Funeral Test

0 659
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Have you ever heard or done a funeral test? Kinda creepy and weird right? But then let’s face it, everyone dies. This funeral test was made popular by Stephen Covey in his book, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People.

One of our instructors told us to do a funeral test for our activity. It is for us to know how we live our lives and for how we would like to be remembered. Since it was an activity so I made mine. I had never written or even read a eulogy before so I tried searching online templates for it but I never find anything suitable for my likings. That’s why I decided to write it this way.

JK’s Eulogy

First, I would like to thank everyone who is here today to give me a proper send-off. I believe you all know me, right? I was born in Cagayan de Oro City on the 16th of November, year 1999. If you would ask my brother about what kind of person I was, he would tell you I was the brattiest and laziest person in the world. That’s true though because that’s how I was in the house. If you would ask my friends and other people that knew me, they probably said different things. Maybe my friends and others would say that I was the sweetest and kindest person they ever met, right my friends? Because that’s how I was with them. That’s how they know me.

I even think that I have a multiple personality disorder since I act differently at the house, or the school, or even around with my friends. But no matter how you know me, that’s still me. I am both that bratty and sweet or that lazy and kind. I just wish I made good memories with you people.

Dear parents, brother, relatives, and friends. Do not cry for I will only be traveling to another place. It will be a journey that no vehicle can reach but I will make sure to have fun. Honestly, I am scared of death. But I realized that it is not the death that I was scared of, I was scared of the idea of being forgotten. But I know that I will always be remembered by the people who truly love me. I can say that I live a meaningful and fulfilled life. I thank my parents, friends, and other people that love me for that. I will bid my goodbyes for now but remember that I will always be in your memories and hearts, and I will guide you from wherever I am.

“Goodbyes are not forever…Are not the end. It simply means I’ll miss you until we meet again.”

This is how I wanted my eulogy to be. I don’t want it to sound so formal or monotonous, just the kind that it will be sound like I was just talking to them. I don’t want it to sound like a real goodbye but rather just little chitchat. Everyone has different preferences, even when it comes to their funeral. 

How do I want people to speak of me at my funeral?

I want people to speak informally at me during my funeral. Like they are not about to say goodbye to me but instead talk as if I was really there and laughing with them. I want them to talk about my happy escapades with them. I want them to laugh at the funny things that I did. I want them to treat it as final jamming rather than a goodbye.

 

What should they remember me for? 

They should remember me for what kind of a person I am when I was with them. Besides, I never act in pretense so all of those bad and good characteristics are part of me. I want them to remember it all. 

 

Which kind of person will people think I was when I’m gone?

When I’m gone I want people to think that I am the kind of person who can do both. That I can be both bratty and the sweetest person they ever met. I want to stay the way they knew me. That even if there are times that I was very annoying, they would surely miss it when I’m gone.

Doing this will help us add more purpose to our everyday activities and this will also show us about how we used to live our lives or about how people know us.

1
$ 3.90
$ 3.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments