A desperate heart's wish.

2 23
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
2 years ago

Yesterday, my aunt from Manila called me regarding the money that she will plan to send to me for my grandmother's medication. I was relieved with the thought that my mother wouldn’t have to shoulder all the expenses this time. Honestly, we have our own problems at home too. My parent's combination of income isn’t enough to pay for all of our debts, two months pending water and electricity bills, food that would last for a few days, my grandmother's medicines, and stock of food at my grandmother's place.

Fortunately, my aunt--a cousin of my mother who was raised by my grandmother, called me yesterday telling me that she would send some money for my grandmother's medicines. However, the panwshop near their house was closed at that time so she called me again to ask if she could send the money online.

In this generation where people are led by technologies and are living with technologies, having a virtual wallet in your phone isn't so common anymore. My aunt asked if I had a GCash, I guess everyone knows what exactly is a GCash right? It is a digital wallet. You can also use this to buy loads, pay bills, send money, and many more. Luckily, I have one but it isn’t verified yet and when it comes to online transactions I am more likely a 'Coins.ph user' kind of a person since my Coins.ph account is verified.

My aunt isn't familiar with Coins.ph that much but she said she will try to send the money to my Coins.ph account. Of course I waited since it would only take minutes to send money online, but then later on I received a text message telling me that someone sent money on my GCash. And my aunt then told me that she already sent the money. At first I thought that maybe I can just send the money to my Coins.ph account so I can withdraw it in the nearest pawnshop. But, I was taken aback when a pop-up appeared telling me that my account isn't verified yet and I need to verify it first before I am able to send money.

I called a dear friend of mine who just lives a few blocks away from our house and asked for his help. We tried anything possible just so we could get the money for that day but at the end we needed to wait for 24hours just so my account would be verified.

I told my mother about it, so in able to buy my grandmother's medicines, she used the money that is supposedly a budget for our food for the day and the next. Meanwhile, after agitatedly waiting for 24hours or so, there isn't any confirmation that my GCash account was verified. I started to panic since we're out of rice already and I don't know how to get the money within this day. I'm afraid to tell my mother about it so I decided to find another way. There must be another way for me to get the money.

 

I went to my friend's house, the one who also helped me at first, and cried for help. We tried to find a faster solution to my problem again, then we came up with the idea of converting my balance into a prepaid load, and then from the prepaid load we'll also convert it into cash and then transfer it to another verified GCash. We read it in an article so we tried doing so.

We went to the nearest 7/11 store in our barangay, trying to avoid any barangay officials and guards whose roaming around and out of all lucks, there isn't any tricycles that we could use for transportation since Modified Enhance Community Quarantine (MECQ) was order in in our City from June 1 to 15. So we've got no choice but to just walk, and when we reached 7/11 I almost cried out loud. Not in so much joy but in so much frustration. The store is closed.

I even asked God if I was being punished. I couldn't get any money and it seems like we would sleep on an empty stomach today. My friend also couldn't lend me money since he himself did not have some. So I decided to just go home and find an opportunity to tell my mother about it. To ease my nervousness and frustration, I decided to write something. I stated in my old articles that whenever I feel down I always write since writing gives me solace.

Surprisingly, when I opened my read.cash I learned that I received tips from my previous and recently published article. Not that big or the same as the money that I needed to get but good enough to buy my family something to eat for today's dinner. All of my frustrations, nervousness, and fears turn into hot tears. I didn't imagine that a person's emotion can change instantly in just a matter of seconds. This time you would feel tight-hearted, but in another second you would feel like you're floating and that no one can even ruin your mood for the rest of the day.

What happened today also proves that when a person’s desperate heart wishes for something, the universe conspires in making that wish come true. I think I just wish desperately from my heart that my wish is heard.


3
$ 7.63
$ 7.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
2 years ago

Comments

The Bangko Sentral has become more strict with e-wallets so they are now requiring verification. I guess the lesson is for everyone to immediately get verified upon opening an account - whether coinsph or gcash - to avoid delays such as what you experienced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. It was very inconvenient in times of emergency. But I prefer using coins.ph since it is very flexible unlike GCash, it's just really that my aunt sent the money by mistake in my unverified wallet :')

$ 0.01
2 years ago