A Transparent Glass of Water

0 14
Avatar for EmrysAmeer26
2 years ago

Probably most of you will notice that the title is kinda weird, but if you read this thoroughly, then you will realize why I entitled it this way.

Happy reading everyone! 🤗


Photo from: https://unsplash.com

We humans have different perspectives in life. The way on how we look at things, how these can affect us, change us and make us someone we have hoped for or be someone that we have not ever thought of.

These differences make us view things differently that sometimes we relate ourselves and depend ourselves upon it. There are times in life where we do reflections to learn something new to ourselves, to reassess on things and to change habits that we must not do any longer.

I am the type of person who is very pessimistic on how I view and assume things in life. And during this time of pandemic, I realized that I became more pessimistic than before. A person who always look negatively and someone who always look at the darkest side. Always this time, I cannot help myself to think about those negative things in life, those bad events that happened and might happen, killer thoughts that keeps awake, what ifs and whatnots.

I am considering myself as a transparent glass of water. But that transparent glass is not full. In life, there are many events that we did not expect to come and happen and some are just the things that we have looked forward before. However, nowadays, where everyone is staying inside their houses, with no physical touch with their loved ones and cannot do the things they used to do, I cannot help myself to think negatively about what is happening to us, where I am today and who am I going to be in the future. I am not happy. I don’t have a peace of mind. I can’t stop overthinking. My anxiety is always attacking me every night. And I can’t look at things the way how I used to look at it before and the monster inside my head is slowly eating me.

And now, I am considering myself as transparent glass with half-empty of water. Aside from not being full, I am also a transparent person. In my everyday battle with myself, I feel like I am invisible, a transparent person. Even though I always seek for attention, love and care, it always seems like nobody can see me and all of them are ignoring me. These thoughts of mine are something that I am sure to say that I’m not the only one who look at myself like a half-empty glass of water during this time. I hate to say this, but in our generation, it seems like negative thinking is now part of our culture. We hate it. I hate it so much. It is really breaking my positive mindset.

Every time that I am holding a transparent glass of water which is not full, but a half-empty one, I can’t help myself to reflect that instead of going up, reaching my dreams, it makes me feel like I am almost done. That I can’t reach any of my dreams, that no matter how hard I try, I can’t reach at least one of those. An everyday battle of mine, and every one during this time is not easy. I always try to lift myself up. To look for something that will help me on internet when I have free time or after being bombarded by formative assessments and different tasks that we have inside our homes. I try to read motivational books and blogs, inspirational movies or any that will help me to overcome this negativity that I have.

As time goes by, I came to the point where I realized that there is nothing wrong of thinking negatively but what makes it not good to our health is if we let these thoughts overpower our positive thoughts. It is fine to think negative things to ready ourselves on what might happen, to be prepared and for us not to be shocked but we should not let ourselves be focused on these things.

I know and I consider myself as a transparent glass of water still. But this transparent glass is not as what you think as I said earlier because I look at myself today as a half-full glass of water. Yes, I am now thinking positively. If today it is still not full then try to remember yesterday, about the past, the time where you were just an empty glass of water and look where you are now. Although I am still not a full glass of water or I am not still at the peak of my life and my dreams are not yet fulfilled and reached, I know that I am a capable person because I have my God. I know that I will come to that day. I know that I am almost there. A little more of hard work, sacrifices, determination and by keeping the faith, I am confident to say that I will be there and I can’t wait to say that I am finally full and living in my dreams.

This transparent glass of water helps me find and know myself better and it created a person that really surprised me, that person is me. The person I have not ever thought that I could be. And, what makes this object different from others is it can make a person’s perspective in life broader than anything else. It will teach you how you look at yourself, view things in life and how you must react to it. As I said earlier, we have different perspectives in life and I know and believe to myself that the best thing to relate ourselves is in a transparent glass of water. It is up to us on how we will look at it. Although the glass doesn’t have enough water, it will make us more strategic, more faithful, more determined, more hard working, and it will make us do better and be better.

Holding this transparent glass is not easy if you look at it as half-empty, most especially when you are tired and alone. But if you look at it as half-full, the day will come where you can finally share this glass of water that contains a lot of stories and experiences to share to others-- stories and experiences that can probably change their lives like yours.


How about you? Do you also consider yourself as a transparent glass of water? If yes, which one? A half-empty glass of water or a half-full one?

Anyway, thanks for reading! Hope you like and enjoy this! đź–¤

God bless and keep safe everyone! 🤗

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for EmrysAmeer26
2 years ago

Comments