I Traveled the World as a Child

8 19
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago

When I was a kid I had a library. A small and cozy library standing in a bright corner of my small room… I used to put my textbooks on the lower shelves of this library, and my reading books and magazines on the upper shelves. Of course, I would reserve a separate place for my comics in my library. My favorite comic was Tintin. I loved reading Tintin's adventures. I was excited every time he solved the case and caught the criminals with his friend and cute dog. Tintin was a very intelligent person, and that impressed me a lot. Also, I remember Tintin's hair was so funny.

Photo: Pixabay

My father bought me this library when I was 10 years old and he told me: "Now you're grown up, you should have a library where you can put your own books"

I didn't have many books then. When we put the library in my room, I could only fill its top shelf. As the days passed, the other shelves gradually began to fill with books. Sometimes my father bought a book, sometimes my mother…

After a while, I had brand new fairy tale books, story books, poetry books, magazines and of course comics. Then let me try to count the ones I remember among the books I have.

For example, Candy Orange (I still remember Zeze and his frog. I was very upset when Zeze crushed her frog with her bike. That's why I didn't read a book for a week. However, I started to read it again because I was afraid that my books would be sad.), Child's Heart, Pink Pearl Kaftan, Haunted Mansion, Stardust, Dede Korkut Stories, Keloğlan Tales, Polyanna, Aladdin's Magic Lamp, Finger Boy and many more. there was.

The day the furniture makers brought my library, my mother and I chose the most beautiful place in my room for her. We put my library right in front of my bed. That way, I would be able to see my books as soon as I woke up.

As I was lining up the first books in the library, my mother said: “Books are your best friends. You shouldn't upset them at all"

I asked my mother, "Why do books get sad?" I was a little kid and didn't know why books could be upsetting.

I still remember what my mother said that day. My mother said, “Books, when you forget them, leave them dusty on the library shelves; They get upset when you don't know their value, when you don't ask them something you don't know. They are not ornaments, they want their covers to be opened and their pages to be turned. They look for a curious pair of eyes reading them. Just as they grieve when we forget them, they rejoice when we read them.”

At that moment, I decided not to upset my books at all.

Sometimes when I entered my room, I felt that they were waiting for me. They looked like knowledgeable friends who had a lot to share with me. As I opened their pages and read them, I imagined them as if they were telling me stories. I always asked them questions that were on my mind. Books have always been generous to me. They taught me everything they knew, they didn't hide any information.

I learned many things from books. Thanks to my books, I got to know people I had never met, and I visited places I had never been with them; African forests, poles, oceans, even outer space. I went on a world tour with "Around the World in Eighty Days".

In short, I had a very good childhood thanks to my books.

So, what was your favorite book as a kid?

7
$ 1.84
$ 1.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 3
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I love the way you made a sentence will make people understood and very clear... Maybe you'll fun about any history books., And maybe you also love biology thats interesting❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you like my writing style

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all I want to thank you for supporting me, I didn't expect that you're going to visit me:) God Bless to you!

Btw about this, I really love how you love the books. I'm also a book lover, especially science and story books(with pictures), ofcourse the Bible. When I was a kid, my parents told me that I like our Biology book, I used to watch the pictures and draw on it:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loving books is a good common ground for people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday we bought a library 😊 Yesterday I brought a few sets of books that were with my mom. I can’t wait to bring all my books. As a kid, I used to love Andersen's fairy tales

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you got your books back. I'm a bit away from them right now, but soon I'll bring them all to where I live.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also learned many things from books. I liked to read a lot when I was a child. My favorite edition from childhood is "Once upon a time in the meadow". Recently, I wrote an article about those beautiful books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely read the article you wrote about the books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago