Adios, mi Uno

0 29
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago
Topics: Animals, Memories

It was in the middle of the month of February year 2020. Tagoloan was celebrating the Candelaria Festival that time and our instructor assigned us to make a film about the festival. One sunny afternoon, after our last subject my friends and I decided to go to the plaza to start filming. Despite the burning sun, we decided to just walk and I’m glad we did. That is the first time I met him.

When we walked past a tree, we heard a screechy cry out of nowhere. And as we searched for it, a tiny black-furred organism came into our view from the bushes. It got cute round eyes, tiny black feet, and grey stripes around his body and round belly. Yes, it is a kitten. We found a kitten in the bushes.

We looked for its parent or the possible owner but we couldn’t see anyone. Maybe it was deserted. In this world, there’s only two reasons why kittens are found in nowhere, either it was lost by its mother or discarded by humans.

Whenever I meet animals on the street, especially if it was still little, I really can’t help but feel tight-hearted and pity for them. It will always remind me of how lucky I was to be born as a human, with family and a home. But then, animals being deserted, has nothing and will die that no one can ever notice or hear their cries.

It’s not on my plan to adopt the kitten. But I am more bugged for what could possibly happen to it if no one will feel pity and take it. It’s very tiny that I can carry it with just a palm. And it’s very tiny to identify its gender yet but my friends suggested that we name it after our favourite card game ‘Uno’.

I put it in the front pocket of my backpack as we headed to the plaza. Uno is being noisy maybe because he was hungry but I couldn’t offer anything. He stayed with me while I was filming and he keeps on following me wherever I go.

When I reached home, I was scared that my mother would scold me for bringing a kitten when we already had so many cats. So I told my mother that I saved the kitten when it was almost hit but it keeps on following me so I just took it in.

Honestly we have so many pets in the house that sometimes I think I was living on the farm. We have 5 cats and all of them are females while the two are pregnant; 6 dogs and the one female dog just gave birth to 4 cute puppies and that made them 10 all in all; we also have chickens and ducks and I don’t know how many are they ‘cause they keep on laying eggs; we also have a goat; a rabbit; and a turtle. My mother really likes animals but sometimes it is hard to feed them when there are too many of them. Nonetheless, we raised them all without throwing or abandoning any of them.

That is why I was thankful for my mother for taking care of Uno when I was busy at school. She even let Uno breastfeed with our dog who just gave birth. Uno is such a sweet cat. And he likes to follow everyone in the house, I am even afraid that he’d follow some passer-by and lose his way home. He is such a sweetie and I love him so much.

There are even times when I panic when I couldn’t find him anywhere. I’m on the verge of crying that time and my mother is telling me to just wish that he’s in good hands but I just couldn’t. He’s still very small and he likes to play and run so much. What if it was lost and died somewhere? Or was taken by some mad dog? Or was picked by some kid and just threw it away after playing? Poor Uno!

I was feeling depressed when it was already dark and I still couldn’t find him. So I locked myself in my room and tucked myself in bed because I wanted to cry but I was startled when I felt some strange thing under my blanket. And there he is! Sleeping soundly like he just didn’t make me worry at all. He was even sleeping in a funny position where his belly was stuck out like it wanted a rubbing. I really love how the spots in his belly look like a defined artwork. That time I shed a tear. But it is because I was happy and relieved.

As he grew up I noticed something in him. He only had 13 fingers and 11 nails. Yes, I’ve counted it. And he can’t move or wave his tail like other normal cats. And sometimes he can’t take his waste out. I don’t know why and it’s a pity that I don’t have the means to take him to the vet. Nevertheless, he’s perfectly fine to me. I still love him like my own child.

And last February, he just turned a year old but he looks the same as if he was a fifth month old. He didn’t actually grow up and his condition worsened. He couldn’t take his waste out so he sometimes didn't eat. We did everything to help him, my mother even bought some meds for him just to survive but maybe he’s already tired. Recently, I said goodbye to him.

It is not the first time that I was attached to our pets and it is not also the first time that a pet of ours died. But Uno is the first one who dies in my arms.

He’s suffered for more than a week. He couldn’t take any food since he wasn’t able to poop so I always make sure that he can take water at least. I even forced him to drink water sometimes just so he could survive. And after a week, he was lost for two days. I couldn’t find him anywhere. He’s not showing up even when I called out his name many times when before, just one call and he’ll come running to me.

And after two days he finally showed up but not in a good state. He woke me up. I don’t even know how he climbed up in bed when he can’t even stand properly. I carried him and brought him outside. My mother was even surprised when she saw Uno. I placed him in his favourite spot and stood up to wash my face but he tried to follow me and stumbled on the ground so I decided to wash my face later and stay with him.

At that moment, I couldn’t feel anything. It was like I already know that he’s dying right at that moment. Like I already know that this time will come. I am not sad nor in pain. It is just hollowness. I couldn’t leave him since he tries to follow me whenever I get up so I just sat there watching him. I didn’t try to hold him. My mother saw his situation and shed a sad tear. She mumbled something I couldn’t understand but I guess it was all about wishing him farewell.

I decided to pat his head and bid a farewell. It was only five pats when he took his final breath. As I look at him lifeless, I can’t help but think if he was only waiting for my goodbye?

I carried Uno’s body to the backyard and dug a hole for his grave. When I covered him with soil that is when my tears fell nonstop. I feel so heavy and I can’t stop my tears even how hard I wiped them off. It is not the first time that our pet died. However, it is the first time that someone dies in me like it was actually waiting for me, and it is also the first time that I buried our pet.

But Uno is more than a pet to me. I took the responsibility when I decided to take him. He makes me mad at times but he makes me laugh most of the time. He’s innocent and sweet. And he likes to disturb me when I’m too focused on my studies. He’s my adorable Uno. I hope he’s already in a nice place. I can still call his name unconsciously but maybe I would just give myself some time. I’m still adjusting. I’m still missing him. Adios, mi Uno.

 


2
$ 7.90
$ 7.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago
Topics: Animals, Memories

Comments