You Are How Your Parents Raise You.

0 36
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

You are how your parents raise you. Do you agree?

 I was born in a strict and a bit conservative family. So, as a daughter, I’ve experienced first-hand how a little or one mistake can bring whip scars to my skin. This is how my parents disciplined us. But I understand that they’re just afraid of what kind of people we might become one day.

Parents have different ways in expressing their love to their children. Some spoil their children through money and temporary things and some do it in a hard way. But they should put in mind that their every action affects their children and it is one of the factors on how their child will treat their future children.

Yes, my parents’ way of disciplining us is through beating but not in an abusive way. Though they were stricter when it comes to me. No wearing of shorts or anything that reveals too much skin. No going out after 6pm. No going home late. No bonding with male friends and so on. So many rules and it really suffocates me sometimes. Especially if they saw that I wasn’t acting proper and modest I would get a scolding. And a single mistake is equal to punishment.

As a child, it’s just natural to follow if you are scared. But as I grew up, I suddenly understood why they did those things before. And the more I grow up, the less the punishments are. My Mom told me that it is not just to discipline me, but also if time would come and I would be on their shoe, I would know how to raise a great woman, a gentleman, and a good person.

But we have a neighbour who also had his own way in disciplining his child. A little mistake and he would lose control. He’s an abusive father to his only son and he beats his wife often too, especially when they made some mistakes or when he’s drunk. He doesn't mind if people are watching or if people see what he was doing to his son or wife because he believes that he owns them and he has every right to do what he pleases to them.

I’ve heard that he was also like a punching bag to his father when he was a little, so I concluded that since it was the environment that he grew up with, then maybe he thinks that there’s nothing wrong with that. Therefore, the child’s characteristics and attitude is based on the environment he encountered when he was growing up. And how our parents raise us is what we truly are.


1
$ 0.65
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments