What do you need to do to meet your goal? 

2 33
Avatar for Enuv8-Media
2 years ago
if you feel that you have failed at any point, don't give up. Try to keep moving forward, learn from your mistakes and be confident in your ability to survive.

To begin this article, I would like to share a phrase that I heard from a mentor last year (2020), which is "Be stubborn about your goals, but be flexible on how you get them."

When I finished my last paper from the university, I knew it was vital to reach out to people I considered successful (Association Alumni, Friends, Rich Uncles) and learn from their experience. I wanted to know how I can move ahead with my life after graduating. Out of my different conversations with them, I noticed that their main keyword was flexibility. What this means is that I should be flexible on how I achieve my goals.

I recently learned about a proverb from the (1) Hausa Tribe, which states that the solution to a burning house has more than two houses. Although I may not express the proverb correctly, one of the main points is having more than a plan to achieve comfort. 

Be clear and specific about what you want.

The above statement may sound cliche, it is actually important to know what you want and be clear on them. When it comes to setting Specific and Clear Goals, I use the SMART GOALS formula: specific, measurable(numerical), Achievable, result-oriented, and time-bound. What this looks like for me is 

I generate $20'000 in revenue by the end of the year through my freelance jobs

By being specific, I can state exactly what I want to achieve. Measurable involves me attaching a numerical value that I can track. Attainable is simply me setting the goal based on my past achievements and records. Result-oriented is that the goal must be impact-driven, i.e., have where it is taking me to. The final lap of the formula is time, which means there is a deadline to achieve the goal. 

This video from Chris Do, explains its point better


The vision of where you are going 

Before you even start setting goals, I believe that it is important that you know where you are going. What you want to achieve, and the type of result you want to see. This becomes your drive or your why for pursuing those goals. A vision can help you maintain focus and provide you strength during difficult times. It can help you win others and build purposeful relationships. 

Another thing that I have realized is that it helps to have a vision board. This would help you visualize your future. This video by Peace Itimi is a good resource that you can check out: 

Short, Medium, and Long Term Goals

Remember that you need to have a vision first before setting goals. Your goals should be a form of a plan that can help you meet your vision, and they should be divided into Short, Medium, and Long Term. I assume Short Term goals should be your monthly and yearly goals, while Medium can be annually or bi-annually. For long-term goals, they should be "long stretched" or "over a long period."

By breaking goals this way, it is simpler to pursue, and you understand what needs to be done to achieve them. 

Leveraging Resources and Connection 

You cannot achieve your goals alone, and you need other people to assist you in your journey. This is why you must build relationships and leverage connections. Sometimes the final lap or the red button push won't be done by you. It would be done by another person. This is why rich people are often together. It is not just by the environment, but what they can leverage by being together. 

Another thing I would like to add is that, don't be shy when leveraging your resource. Instead recognize that it your privilege and what is required to make you move ahead.

Things may not go according to plan.

After finishing school, I realized that things may not go according to the plan you have set in life. You might not achieve them based on the timelines that you set for them. While they may be the eagerness (that you have) to move ahead quickly, life has a system that can be hard to be influenced. The most important thing for you is to recognize the situation and act upon them as quickly as possible because life is designed so that your plan will not work out accordingly. 


Don't Resign early. 

On a Chess Board, you might lose all your (2)Officials and become tempted to resign from the game. Resist that temptation, and try to win the game. My point is that if you feel that you have failed at any point, don't give up. Try to keep moving forward, learn from your mistakes and be confident in your ability to survive.

One thing about not giving up easily is that sometimes, life has a way of saving you and ensuring that you at least win. If you shoot for the star, you may fall on the moon.

Reflect and Learn

Whether you like it or not, one of your strengths would be being able to think critically. And in other to do this effectively, you have to occasionally stop and reflect on your journey and action. This is an excellent avenue for you to document your process and teach others.

By reflecting on your journey, you have the opportunity to become better. The opportunity to know your mistake and also influence other aspects of your life. It makes you a conscious person who can easily recognize their strengths and weaknesses.

(1) Hausa Tribe,Hausa, people found chiefly in northwestern Nigeria and adjacent southern Niger

(2)Officials, rook, bishop, queen, knight,

This my first article on this platform and I am looking forward to writing more and earning in Crypto. Cheers.

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Cineholic
Avatar for Enuv8-Media
2 years ago

Comments

Setting little goals before the bigger one, determination and motivation are the things we need.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. This is very important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago