Sleep Paralysis

2 22
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Sleeping late is the new normal. Though, even before the spread of pandemic, sleep deprivation is one of the top problems of the world. Mostly teenagers are engaged in this, especially now that we’re in this situation in which we spend most of the day in the four corners of our house. The spread of this pandemic really changes everything, including our sleep—or rather I say, worsen?

Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty

Sleep is a necessity. It is as important as our basic needs such as food and water. It is as important as our daily routine. We need sleep to survive. Everyone needs sleep because it affects almost every part of our system from brain, lungs, heart, to our metabolism, immune system, and emotions. In fact, our brain is still active even if we are asleep because sleep helps remove toxins that build up in our brain when we’re awake. Studies also show that lack of sleep or getting poor quality of sleep, increases the risk of disorders including high blood pressure, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, obesity, and depression.

And I just realized how important sleep is today. Earlier this day was my grandmother’s schedule for check-up. So I was the one who accompanied her to the hospital today. While the doctor was checking on her, I went to the pharmacy to buy some of her medicine and to also pay the bill. Since there’s still people on the counter, so I waited.

Then a stretcher came rushing in with some nurses who looked troubled and in a hurry. I got curious, there’s this saying that ‘Curiosity kills the cat’, and I would just answer that ‘Cat has nine lives’, so yeah I let my curiosity win.

I buy medicine and pay the bill first before following the stretcher. And it just led me to the ICU. I concluded questions in my head again. What happened to the patient? Is he/she going to die? Was an accident happened?

Some of the family members were outside the room. A woman who looked like she was in her 40’s was crying miserably while another woman who looked younger was comforting her. An older and bald man was just standing away from them and busy on his phone so I chose to approach him.

I ask him about the case of the patient in my most kindest and concerned tone. I don’t want to offend them by sounding like a nosy and curious girl so I really tried to empathize with them.

He said that it was his youngest daughter and she’s not waking up. I asked again for the reason in my most sincere voice as possible. I avoid asking if she’s dead because I might offend him. He said that the doctor told them that it is about sleep paralysis and the most possible reason was sleep deprivation or not having enough sleep.

He said that his daughter was taking online classes but she became engrossed in multimedia recently and couldn’t even get a proper sleep or if she was still sleeping? They didn’t know at all.

From that moment, I felt cold blood running through my face. Oh my God! I was so like that!

I began to be concerned for the girl. Will she be okay? What will happen to her? Will she die? Will I be also like her?

The man asked me if I was still a student and I just nodded. Then he advised me to not dwell on technologies so much. We were supposed to control technology, but instead, the technology controlled his daughter.

I can’t get it out of my mind so I tell my grandma about it on our way home. And I instantly search about the effects of sleep paralysis or not having enough sleep when we arrive.

So, the major cause of sleep paralysis is sleep deprivation. It is when we don’t get enough sleep. So sleep paralysis is a feeling of being conscious but unable to move or speak. It really looks like you’re just sleeping but the difference is you can’t wake up even if someone is tugging you. Some people who experience sleep paralysis also feel pressure or a sense of choking. How horrifying it is!

That’s why sleep is really a primary biological need. No animal, especially human, can live without it.

I know that most people are getting less sleep than they need due to some reasons, especially these days. I am guilty for that. It was 12 midnight here in the Philippines yet I am still wide awake. I just wanted to share this since it is really bugging me and for a reason to inform anyone who doesn’t know.

Study also shows that sleep deprivation may cause Alzheimer’s, impairs brain function such as memory which probably the reason why I became forgetful these days, makes us moody, and can also affect our decision making. There are so many bad impacts of having a lack of sleep.

Many people say that they can catch up on sleep during weekends. I am also guilty for that one. But then, everyone, sleeping longer on weekends may not be adequate and enough for our brain and body to recover.

I remember my professor in my entrepreneurial subject last year. He said that if we are deprived of sleep for a day, then we need to catch up a proper sleep for a week or two.

We all had that sleepless night and probably all of us also think that it is harmless, but then when is the time to believe that it actually is? When something bad already happens?


4
$ 4.62
$ 4.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments

I faced lot of time this sleep paralysis. worst feelings ever

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, they say it's really horrifying. You should par more attention to your health. Health is wealth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago