How important is water?

12 42
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
2 years ago

How important is water?

Water is simply a necessity. All living things cannot survive without consuming water, but many individuals--specifically humans, don't really see the importance of water especially if they are blessed with it. The maxim, 'You'll only know the importance of things when it is already gone' is true and accurate.

Yesterday, there's a sudden water interruption that lasted for 8hours or so. I don't if it's just in our neighborhood or in the whole barangay, but the point is we didn't know that there will be a water interruption. Normally, if news comes either it is true or fraud, my mother would immediately fill all of the water jugs. For both drinking and bathing purposes. However, there was no news or warnings about it yesterday so she couldn't prepare. The only thing we had was 2 water jugs of drinking water since we didn't know when the water would be back. And it is the first time that I experienced being short with water for almost a day. 

I grew up being provided with all the necessities--food, shelter, clothes, and water. Especially with water. Everyday, I used more than two (2) drums of water. From waking up and washing my face, taking a bath, washing the plates, and taking a half-bath at night. Not to mention that I usually wash my hands most of the time when I am in the house. I really used water lavishly and I just realized it yesterday.

I grew up being provided with rich water, clean enough to drink and to use for a bath and it's any other usage. We have easy access to water since there's a nearby water plant in our neighborhood. My mother would always tell me whenever she noticed that I was being abusive in using water, that we are so lucky in our generation today. Because every drop of water is provided and we don't have to find or make a well, or get water from the pump since it is just in our reach. That we don't have to wash our clothes in the river since we have a machine that will wash it and enough water to supply it. She also added that we are so lucky to be born in this part of the world where water seems to be infinite, unlike in the other places of the world where even a drop of water is already a miracle.

And I feel bad since I just realized it. I live my whole life without worrying about water that much but yesterday's event made me realize that I am very lucky yet I didn't notice or didn’t actually pay attention to it. Usually in humans, if you possess a certain thing, you wouldn't mind or pay attention to it's value since you believe that they are yours anyway and that you can never lose them, but if a certain circumstance tests it only then you'll realize how valuable it is. That out of all the people who need it, you just took it for granted.

For everyone's information, there is only about 3% fresh water in the world because some is unavailable for use. Therefore, more than 1.1 billion people worldwide lack access to water. Water might look infinity to some but time will come that the earth will need it the most as much as living organisms do. The increase in the world's population, the water consumption patterns, the improving living standards, water pollution, and many more are the main driving forces for the rising global demand for water.

This may sound so surreal but the long water interruption yesterday is like a wake up call for me. Before, I couldn't really last a day without water or with just a little amount of it. It feels so uncomfortable taking a bath with just a drum of water. It feels so uncomfortable washing the plates using recycled water. It feels so uncomfortable conserving water when you have so much to spend. But then while I was lamenting about these things I also wondered if those water scarce places even have clean water to drink.

I remember this movie where people are water slaves. They would hurt and fight each other just for a little amount of water. Women and children died out of dehydration. It's a very hot place and there's been no rain for a very long time so mostly wells are dried. I forgot the title of the movie and it's other parts since it has been a long time since I watched it. 

I've also read some articles about terrorist attacks on some volunteers who wanted to give free and clean water in some water deprived places. People who are deprived too much of something become desperate. And sometimes, those desperation can cause them to be greedy. It's not their fault to be born in that place with water scarcity, and people like me aren't also at fault when we are born in a place with easy access to water. And it doesn't also mean that they are unlucky, while we are the lucky ones.

I couldn't also change anything. I feel remorse but it will not give them water. The only think that I could do for now is to conserve water as much as possible and pray for those people who are in the water scarce places. Someday, with all the means, I would find a way to help people with limited acces to water and free them in water slavery. 

Aside from consuming water to survive, water has many uses such as for washing clothes, cooking, washing cooking and eating utensils, keeping plants and trees alive, it is also essential for the healthy growth of farm crops and stocks, and so on. Water is one of the most important substances on earth, even more important than food. All living things must have water to survive because if there is no water then there would be no life on earth. Without water, life simply cannot be sustained.


8
$ 18.67
$ 18.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
2 years ago

Comments

You are right we are blessed to have clean water but we can't realize this huge blessing until we are deprived of it.Only those can tell its important who are living with lack of it.So yesterday you realized its importance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I did. And I feel bad that after all this time, after being deprive of water for just how many hours, some people are wishing to have access even just for hours. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right and some are even deprived of clean water.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I mean, I don't mind not having a love life as long as there will be water. I have experienced not having access to safe water for 3 days straight. Its very hard. And that made me realize how more is the kids in some part of Africa? We are just lucky the we still do have access to water.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

3 days? Wow, I couldn't imagine myself without water by then. It's really true, while we are being annoyed without having access to water for how many hours or days, there are some who are wishing for access to water even just for an hour or days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. We just need to be contend of what we have.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

maybe thinking that it is not fair to other people who does not have an easy access to water but let us try to think that one of us could do something for maybe a little with a lot of people could make an impact

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. I just hope I could do something about it when I have the means--even if I couldn't help everyone but at least some. We're all humans anyway and we're living on the same Earth. A little act of kindness won't hurt :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Water is the most important resources for me and I feel sad for those who doesn't have an easy access to clean water.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is, just like the oxygen we need to survive. I feel the same, especially now in these situation where Covid still exist and people need clean water the most.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a informative you have written.. Specially i like the way of you explanation .. I'm newbie in this platform.. It will help me to increase my explanation skill. Thank you so much..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, I appreciate it so much. I'm not really a pro at writing but whenever I write I always expresses my emotions and just go with whatever that comes in my mind. Try also that if it could help :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago