Into the Woods (An important lesson to everyone)

0 8
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

I was only 6 when I met her. My father and I were in the entrance of the dark forest to find the miracle plant, which has the capability to heal any kind of illness. I remembered my father said.

“Son, stay close to me”

“Don’t believe in what you’re eyes see”

“Don’t talk to anyone”

“Don’t enter the woods”

As a kid afraid of his father, I listen to him and just help in finding that miracle plant. Suddenly, my attention diverted when I saw a beautiful flying object. It has captivating blue wings and long antennae. Yes, a butterfly. I instantly remember my mom. Will she be happy if I bring her butterfly? Absolutely.

I look for my father who’s meters away from me. He’s too occupied in finding the plant to notice me. I look back to the inner forest where I last saw the butterfly. I will be quick. I started making my way to the dark woods so I could get back early without my father noticing that I was suddenly gone.

It was a lie. All of the gossip about this forest is definitely a lie. They say it was a scary cursed forest, but what I was seeing now is far from what they are talking about. Huge trees with big and long leaves, sea of grasses, different flowering plants, fruit plants, and not so wild animals. Is this a new definition of cursed and scary now? I continue walking, still mesmerized by nature's beauty without realizing that I already reach the lake. ‘The bloody lake’ they said.

I started to feel the water in my bare foot. The cold clear water didn’t hide the fish and swam freely, some are even coming near to me like they know that I will not hunt them for food. This place is beautiful—no but a paradise instead. A hiding paradise and just waiting to be discovered. But I’m still confused about the stories they made about this forest. It’s truly far from reality, so unreal. And I realize that maybe, it’s just their way to protect this forest. Because there are people who're willing to destroy everything for their own satisfaction.

I saw again the reason why I’m in here. It was going to the bushes across this lake, so I instantly followed it before it escaped again. I slowly walk to the bushes and was about to catch the butterfly when I hear a soft laugh and giggled. I curiously peek over the bushes and looked for what or where that laugh and giggled came from. I stiff on what I see.

In front of me is a girl, maybe a year younger than me. Dressed in black and white and has a flower crown on her head. She was sitting on a log with a rabbit on her lap, the other rabbits, deer, chimpanzee, baby panda, birds and butterflies surrounded her. It’s like they are ready to attack and eat the poor girl’s little body, without a second thought I jump in and shout and roar to shoo the animals away, guess what?

It’s effective. They leave the girl away as fast as they can, some of them even shout in horror. I smiled victoriously to myself and looked at the girl who’s already at the verge of crying now. Maybe she’s really that scared, poor girl. I came near to her and tapped her shoulder.

“Don’t cry, no one’s gonna hurt you now...” I spoke in my most calm voice, but instead to settle she started to cry aloud.

I don’t know what to do, so I did what my mom always does when I won’t stop crying. I hug her. I whisper her words that I think can calm her down and keep on repeating it. Later on, she already stopped crying and spoke.

“They are my friends and you scared them” her cute voice filled my ears. I can’t believe someone could be this adorable. I stare at her, she has pale white skin, her curly brunette hair reaches her buttocks, and she has a round dark and mysterious eyes. She has an alluring beauty and I was really fascinated. She snapped her fingers in my face and I got back to the senses, she told me that those animals will not gonna hurt her because they are her friends and she proved it to me when she called them again, and yes they are really harmless.

I apologize for my stupid stunt earlier and glad she accepted it. We talked and played, and were enjoying each other’s company when we heard a shout. Then, everything sinks in to me when I remember my father. Surely he knows that I’m gone for too long. I started to panic and faced the girl to say goodbye when a plant appeared in my view. It has small five petal lavender flowers, I look at her confused.

“What is this for?” I asked, but instead of answering my question she just smiled and waved goodbye to me. When I reached the entrance of the forest, my father’s mad face welcomed me. He looked at me and to the plant I was holding. The plant that…that girl gives. I forgot to ask her name! My father uttered something and started to walk away. I sigh and take a last glance to the paradise hiding in the dark woods. I think this will be my first and last time to see this place. I sadly breathe a goodbye to the girl in the woods.

When we got back to the tribe, I found out that our tribesmen were waiting for our comeback. My father announced that he already found the miracle plant, the tribesmen sing for joy and thank us while they’re accompanying us back to our house. My father ordered me to hand him the plant I was holding, I absentmindedly gave it to him then he made his way out to have a meeting with the tribesmen.

When dinner came, my father, mother and I had a talk. I found out that the plant given to me by the girl is the miracle plant. My parents warned me not to make the same mistake again. Entering the woods. I apologized and promised to not to, that night I sleep in full of confusion and unanswered questions in mind. I love my parents and also as a son of the tribe master, I should be the one who takes commands first. Days, months, years passed. I still keep my promise.

One night my father was attacked by a serious illness. Apo Habagat, the healer in our tribe, can’t identify what kind of illness it is and how to cure it. I look at my father with pity, he can’t breathe well and he keeps on vomiting. There’s no other choice, I said to myself. I asked for my mother’s permission to let me go to the dark forest to get a miracle plant, she didn’t agree at first but I kept on insisting until she gave up.

As I made my way to the dark forest, I can’t help but to remember the last time I’ve been there. Even if it’s already two decades ago, I still clearly remember that beautiful place, that beautiful face. How is she? Does she still remember me? Can we meet again? Can she even recognize me when we met?

The pale light of my lamp spreads as I enter the dark woods. I continued walking and searching for the plant, until familiar sounds of flowing water filled my ears. I immediately followed it until it brought me to the same old lake. My heart filled with joy as the memories kept rushing back to my mind, but I was taken aback when I heard the splashing of the water.

I bend to look closer to the water to find out what it is. I almost shout in horror when something goes out from the water, I even throw my lamp and break it. Now, there’s only me, the creature in the water, and the pale moonlight. When I am already adjusted in the dark, I look directly at the creature. It was standing in the middle of the lake, but facing in my direction. It slowly walked to me and I started to panic, but it stopped a meter away from me.

I stare at it, it is like a woman’s body even though I can’t see it clearly but I’m pretty sure it’s a woman. My eyes widen when I realize something. I rapidly get the matchsticks and another lamp in the bag. When the light of my lamp spreads, I immediately look back to the woman. Dressed in black and white, brunette curly hair that reaches her buttocks, pale while skin, petite body, and round dark mysterious eyes. Pulchritudinous! Our eyes met, but no one was still starting a conversation. I’m scared that maybe she didn’t recognize me.

“I haven't seen you in so long” she smiled and said. All of my worries are gone when I hear her soft voice. I stood properly. The atmosphere became normal and comfortable. We talked and greeted each other, we talked and joked around. She’s still the unwary and naïve girl I met almost 20 years ago.

“We talked a lot but we don’t know each other’s name. I’m Aries, son of the late tribe master Arieseo and his wife Pandora, I lived in the nearby village.” I formally introduced myself to her.

“Diana, daughter of Arzula and Brucie… and I lived here” I didn’t think that someone is living in this forest. We talked and talked and talked, I even told her what makes me come back to this forest. She held my wrist and brought me to the place where only in my dreams exist. It was a garden, with different kinds of flowering plants and in the center is the big tree of miracle plants. The fireflies lit up the whole place. It was so beautiful and magical.  I asked Diana how she found this place.

“I am this place and this place is me, we are one” she proudly said and smiled at me. I don’t get what she said and just shrug it off. She told me to pick as many miracle plants as I want. As we were about to go back to the lake, someone blocked our way. She’s dressed all in black, she’s beautiful and looks a lot like Diana. I confirmed that it’s Diana’s mother, Arzula, when she recognized her. Arzula warned me to stay away from her daughter because she believes that I will bring no good to her. When I return home, Apo Habagat immediately heals my father using the miracle plant I bought. I slept worry-free that night, my father is already safe, and I met again my childhood friend.

When morning came before the rooster crows, I made my way to the dark forest bringing a basket of fruits. It was my thank you offering for Diana, and before I went home she gave me a miracle plant again. When I got home, one of our tribesmen saw me holding a miracle plant and beg me to give it to him to heal his son, so I gave it but he gave me gold instead of saying thank you, I was about to return it but he was already gone.

Weeks pass, the cycle repeats itself. I always get a miracle plant when I get home and again there is someone who’s willing to pay to get it. I started to like the attention and fortune I was getting every time I brought the plant. I bought more land and food for my family. I can get anything I wanted in just a snap of my finger, that’s how fortunate I am.

One day, I was in the dark woods again to get another miracle plant for my mother. I’m waiting for Diana in the lake because it’s our meeting place, but she didn’t come. Minutes later, I feel someone’s presence in my back. I instantly smiled and turned to face her, but my smile vanished when some unexpected person appeared. I roamed my eyes around to find her but she’s nowhere. I look back to Arzula’s serious face. She’s mad I know. She’s very mad and I can see it. It’s like she’s ready to kill me but something’s stopping her.

“Leave her alone, stop killing her” she coldly said as she stormed her way out. I was just left there stoned with a deep thought, until a soft voice gets my attention. I slowly faced her.

I held my breath when I saw her beauty again. I didn’t see her for 3 days, because I can’t find her. I’m glad she’s already here. I stare at her, she looks thinner than before, her pale skin becomes paler and there’s visible bruises on her skin, still round eyes but the shine is gone and is replaced with tiredness. The only thing that didn’t change is her alluring smile. I really miss her.

“Is someone again…is ill?” she asked unwarily. And what she said gives me realizations. 

How could I!? What have I done!?

I embraced her to a tight hug and cried to her shoulder. I keep on whispering I’m sorry to her. She broke the hug and took my hand, she placed something on my palm. I cried even harder when I saw what it was.

“Go now. Your mother really needs it now, stop crying” she laughed. I hug her again and shake my head. I don’t want to leave her now, she broke the hug again and held my face.

“Save her please. I’ll be here and wait for your comeback” she sincerely said. I hugged her again for the last time, this time more tighter and with love.

I turned my back and ran as fast as I could. I’ll be back my love, I’ll make it up to you.

As I heard the news that my mom is already safe I immediately ran back to the woods. My heart is filled with worries when I can’t see her in the lake, so I run again to the garden.  My worries rose up when I saw the garden. It’s very far from the first time I saw it, it’s very lifeless. When my eyes landed on the center of this garden, my heart instantly died. There she is my beloved Diana, lying on the big roots of the dead tree. Some roots coiled her small body.

I’m already late. Really late.


1
$ 3.47
$ 3.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments