What I missed about flag ceremonies?

0 27
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
2 years ago

When I was on my way back home yesterday, I passed through a group of kids playing. I’m not quite sure what exactly they are playing but they are singing the Philippine national anthem ‘Lupang Hinirang’. They sang it repeatedly and out of tune and they even mispronounced some of the lyrics. But it’s understandable since I think they are just around 5-7 years old, besides, they remind me of the past.

I can still remember the very first time that I sang the Lupang Hinirang and it is also my very first time to join a flag ceremony. It was the first day of school on my first day in kindergarten. Now thinking about it, it’s all my first and just like they say that you’re every first is memorable. It was indeed memorable. I never thought that a flag ceremony could be that fun. Though I didn’t really understand what the people around me were singing at that time, but I was sure enjoying that moment.  

When I was in elementary I was given a chance to be one of the leads of the flag ceremony. In our school, every 6:30 to 7:30am is the flag ceremony and there is an assigned class who will lead. I was never late in any flag ceremonies in my entire elementary life, not just because I am afraid to be late but it is also because I enjoy attending flag ceremonies.

Our flag ceremonies before don't only end with just singing the national anthem.

Prayer

Of course, we would start first with a prayer. Ever since I was in kindergarten, the prayer song that we always sing is The Power of Your Love. So even without seeing the lyrics, I have memorized it by hearing and singing it again and again in every flag ceremony. Though some words aren’t exactly what’s on the lyrics but can you blame a child for it anyway?

It is such a wonderful worship song that always gives me goosebumps, even until now especially when I remember some moments in my life where I was happy, sad, angry, broken, or even when those time that I questioned God’s plan.

This song gives me so much emotion, not just because it holds so many memories in my life but because the song alone gives you unnamed emotions from the past, to the present, and even for the future. That’s how powerful this song is for me.

National Anthem

Then after the prayer we will proceed to singing the Philippine national anthem ‘Lupang Hinirang’. Before, I was always wondering why there is a person or a teacher perhaps that would always stand before the flagpole and do some hand gestures, later did I know that it’s all for the beat. And even when there’s a specific class that is assigned to lead the flag ceremony, the teachers are still the one who will lead the national anthem.

Furthermore, I also remember calling the national anthem as Bayang Magiliw since I thought it is the title of the song because it starts with those words. However, I was able to correct myself later on but now when I hear some kids calling the national anthem as Bayang Magiliw with pride and confidence, I just can’t help but to laugh in my mind because I was also like that before.

Cagayan de Oro March

Next would be the singing of Cagayan de Oro March. It is a song for our beloved city, Cagayan de Oro or mostly known as the city of golden friendship. By singing it, we show our pride and love for our city. People say that Mindanao is the most dangerous place in the Philippines, however, Mindanao is huge. And Cagayan de Oro City belongs to Mindanao but it was reported to be one of the warmest (not literally) and safest places in Mindanao.

Aside from that, there’s really a special legend in Cagayan de Oro that is also hiding in the song itself. By signing this, we show our devotion and how proud we are to be Kagay-anon.

Panunumpa sa Watawat (Pledge of Allegiance to the Philippine Flag)

I remember having a bet with one of my classmates in Grade 2. It is to memorize the Panunumpa sa Watawat. Since I was born a challenger, I agreed. It is also because we really don’t know the Panunumpa sa Watawat and kids my age would just stay silent or mumble something no one could understand trying to copy kids in the higher level who memorized the pledge.

Ako ay Pilipino

Buong katapatang nanunumpa

Sa watawat ng Pilipinas

At sa bansang kanyang sinasagisag

Na may dangal, katarungan at kalayaan

Na pinakikilos ng sambayanang

Maka-Diyos

Maka-tao

Makakalikasan at

Makabansa.

 

(English Translation)

I am a Filipino

I pledge allegiance

To the flag of the Philippines

And to the country it represents

With honor, justice and freedom

That is put in motion by a nation that is

For God, humanity,

Nature and

Country.

 

I really thought that it’s a very long pledge since it seems so long when they’re reciting it before.

 

Rehiyon Dyes

And then the next one would be the singing of the Rehiyon Dyes March or the Region 10 March. But we don’t just simply sing it, we also dance it. Yes, we dance it. Now I’m missing those moments more.

Every students are required to sing and dance it. Though we didn’t really practice for its proper stepping but after dancing and singing it all over again, your body will unconsciously memorize it.

Tagabukid

After the Rehiyon Dyes, it will be followed by Tagabukid March. Well, I don’t really know the title of the song because I can’t find it anywhere in the net, but I remember that the word Tagabukid is repeated many times so I conclude that it is the title of the song, which refers to people living in mountains and farms or mostly like the farmers.

I didn’t have the time to understand the song since it was in deep Bisaya or Cebuano language, and I couldn’t search it on the net. I just wish to hear it one more time. However, I still remember having fun dancing and singing it even if I didn’t really get the lyrics at all. My classmates and I would have fun dancing it, especially when we are assigned to lead the flag ceremony.

We would dance it in front of thousands of students at all grade levels and they would dance with us as well. I remember feeling so proud and satisfied after that since I feel like I lead many people.

 

When I reached high school, the flag ceremonies were different from the ones in elementary, especially now when I reached college. This is only the moment when I realized that only in elementary would flag ceremonies be fun. I haven’t cherished those moments so much because maybe for me and as a kid, it was so tiring standing with your heavy bags and books for almost an hour and sometimes it would take an hour or so if there is some speech from the principal.

I don’t know if the flag ceremony also changes through time, or is it the people who changed and matured? But one thing is for sure, if I would be given a chance to go back in time, I would choose to go back to elementary where every flag ceremony is fun and colorful.  


1
$ 8.94
$ 8.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
2 years ago

Comments