Understanding Introverts

1 8
Avatar for Emmamari
2 years ago
Topics: Challenges, Lesson, Mind

I started the discussion on this topic sometime back. I aim to get the Introverts to understand that they are okay the way they are, nothing is wrong with them. Most of the time, people see Introverts as wicked, uncaring, nonchalant and nonsocial. That's not true. That's why they are mostly being looked down upon by their extrovert counterparts.

Here, I will be discussing some of the facts and misconceptions about Introverts. This is going to be a long read, but read on, it's important.

WHO IS AN INTROVERT?

To understand clearly the concept of INTROVERT, it's important and necessary to know what TEMPERAMENTS and PERSONALITY means.

Temperaments refer to the inborn traits that organise how you approach the world.

Personality can be defined as the pattern of behaviour, thoughts, and emotions that make you an individual. You can build your personality.

In this case, I will be considering only the INTROVERT as a temperament which is my major concern now.

From the above definitions, you can see that temperament is a trait i.e it is genetic. You were conceived and born with it. You do not influence it. That is why you are the way you are.

A lot of people believe that nature could be altered, yes, but not in all. At different points in my life, I felt as if something was wrong with me. It is much more disheartening when your siblings and even parents do not have an understanding of your kind. I've had my mother say severally that she doesn't understand me, likewise my father. This came as a result of always wanting to be by myself without any interference from anyone. From time immemorial, my siblings have complained that I was more open to my mom, but turning to my mom, it's a different story altogether.

I've tried working on myself but get exhausted and drained out after some time. This is natural. Sometimes you might think nothing interests the introverts, but no, they are just like any other human, whole and complete.

Spending time alone gives introverts the chance to think better and take meaningful and productive decisions. They usually need alone time to process anything before taking decisions.

In school, extroverted students usually see introverted ones as a weakling. But when it comes to class participation, you will see that they are exceptional. Their intelligence is hardly noticed because contributing to class exercises is not always their thing. They would prefer to go research then ask questions in class in class. This is because they always want to be low key.

Introversion is far different from fear. It is certain that most Introverts also shows elements of fear. But that does not erase the fact that even extroverts have fears. They are different in that fear is an emotion while introversion is inbuilt.

You can't change from introvert to extrovert, no condition or situation can change the introvert to extrovert. They can pretend for some time but still fall back to nature. Introverts can relate to this.

There are lots of misconceptions about Introverts. Some are considered wicked and nonsocial. No! This is not true. You can only get to discover the best out of them when you understand them the way they are.

Understand that Introverts are not misogynistic neither are they misanthropic. They are built to be who they are by nature, understand them, only then will you be able to relate better and appreciate the work of nature in them.

HOW DO YOU KNOW YOU ARE AN INTROVERT?

You like being alone.

You become physically and emotionally exhausted after a short period of socializing.

You always want to be on a low key.

You think and do better when you are alone and express yourself better in writing.

Having many people around you could be boring and irritating. You get drained after hanging out with friends for some time.

Talking too much is not your thing.

Now see this: You are in a social gathering and everyone is very happy and lively but you rather appear disturbed by every single shout in that situation. Or everyone is asked to wave his hands to the Lord during worship but your hands appear to be heavier than the earth. This always happens to you because you see it as something boring.

You physically hide away from people you know over to engage you in lengthy talks.

Closing Thoughts

If you are in class, asking or answering questions is not your thing. You are satisfied as far as you know. You prefer going on research instead of asking many questions.

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2020/05/30/18/12/vintage-5239872_640.jpg

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Emmamari
2 years ago
Topics: Challenges, Lesson, Mind

Comments

I think that being introverted is partly due to the teachings during upbringing. I had experienced similar situations for a short time and partially isolated myself from society, but this happened years ago when I was a teenager. I always liked to be alone, I was involved in activities that would motivate myself, but I was still alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago