Rich Man’s Poor Pocket

0 14
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Every holiday, it was my routine to pack some food and give it to the old lady in the plaza. She’s poor, old and alone, but she’s not a beggar. I don’t know why but she’s only staying in a particular spot in the plaza. I don’t know if she had home or families with her, I don’t have the guts to ask since I think I might offend her.

So it was Christmas eve when I first saw her in the plaza. The mass had just ended when we passed by at her. I have this attitude to stare at people I am curious with—which my mother said was bad manners to stare at people for too long. But I was really curious so I keep staring at her even when we’re walking away.

She looked so lonely sitting on that bench as people passed by at her. I even saw some teenagers mock her. I asked myself if she had a family. Or relatives perhaps? Does she have home to sleep? It’s Christmas, does she have something to eat? But it doesn’t seem like she’s staying in the plaza because she doesn't have a home to sleep with, rather it looks like she’s staying there because she’s waiting for something or someone maybe.

I look away and stare at my mother instead. When my mother gets old, I will take care of her and never leave her side. I promised that to myself.

When we reached home, we ate the foods on our table and waited for the countdown. It’s not so much but it is enough to fill our stomach. Then my thoughts fly again to the old lady we saw earlier. The night breeze is cold and it looks like her dress is thin. I wonder if she ever got something to eat, or if some passer-by saw her and maybe offered her even a cup of coffee.

I was really bothered about it so I packed some food and fruits. I even put on some melted Tablea to warm her stomach. My mother asked me about what it is for, and I just told her I’ll be giving it to the old lady in the plaza. She just nodded and helped me pack it.

I took bigger steps to reach the plaza immediately. It is not so far in our house but not that close either. I scanned the whole plaza but didn’t see a shadow of her. I waited for a while thinking that she just went somewhere and came back again to the place where she was seated but nothing showed up. Fireworks started so I just went home.

I never saw her again after that time. New years’ passed and classes started again. My friends decided to have some snacks at the plaza, and right there I saw her again. She’s still sitting at the same place and still wearing the same dress like the first time I saw her.

We’re buying Balut and Penoy that time but decided to give mine to her, besides I’m not that hungry anyway. My two friends saw what I did and bought her a drink. She didn’t say her thanks but she smiled warmly at us. Something’s really tugged my heart with that. Her eyes looked like she’s about to cry but she was thankful for that small act of ours.

For the next Christmas, I was sure I’d be seeing her again so I packed food earlier so I could give it to her before the mass. But then I never saw her and the mass was starting. I really prayed that she’d be there so I can give it to her. Fortunately, she was really there. As I was approaching, I saw a man giving her food from the famous fast food chain and hugging her saying ‘Merry Christmas Po’.

I smiled thinking that humanity wasn’t dead after all.

When the man leaves, I immediately give her the food that I packed and also greet her with ‘Merry Christmas’. She’s not always at plaza no one knows where she’s staying too. But every time I saw her and if I had the means, I would really give her something to eat or to drink at least.

And then recently, I thought about her. If she's staying during this pandemic or if she’s okay? I always find a way to go to the plaza and look for her but she’s nowhere to be found.

But yesterday, I saw her. It was my cousin’s birthday yesterday so there’s a little party in the house. The party was ending and we’re craving ice cream. My cousin and I were strolling the plaza to buy some ice cream in the nearby store and there where I saw her. I told my cousin to pack some food for the old woman when we get back home and she immediately agreed. So we did really pack some food when we reached home to give to the woman.

We’re almost running just to reach the plaza since it was near curfew. We don’t want to spend the night at detention so yeah. But then, she’s already gone when we arrive. We searched for her but she’s really nowhere, instead an old man with dirty clothes is there near her spot.

So for the food to not go on waste, we decided to give it to him instead. The man smiled in a creepy way and my cousin immediately took a step backwards, almost running. I glared at her and just gave the food to the man.

He laughed and accepted the food. “You’re so rich, young miss” he said. I instantly shake my head to disagree.

“We just happen to have a small celebration for my cousin’s birthday. I don’t have money to give so that’s all I could offer”

He shrugged, still laughing. I could tell that he didn’t have a shower for a long time.

“You’re rich in here” he said pointing a finger to his chest, in the heart. “Thank you. I am actually waiting for the old lady here so we could share this, some rich man also gave this to me earlier” he said pointing at the other paper bag which had food for sure. I smiled and greeted him a merry Christmas before saying my goodbyes.

Few steps away from him, I looked back at the old man. Street dogs flocked at him. I saw him give each of the dogs food and pat their head. He would laugh every time another dog would come. Then I recalled what he said. That I am rich. But it was actually him who is rich.

He also waits for the old woman so they can have the meal together and he gives the street dogs food when in fact it was not enough for him and for the old woman. When some rich people can have and eat anything they want but couldn’t even share something to those in need, here he is. A poor man, who doesn't have anything, not even his own meal, but still willing to share the tiny amount of food he got to another needy like him and to those hungry dogs. He maybe poor in money matters and in other material things but his heart and soul is rich with kindness. He’s indeed a rich man with a poor pocket.


1
$ 2.92
$ 2.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments