Requesting to be paid in Bitcoin

3 37
Avatar for Emmanuel1985
4 years ago

Hi everyone,

 

Like I mentioned in my previous post, I lost my job due to the coronavirus and today is my last day. My place – I live in the Philippines – is going on lock down in 2 days and I hope my last pay will be on my account by then.

 

The thing is: I am growing concerned that the bank will shut down or limit the amount you are allowed to withdraw. The pandemic situation isn’t getting better yet, and we do not know if it will in the near future. In that case, leaving the little money I have in the bank is a considerable risk for me.

 

Since pretty much all governments are starting to print money like crazy, and I do not think any savings in USD or any local fiat will be safe either. I do not mind, however, storing USD as DAI for the simple reason that it will be easy, fast and relatively cheap for me to convert it to Bitcoin if the inflation starts to kick in.

Plus it will be necessary to protect myself from volatility as well.

 

I have decided to request to be paid in BCH/DAI.

Most companies hiring on upwork are small to medium businesses that might be willing to accommodate if they are eager to hire any particular employee – and I believe I have what it takes to make requests.

However, I understand most companies won’t go through the hassle of dealing with cryptos volatility, which will mean ever fluctuating wages, ie a nightmare for them.

 

So I have thought about a possible solution:

Let say the company agrees to pay me 1000 USD per month. I could request for them to make 1 purchase of 1000 USD at the beginning of the month, at whatever price BCH is that day. Then divide the amount of BCH they got by the number of days I will work during that month… And then send my salary every day, or week – depending what we agree upon.

 

For example, let say the company hire me today. They will purchase 1000 USD worth of BCH at 220 USD per BCH for the first month – basically 4.5 BCH.

That amount of BCH will be my salary for the month, whatever the price fluctuation will be during the month. If I work 20 days this month, I should get 4.5/20 = 0.225 BCH every day, or 1.125 BCH every week (as I will only be working 5 days a week).

I could then protect myself from the volatility by saving a part - or all of it - in DAI as soon as I get paid.

 

Basically it is a way for me to bypass the banks all together and to get a sound form of money for my work, without asking anyone else to deal with the crypto volatility.

Of course, if my employer is crypto savvy, I could ask him to pay me directly in DAI and avoid this scheme all together.

 

Any thoughts, comments or suggestions will be greatly appreciate, as I will start my interviews very soon.

 

Take care!

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @p0oker
Avatar for Emmanuel1985
4 years ago

Comments

I don't think that make sense. You need to finish your month and then they can buy you BCH with the day's price, not one month before.

Also doing so is against Upwork TOS so if you ask that in Upwork channel expect your account to get banned!

Even so, getting paid in crypto is amazing so it's good that people start to ask that from their employers

$ 0.01
4 years ago

Thanks for the input! The thing that I’m trying to protect against is a quick devaluation of the currencies. As we’ve seen in Venezuela and other places, prices can double or triple in a month. A price agreed upon in fiat at the beginning of the month might not have the same purchasing power at the end of the month. I know it feels far fetched when we are talking about EUR or USD, but the situation we’re in is unprecedented and we just don’t know where things are going, nor how fast.

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Yeah but it's like asking your employer to pay your salary upfront! The moment they exchange that money for you it's out of their balance sheet and they consider it spent.

$ 0.00
4 years ago