A Trip to Sagpulon Falls, Jasaan, Misamis Oriental

0 70
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

If you would to choose, what would you prefer? A planned trip or the unplanned one? What’s the difference anyway, right? They are still both a trip, and a trip supposed to be fun. But for me, there’s a very big difference between the two.

In the planned trip, you already expected the fun. You prepared and planned it for a long time, and when it was finally happening you already knew that this would happen, you already knew who are the people you are having fun with, or these are the things that you would do there, or this is the kind of fun that you would probably feel. It was still fun though. But if the trip was unplanned, the fun is kinda different. It is twice more exciting than the planned one.

Five years ago, I went on an unplanned trip. This is also one of the moments I treasured the most in my school year 2016-2017. As I have mentioned in my previous article, Dee and I were always together. Every minute of the day. Every break and lunches. Even going to the ladies room we’re still together, accompanying each other.

I’ve also experienced some cutting classes because of her. Though even if we cut classes sometimes I still make sure that I don’t have a failing grade. Because honestly, even if I tried almost all of the ‘things’ you should do in high school, I am still a grade conscious.

So, it was in the month of October as far as I can remember. Since Dee and I always had our breaks at the school canteen so we befriended the canteen head. We call him ‘Kuya’ and his wife ‘Ate’. We’ve become close together with the few of my classmates that they would allow us to owe for something we eat if we don’t have money as of the moment and just pay it the next day.

Afternoon classes were cancelled that time. Teachers were in a meeting since finals were approaching. Like usual, we’re in the canteen doing nothing and just chit-chatting about random stuff. Then one of my classmates mentioned a trip to a falls somewhere in Jasaan, Misamis Oriental. Kuya immediately agreed and said that we should go there. Right at that very moment.

I was taken aback and kinda sad since I know I can’t go with them. I haven’t asked permission from my parents, and even if I asked I’m quite sure they would let me. My parents were strict when it comes to ‘gala’ with friends. Besides, I don’t have money for the sudden trip.

It was nearly 2pm when we decided to go home. Them to go on a trip, and me on my way home. Fortunately, Kuya got his car and offered us a ride. I joined and told them that they can just drop me on the main road since I can’t join them on the trip. I thought they agreed but it turns out that I was tricked.

Dee told me that it was only once. If I would be scolded then better to make unregretful memories. I was very nervous but deep inside I know I was very excited. So the sudden trip to Sagpulon Falls continued. We’re even singing at the back of the car like we’re living the best of our lives as the wind blowing our hairs.

Sagpulon Falls is a natural attraction situated at Barangay San Isidro, in the mountainous part of the municipality of Jasaan, Misamis Oriental. It is 30 minutes or so away from the main road, and you can reach it by car or through the famous transportation called ‘Habal-Habal’. I never knew such a place existed before. And it was a long long travel before you finally reached the falls.

That time the place was still under development so it will be prepared to open in public. There’s an entrance fee but Kuya shoulders it all, or we haven’t paid even a single centavo—I can’t quite remember, sorry for that.

So as we’ve entered, we are all fascinated. The gigantic falls look so beautiful and there’s also some small falls beside it and a cave under the falls and behind the rocks. And what makes it more magical is that there’s a rainbow in the falls! Yes, a real rainbow. I don’t know how it formed or why but it was an actual rainbow, though a little smaller but very visible.

Everyone prepared for a dip, me on the other hand don’t know how to swim. But then out of nowhere, Dee handed me a life vest and urged me to swim. The feeling of excitement overflows in me. I joined them but I was just on the shallow part since I’m afraid I’d be drowned. They swim all the way to the falls and rock, I was envious.

Then a stranger asked me if I could swim? I said no. Then she started giving me basic lessons. She held my hands and urged me to go to the deepest part. I didn’t know her but I listened to her and trusted her. Being able to reach that part is like an achievement for me. She told me some tips as we swam back and forth to the shallow and back to the deep. But thinking about now, I guess I was only a pro swimmer if I had a life jacket on. Swimming does really require talent you know.

We actually had fun. I had fun. That even if you feel your muscles aching but still you don’t want to get out of the water. We even play like a child. It was really fun that I am smiling while writing this and reminiscing about the past.

It was so fun that even if I got home with wet clothes and got scolded real time I didn’t regret anything. It was so fun even if I woke up with body pain and sore muscles. Unplanned trip was indeed more fun than the planned one.


0
$ 6.13
$ 6.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments