College Internship

2 8
Avatar for Emman
Written by
3 years ago

​I’m excited when I started my internship in GMA Network Inc. Of course, it’s one of the big media industries here in our country and it’s my pride that I’ve been an intern in one of the most prestigious company in my field. When I started my internship, I was nervous because I will be facing new people, new environment and new opportunities. It’s also my first time to be in a media industry that’s why I’m all new in all aspects that I’m encountering. Aside from the theories that my school putting in me, I want to apply it in real life that is why, I’m proud and happy that I was one of the chosen student to be given a slot in GMA.

​I faced a lot of people who are professionally and competitive in our field. Also, I just don’t see the people that I watched in Television before, I worked with them now and it’s a big opportunity for me. Being an intern in GMA makes me really mature in my life and all the production staff that I’m with all through-out my internship, guide me to build myself when I want to enter after graduation here in GMA. They also taught me how to boost up my confidence when people or some other people in our field eat me alive. 

​They treat me as a family and friends, not a typical intern that does their errands. Even after my duty hours, we meet outside and bonding like eating, having a coffee break near in GMA. They also open my eyes, how the true production works and it’s really not easy to do. It needs to plan properly and construct it carefully. I’m glad that I was deployed in Pinoy MD program on GMA 7, News and Public Affairs. They make me experienced what the researcher does in real life and probably it will be my designation when I started working here in GMA officially.

​They taught me how to liquidate the production expense, after the segment shoot. How to Cash Advance (CA) for the budget of the shoot and to prepare as well the props that need. Also, after shoot they taught me how to dump the materials (mats) from CF, P2 card that serves as the memory card of the camera that used in the shoot to laptop and to hard drive for editing. But before it airs of course the segment producer must draft his/her script for the checking and approval of program manager and executive producer then after they edit it, ready for voice over of the program host, and for our program, Ms.ConnieSison is our host. Then after it, getting the stills, for the social media promotion/advertising. After the dubbed out, for preview of program manager and executive producer then it’s ready to be aired.  That how the production works in my program.

​By the way, my program is Pinoy MD that 37 minutes duration airing time without the commercial and portion buy. It composes of 4 segments that are, medicine, food, travel and celebrity. It is a regular show in GMA 7 and always in a high rating by Nielsen (NUTAM). It is aired every Saturday morning, from 6:00 in the morning until 7:00 am. The target audiences of our show are the women ages 30-40 years old above. 

​During in my stay in GMA, I learned how to interact with people and how to approach them properly. I was able to contact different marketing managers of spa in the metro manila, owner of a certain resort, look for case study and talents that need for our shoot. They also taught me the etiquette of telephone for properly contacting the locations. I was able to understand fully as well the ex-deal of the program to their desired location to shoot or other logistics that need passed by before shoot and to get it free because, in media we don’t have a big budget that is why we are in the rampage to get our deals for free and in return, either to give them an incidental shots of their assets and put them in our CBB or will make the expenses lower than that they expected.

​I thought before I enter here in GMA I wasn’t able to focus on my remaining requirements on my outside scholarship and to my other subjects that I enrolled this but, shockingly, they helped me instead to make my job easier. I was really grateful to all PMD staff because they are not just welcome me warmly and accommodating, they make me part of their family and helped me to learned more, gain more and improved more on all the aspects that I need to know about media industry.

​They taught me how to work multitasking, how to do a miracle in the brick of deadlines and how to be professional at all times. They taught me how to time code that is job of a segment producer as well as to transcribe the raw materials that came in the segment shoot outside. I also explored the work of production assistant in News and public affairs. Just for the information of everyone, there is a big difference of PA in entertainment department and in news and public affairs department, because in news and public affairs department they don’t treat the PA as a literal personal assistant of a certain personality that the PA in ETV does. They do assist in shoot of the program, and their path is in the line of post-production.

​ I was able to have a chance to be a candidate in GMA News Excellence award, it is open to all graduating students with a course of mass communication and information technology that is also a candidate for a Latin colors. I’m in the process of accomplishing the requirements and I’m hoping to be awarded of it.

​I’m really grateful to be part of Pinoy MD staff and I’m proud and happy that I gain a lot of knowledge that I didn’t learned from the school and given a lot of opportunities that I can’t get from the others. Thank you PCC and thank you of course. GMA Network Inc.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Emman
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Im proud of you friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I too as well! ❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago