Nurse for a Summer

2 11
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Ever since high school, I have this knack for responsibility in me. I have an older brother but between the two of us, it is me who acts more like an older sibling. And ever since kindergarten, my parents already had their expectations in me.

At an early age, I understand that we are not one of those families who affords to dine in a fine restaurant almost everyday or even thrice a week. So, also at an early age, I already set my mind to do everything that can lessen my parent’s expenses in me—in my studies or whatnots.

There’s this program in our municipality in which students’ who applied for this will be working during summer, good for 20 days. The government will pay us or the school for our expenses in the next opening of classes. And since I was attending a public high school so I will be able to get my money, unlike those who're in private schools.

Our work was not that hard anyway. It is either we help in cleaning our community or plant vegetables and all. It depends on the program that the government wants us to do. But there’s one summer that is a bit different from the usual because I was assigned to the neighbour barangay and my job was neither to clean nor plant vegetables. I was assigned to a health center.

I don’t have an idea what to do really. I was enrolled in education and not some medicine courses or something related to treating people. Luckily they assigned someone to educate us about the things we must do before we start working. Our job was more on inputting the confidential information and patients data on the system. So we are likely to face the computer most of the day.

During my first day, patients come and go as I do my work. They even use honorifics in me like I was some professional doctor or what, and some even call me nurse. It was uncomfortable at first since I’m not used to it. They would always greet me good morning when they arrived for a check-up and said their thank you’s and goodbyes before leaving.

There’s this time when Nurse Emma arrives later than her usual in-time. She’s the only nurse who will assist the doctor that time since the head nurse and his assistance nurse went on a seminar that day. Dr. Cabunoc, who’s already in his 50’s, arrived as well as the patients who are patiently waiting outside the clinic. Surprisingly, the patients flocked that day unlike the other days.

Dr. Cabunoc told me that Nurse Emma still has something important to do so she will be really late. He asked me if I could help him assist the patient. I agreed immediately even if I don’t know exactly what to do. I recalled the way Nurse Emma assisted the patients. I’ve watched her do that for the past few days and gladly she taught me how to take the patient’s blood pressure during our break the other day. It was only for fun since I was curious but at that very moment I am so glad.

We usually accept patients at exactly 8 am. Luckily, some barangay health workers are there to assist. Patients go to them first to be verified and fill up a form before coming to us so it is not that hard to do the rest. And the first ever patient that I assisted has a deep wound cut on his left foot. I pretended to be calm and professional even if I was panicking inside.

The wound was about four inch long and very deep. It was still bleeding and obviously the patient was in a deep pain. I proceed with some questioning as to what Nurse Emma was doing before checking his wound. I almost vomited at the sight of it! I don’t know how Nurse Emma handles situations like this or even a worse case than this.

“Nurse, am I still able to walk?” the patient asked and I really don’t know what to answer because in my point of view his injury was severe.

I was really lost in words that all I can say is “God is good all the time.”

And I don’t know if it soothes him or stresses him out or what. I find it funny now that I recalled it. 

He can barely walk so I accompanied him to the next room, where the check-up will be done. Then I started assisting another patient. I realized that even by just watching Nurse Emma, I’ve learned a lot. There are times when I need to check the patient’s blood pressure and when I see how high it is, I sometimes advise them on what to do or foods to avoid. They will thank me for that and I always feel so proud of myself. I don’t even know a single thing about medicine yet here am I acting like a professional nurse.

There’s even this time when a kid patient hugged me because he said he was very thankful to me. He has some colds and he needs to take a shot. Dr. Cabunoc still had a patient that time so he asked me to give the kid a shot. I was so scared, so was the kid. We are both afraid of injection. So to finish it at once, I tried to trick him to divert his attention. Good thing it worked. And luckily I got some candies in my pocket so I gave it to him. His mother thanked me and she urged her son to thank me as well. The boy hugged me saying “Thank you, Ate Nurse”.

It really warms my heart. I have been filled with thoughts since that day. Do doctors and nurses also feel that warm? Is that the reason why many choose this career? That feeling was addicting. The happiness you feel when you are able to help someone and make them happy is intoxicating.

Ever since, I always believe that those people who love science don’t believe in God. Just like scientists and doctors. They believe that everything has an answer and God’s existence was a question mark to them. I don’t even know why God let me experience that kind of work when it is far related from my course. I can’t even use that experience in the future. You can’t just treat people without a degree in medicine and you can’t also apply in some medicine related job if you don’t have a background in studying medicine. So I really don’t understand why. Sure after that time I always wanted to help people in any way possible, either guidance or health related.

Right after that day, my job is more than just sitting in front of my computer all day. I was also able to go on a medical mission, it’s not part of my job since weekends were my rest days but I choose to come and help. I was dead tired at the end of the day but I was very satisfied.

And right then, I realized that a doctor, nurse, or even a barangay health officer’s job is very important since patients entrust their health and life to them. And I was very honoured that even if I’m not really a nurse nor a doctor or a barangay health worker, I was given a chance to be trusted by those people who seek help. Though I’m not sure if the same thing would happen if they knew that I was just a mere summer jobber.

Being trusted and called ‘Nurse’ was something that grew in me, that when the 20 days ended I was very sad. I am so blessed I experience that even with just a short period of time. I’ve learned a lot and maybe even without a degree or background in medicine, I think I can still help people in my own possible way. I am still looking forward to being a nurse again even if it’s just for summer, especially now with this pandemic.


2
$ 1.33
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments

It's nice that you create work habits, that you help your family that way. The job of a medical worker is very humane.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I agree, and I just realized it since I've been in their shoe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago