The Most Handsome Uncle

6 45
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Uncle, Handsome, Hospital, Autistic, Soup, ...

I mentioned that my father passed away a few days ago. Today, I took my uncle to the hospital with my cousin so that he can get a disability report. Before my father died, he was in charge of his care.

Actually, I had two uncles. The other passed away 14 years ago. Both of my uncles are autistic. My deceased uncle's name was Mehmet. He was not able to speak as he was a more advanced autistic, but he was able to express his wishes somehow. My uncle, whom I took to the hospital today, can speak, but has the intelligence of a 5-year-old child. It was both very nice and very strange to communicate with him again after many years. I forgot he was like a child. Frankly, the fact that he is 50, has white hair, is 1 meter 60 centimeters tall and weighs 100 kilograms overshadows his childish side. However, his childlike naivete is revealed when she starts to have a little chat with him. When I told him, "He is the most handsome of uncles", big smiles formed on his face :)

The name of my uncle who is still alive is Hasan. The reason why I took him to the hospital was to prove that he deserved his disability pension by being examined by the health board. Due to the fact that some doctors in the health board are on leave, the examination work is left for the week.

When we went to his house to take my uncle Hasan to the hospital with my cousin, even though it was 13:00, he was still asleep. He had to come with us without breakfast in order not to waste the time of the examination appointment. Despite being hungry, like a good boy, he sat in the back seat and agreed to our promise to eat after the examination.

After he got out of the hospital, we took him to the best soup restaurant in town. We ordered lentil soup for him as it is his favorite soup. After we threw in lots of lemons and spices, we didn't mind him making noise like a little kid and eating his bread dipped in soup. Of course, we did not neglect to drink tea together after drinking the soup.

My cousin left me alone with my uncle because he had business in town, and we chatted over our tea in the garden of a coffee shop. Today we had the opportunity to enjoy the sun as the town was not too cold. Is there anything as beautiful as a sunny winter day?

During our conversation, Uncle Hasan talked about my uncle Mehmet, who died years ago and could not speak because of his advanced autism. By the way, our friends who know our family closely say that I look like my uncle Mehmet. In the past, I had noticed that my eyes and face shape were similar to my uncle Mehmet's. My uncle Mehmet could not speak and he had the intelligence of a 3-year-old child, but when we went to visit their house, he understood that my sister and I were his brother's children. Even though he couldn't speak, he was showing it somehow. I remember when he was asked who we were, he looked at my father with a smile and made sounds that were both strange and cheerful.

Both my uncles are very nice people. Since I live in a city far from here, I couldn't spend much time with them. Now that I'm here, I hope to spend more time with Uncle Hasan.

I'm taking him to the hospital again next week anyway, and he'll probably want to have another lentil soup.

Wishing the whole world to raise awareness of autism stay with love.

5
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
+ 3
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Uncle, Handsome, Hospital, Autistic, Soup, ...

Comments

This is my first time knowing about the fact of an average adult with a 3yeard old's intelligence.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Autism patients generally have mental retardation. Rarely, gifted autism patients are encountered. For example, Rainman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate you to take care of your uncle.I pray Allah Almighty for your uncle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to know that you take good care of your uncle as he badly needs it. God bless you more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your good wishes my friend. He is my last surviving uncle and needs attention like a small child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago