom has been talking for a few days now that the roses in the garden need to be pruned. Normally my father would do this job. I guess it's up to me to prune the rose bushes now. There are 5 rose saplings in the garden of our house. All of them are different color. We have orange, yellow, red, white and pink roses. My mother likes to grow roses in the garden. About ten years ago on Mother's Day, I gave her a red rose bush because I knew she loved roses. I pruned the rose sapling I gave to my mother 10 years ago so that it will bloom better today with my own hands. According to my mother, the roses had to be pruned as soon as it was time to open their petals. While I was trying to prune the rose seedlings, I could not prevent the needle-like rose thorns from sinking into my hands. Although I was very careful, I missed a few rose thorns and realized how painful even a beautiful flower like a rose can be.

There is a proverb in our culture: "He who loves a rose tolerates its thorns."

I think you understand what this word means. It is necessary to accept the annoying aspects of beautiful things.

After the pruning of the rose seedlings was finished, I went shopping with my mother to the market. A vegetable market is held on Thursdays at the northwest end of our village. Since we have a big village, it has its own market. The population of our village is close to 2500.

Yes, my mother and I meeting our weekly vegetable needs from the village market. We bought leeks, spinach, cauliflower, cabbage, carrots and radishes as vegetables. Apples and bananas were also fruits we bought. My mother promised to cook a traditional Turkish dish called "cabbage wrap". It is one of my favorite dishes. However, the preparation of this dish is quite laborious. After the cabbage is boiled, it is cut into small pieces. Then, a mixture prepared with rice and various spices is put into small pieces of cabbage cut into pieces and wrapped. At least 50 small cabbage rolls are being prepared. The wrapping process should be done carefully, otherwise it will open and the food will not be as it should be.

In this market, besides vegetables, basic foods such as cheese, olives and eggs are also sold. In fact, we can call it a kind of food products market. We also bought a dozen eggs.

Yes, that's how I spent today. As someone who has lived in the big city for many years, I am trying to get used to the village life. Soon I can start raising chickens by setting up a coop in the garden.

Greetings to all of you love...

10
$ 0.67
$ 0.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
+ 3
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I think you have very beautiful rose

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being brought in the village, life in more enjoyable in the village. The fresh food is top notch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right about the food

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living in a country house is the best pleasure, taking care of its garden. Cheese fried with butter is one of the favorite choices of the village breakfast. Next to the cabbage rolls, there will be pickled garlic! It would be better if I didn't read this article at this time of night.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's our next favourite, from toast and butter fried cheese. The cabbage rolls are really appetizing. I think you are hungry my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Village life is very healthy, enjoy as much as you can. I like the proverb, that's true. If we love the rose, we must tolerate its thorns. We often eat the dish you described, we call it "sarma" . We consider it traditional, but it is actually of Turkish origin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, Jeka, there are good aspects to village life. Other negative aspects have to be tolerated somehow. I'm glad you ate the cabbage rolls. It is very delicious. I remember we mentioned before that we have things in common about food :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember when last I travelled to the village or a village close by... Everyone desire a good life in the city but I feel there is more to the village which is yet discovered.

Grandparents are the major intention going to the village when I was young but they are all gone to be with the Lord... Life continues both in the city and the village.

Peace

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, we used to come to see our grandparents when we were kids. Now I have come to live with my mother. When spring comes, I plan to start nature explorations. I will go to the mountains for mushrooms and honey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like life in the village. Good thing you have internet there. Here in a village you can't get a good signal. I like roses, I only have one red rose bush. And when I can I take pictures of it and post and share them here. I think I have eaten that dish you mentioned. There is also a similar one with vine leaves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not easy for me to get used to village life. It's nice to be close to nature. However, I don't think the social life of the village is for me. It's a small community and everyone wants to know everything. In addition to the exaggerated indifference in the city, there is an exaggerated curiosity in the village. Yes, we also have a wrap dish made with vine leaves. Cabbage wrap is also made with the same technique.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I knew it, thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago