The Price of being a Mother

0 6
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago
Topics: Parenting, Facts

Allow me to share this in honour to my mother and to all mothers out there. This is only my little way of showing my gratitude to all of their hard work and sacrifices.

She carried me for nine months. She took care of me and gave in to my cravings. In the first few months I gave her sickness, and then the next month’s we’re aches and back pains. I wanted to go out and bring her unbearable pain, she oblige and embrace me in her arms.

I was hungry all the time and she woke up everytime she heard me cry. I wanted attention and she gave me everything she could offer. I wanted a warm embrace and she cuddled with me until I fell asleep.

Months passed and I developed more tantrums. My first talk is like an achievement for her. She cried when I first learned to walk, and filed with thoughts ‘Ah! My baby won’t be a baby anymore someday’. She accompanied me to my first day in school and didn’t even want to let go of my hand. It was just a day-care yet she acts like it was my wedding.

I develop weight and height. She couldn’t carry me in her arms anymore and I started to get shy everytime she treated me like a baby in front of everyone. I have developed many friends and I don’t want to play with her anymore. I spent most of my time with friends than her, she’s just in afar, watching me with a smile on her face.

I started to think on my own and don’t want to be dictated anymore. We argue and I sometimes talk back. She wanted me disciplined and I wanted freedom. Her virtues were different from mine. She would be mad but couldn’t afford to get mad for a long time. If I get mad I ignore her, and it would even last for days if I still couldn’t get what I want. She would finally give in and let me do things on my own.

Now that I have become an adult but still a little girl in her eyes. She wanted to treat me like a baby but I only allowed her everytime I get sick. She heard about my plans and prepared herself for the decisions that I will make. And every night, although with a proud and happy smile, her memories would wander in the past. It was like just yesterday when she gave birth to me, yet here I am, about to leave her for my dreams. And like what she always does to our pet birds before, she will release my leash and let me fly as far as I want because she knows that it is the only way I can grow.

Even if she wants to stay besides me, she will let me fly alone. Even if she would be filled with worries, all she can do is just pray for me. And everytime, longingness would attack her but all she could do is reminiscence. ‘I miss my baby’ that would be her last thought before driving off to sleep.

Being a mother is the most admirable thing in this world. Because being a mother is like preparing themselves for a numerous pain that they could ever get, but still would try to embrace every bit of it. I know that not all mothers are perfect, there is no perfect parent afterall.

They made mistakes and they will still continue to make mistakes. But one thing is for sure, no one can beat a mother’s love. They made mistakes and we do as well but their love would just grow stronger and stronger. So for everyone who still has a mother there, let us give them a tight hug and whisper ‘Thank you’ or ‘I love you’. Either it is your biological mom, foster mom, or mom by heart. No need to say anything. Just a simple thank you and I love you can surely warm their heart and bring them to tears. 


1
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago
Topics: Parenting, Facts

Comments