2016-2017: A School Year that I will Surely Remember Forever

9 38
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

High school life is the best and the most memorable time throughout our teenage years. Do you agree? Every one of us has or had that very memorable school year in our whole high school. Most times in my high school up to senior high school were fun and majestic but there’s really a specific time where I can say that it is the best of all the best high school experiences. In the school year 2016-2017.

We belong to the first batch of senior high school so we don’t really have an idea about what would be the school life of a senior high school student. That time, our school was still under construction since they changed the location of our new school into a wider area. So, our temporary school was located outside of our barangay. We would travel 15-20 minutes everyday, it’s not that far but neither close like our previous school location.

First day of being a senior high school student came. I was a bit nervous but also excited at the same time. Nervous because I don’t want to be left behind, what if I can’t be with my friends in the same class? Things like that discourage me a little. I have 3 bestfriends. 2 of them, Dee and Kea, enrolled in the same school and same strand with me while the other one was enrolled in another school. I’m afraid we’d tear apart. And also, excited because there are so many new faces.

After the morning opening and some speeches from the principal, we proceed in finding our classroom. And imagine the joy I was feeling when Dee and I were classmates. It’s just sad that Kea is in another class. Moving forward, we didn’t make that a big deal since our classroom was just adjacent to theirs. Besides we always see each other, and the three of us go home together. We’re inseparable. Kea always eat lunch with us too.

The constant classroom setting in every first day of class is, the first row of seats is for the geniuses and smart ass’ students, the second row is for the not so smart students, the third row is for the not smart and not so smart students, the fourth row up to the last row is for the students who has their own world.

In the first week of classes, Dee and I were sitting in the second row. The next week, we transferred to the third row. On another next roll of the week, we transferred again to the fourth row until we reached the last row. We don’t have a seat plan so our teacher was just cool with it.

So why did we always transfer seats? It’s not because we discover what kind of a student we were but because through time we develop more and more of friends. In our class, the majority of the students were boys and only few are girls. Most of our girl classmates were sitting in front or on the second row, that means that most of the guys were at the back.

Yes, we develop more guy friends that time. I am not an anti-social but since then I only have few friends and most of them are girls, if I have a guy friend then it would be a gay. But that time, I realized that a guy friend who you can treat as a brother is much better than your thousands of girl friends.

They would not talk on your back like your other girl friends do and they didn’t make me uncomfortable. A proof of that is when Dee was absent, I already made friends with all of my classmates but Dee and I were always together either lunch and snacks or ladies room. That time, Dee was absent and Kea was also busy with something so she cannot eat her lunch with me. Our classroom was already empty that time and a bit scary. I am hungry and I don’t know where to eat, I also don’t want to eat in the classroom.

Fortunately, the boys came back with some food in their hands. I thought they already had their lunch but it turns out that they just went out to buy food and went back to get their bags. They notice that I was the only one left in the classroom so they asked me to join them for lunch. I was hesitant. I may be close to them but thinking that I would be the only girl in the group makes me uncomfortable so I refused. They are about 10 of them, all straight guys. It wouldn’t be that nice in others perspective if I would come with them, but then boys being boys. Persistent and all, so I did really end up eating with them.

Gladly they didn’t do or say things that would make me uncomfortable. They treat me like one of them and I really appreciate it. You can say that they are the guys who you can get drunk with because you know that you are in good hands and they will protect you. They are their own version of chivalries.

So why is this school year the most memorable for me? It’s because everything started here. This is the school year where I cried and laughed the most. I already have some friends but this school year taught me that there are many kinds of friends, that a friend in need is a friend for life. And this is the school year where I realized that living your life is not enough, you need to live and enjoy life as well. Enjoy every bits of it.

I’ve got so many memories from this school year that every time I would remember it, it makes me feel nostalgic yet it also feels that it just happened yesterday. It gives me solitude and I would end up with tears.

One of my unforgettable and funny experiences here is during our science exam. You wouldn’t really believe what happened. And no one also expected that, even us. It just…happened. So the thing is, in our classroom, we have that classmate who is good in a particular subject. My seatmate, specifically, is good at science so I was very glad thinking that I might be able to pass the exam if I can take a peek at his papers.

Then a once in a lifetime moment in every exam came, our teacher went outside. I prepared myself to copy my seatmate’s answer but was distracted with a loud ‘thud’ on the door. I was very shocked and in awe when my classmates locked the door and even put the teacher’s table in it so it won’t be easily open from the outside, then with just a snap all of them were hovering at my seatmate’s chair that even him was also shocked with the sudden event.

They didn’t realize that our teacher was in the window watching us. We’ve called for the guidance office and almost got punished. Teachers call us names but for us, it’s more than conspiracy. It was an unexpected teamwork since no one would really tell or admit who locked the door. I laughed really hard that day. That feeling when your eyes would tear up because of so much laughter? I laughed with what happened but whenever I remember my science teacher’s reaction I would really end up crying in laughter. His reaction when he looked at us through the window, getting the same source of answer, was really priceless. He’s more amazed than mad. 


5
$ 4.76
$ 4.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of EnkeDemoiselle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for EnkeDemoiselle
3 years ago

Comments

Highschool is really something we can't ignore. If fuels us to become who we are now. Your article is a good read! ♡

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thank you ^_^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I do hope you also had some good memories in your high school.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah I would agree that the highschool life is the best. Enjoy your teenage life so that you don't have any regrets. Btw, are you a Filipino?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely. Everyone should enjoy their high school life so they have something to laugh about at college. Happy memories keeps us from depression. And yes, I'm a proud Filipino.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes and when you have a reunion, you can reminisce what you've done on your highschool life. Oh nice to meet you! I'm also a Filipino. By the way I like your username Demoiselle, I searched it on Google and it says that it is a young woman😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, hi kabayan! Hahahaha yes it is while Enke means ink in middle english if you would search it in dictionaries.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello hahaha. So what's the relation of ink and demoiselle? I'm curious haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago