A Lonely Wild Pear Tree

2 21
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Tree

I am a tree standing at the edge of a large wheat field. It's like I'm the keeper of this field, not a tree. They call me wild pear. On the edge of this field, I've been waiting alone since the day I was born. I have no friends, not a single tree growing near me. I can see there are other wild pear trees in the distance, but they are too far away for me to talk to. The poplar trees standing on the side of the road are not very pleasant conversations because they are so arrogant.

I would love to have someone to chat with on long winter days; maybe a wild pear like me, or a wise plane tree, a beautiful cedar or oak...

Winter is really tough around here. When it snows, the field is covered like a white blanket and the snow doesn't melt until spring comes. On cold winter nights, I feel very cold under strong winds because all my leaves are falling. Then neither man nor bird will come to me. Before winter comes, I send all migratory birds to warmer regions.

Now that the birds have left this place, my only friend is my shadow. I'm talking to my own shadow, chatting. Do you know what it means for a tree to talk to its own shadow? This is the end of loneliness. At times like these, I consider myself the loneliest being in the world.

But winter only lasts for a few months, and then spring comes. I will be so beautiful in the spring! I open white flowers. Moreover, I am not as lonely as cold winter nights. Nearby villagers come to cultivate the field. They rest in my shade to escape the scorching summer sun. They eat their meals in my shade and even sleep during breaks. Tiny ants crawl around my trunk, little ears of wheat grow under my feet, little larks alight on my branches.

Still, everyone minds their own business. Can a few birds or ants heal the loneliness of a tree? The farmers who work in the fields don't really care about me anyway. Except when they sleep in my shadow.

One day an old man came to me; He had a white beard and a bright face. Apparently it was the last day of my solitude. The old man had an apple seedling in his hand. With trembling hands, he planted that apple seedling somewhere near me.

Then that old man said to me: "Look, wild fig, this apple sapling will accompany you when it grows. So protect and watch over it, it's your responsibility from now on."

I couldn't stand it and replied, "You made me very happy by planting that apple tree there, old man."

Then a conversation started between us.

Old man: This apple seedling will not only make you happy, it will also make the birds, ants and other plants happy. I am an old person, but planting this seedling here did not tire me at all. When this apple tree grows and bears fruit, insects, birds and humans alike will be able to eat these fruits. This will be my charity. God will be pleased with me for helping people and other living things.

Wild pear: Old man, you are a very kind and thoughtful person. Some people do not love us at all, they do not value us at all. I've never seen a forest before, I don't know forest trees. But migratory birds told me stories about forests. Sometimes a fire breaks out and all the trees in the forest are burned to ashes. Sometimes a person would come and cut down trees with an ax in hand.

Old man: Yes, that's right, unfortunately! I don't understand why people act like this. However, people need you to live. If you go extinct, the oxygen needed for humans to breathe will be greatly reduced on this earth, and they have no chance of survival. Don't worry though, my tree friend, there are many people in the world who value trees like me. We both protect you and plant new saplings whenever possible.

The old man stayed with me until evening that day. It was as if all the loneliness that had accumulated in my life had disappeared thanks to him. He promised to bring his grandchildren on his next visit. The old man said he wanted to feed his grandchildren my fruits and tell them how precious I am. These words of the old man touched me very much.

I waved after the old man for a long time. Then I heard a voice next to me. My little apple tree friend called me. I had to bend over a little to hear it. My little friend said "hello" to me.

Welcome dear apple, today is your birthday. Don't worry, I will protect you. Hope to meet beautiful people in our blue world...

Thank you for reading. Treat the trees well. In fact, plant a tree sapling whenever you can. See you...

3
$ 1.66
$ 1.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Amy05
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Tree

Comments

It is a wonderful story made with great perfection, the way in which the story was written attracted me to complete it all and enjoy every letter in it, and it was presented to some accidents that happen in the forests - intentional or unintentional - it was a very interesting show, thank you my friend for this wonderful story and I wish you more success

$ 0.01
2 years ago

First of all, thank you for your words of praise. I wanted to draw attention to the sensitivity about trees.

$ 0.00
2 years ago