Why I Suck at Writing

19 43
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Okay, so hold up all your thoughts about why I titled it this one. I am in no means trying to bring myself down by hating on my own writing style or what. You know, just the same old, self-evaluation stuff. It is through evaluating myself in writing that I revealed some weaknesses and some reasons why I sometimes feel unsatisfied of my own works; thus having the need to revise them oftentimes.

If you are an avid reader of my daily posts (thank you so much for that), you can notice just how inconsistent my articles are, starting from the upvotes, the views, and even to the times these are published. As a heads up, what I did was observe myself for the past week and point out my mistakes, weaknesses, and possible reasons for those.

One: Thoughts are over the place

There were days I found myself shaking my head sideways while reading my own articles. My thoughts are so messy at times, and this is evident in my posts, especially on times I do free-writing.

What's good though is that I see it s something that lessens overtime. I mean, the more I observe from past to latest ones, the lesser these mistakes appear on these writings, which means, I improve everyday, at least.

To prevent this more in the future, I suggest making a rough outline in my head, even it's a free writing, just to ensure there is a direction to my thoughts. I would not want to make my readers confused as to where my articles are going, right?

Moving on to the next one..

Two: I really don't plan a topic for the day properly.

Though this is something that trains me to be more creative, I know there are downsides to this one. On the very time I start to click that "Write an article", I just make up my mind on what I am going to talk about. Yes, like that.

The hours before that moment are the time I actually think about the possible themes of my daily article, and those theme ideas get to at least six per day. Oftentimes, my brain gets to make some imaginary drafts, that I will use when I actually start writing. However, this is not the case always. There are more times than not, that I change my mind completely and write about something really different on the spot.

I think I have revealed this habit I had in my previous articles. You can see it when I use words like "I was planning on writing this today, but I ended up writing about this.." on those.

Possible resolution? Hmm.. Honestly, I could think of many recommendations, like writing those themes down, and just use it in the future; stick on my initial idea and save the change of mind for the next drafts, or vice versa, stuff like that. But I ain't sure, as I know this thing will always be a habit if mine. I don't think it is so bad, maybe just needs some moderation.

Three: My current life setup makes it hard for me to write consistently.

Maybe this one is considered a weakness, an alibi, or a solvable issueโ€”you may think however you want. I have mentioned about this in my previous articles talking about motivation.

Work life composes most of my day time on weekdays, leaving me a few hours in the night to eat dinner, get some rest, and of course, sleep. I find it hard to slip some productive hours in writing, because either my eyes could not stay awake, or my brain is completely shutting down.

There are miraculous times, though, that I managed to pull through, since I've noticed I saw lots of my articles published at night time, probably 11 to 12 of midnight. I don't do that nowadays, though.

Why? I found a solution on it now. Trying this one I devised, I hope this works. I planned now to set an alarm two hours before the usual time I wake up in the morning, and dedicate the next two hours writing the article I will post every morning, daily.

I think I have started this new setup one to two days ago, and I am doing quite well. I am not a morning person though, so I still find myself extending some sleep time by snoozing that silly alarm, but it's better than squeezing my poor body and brain of thoughts at night time, after a day of work.

Four: Sometimes, I am a lazy rascal

I can't deny there are days I just feel like slacking off a bit, and this is sometimes applied in my writings. Not in the way though, that I just wrote some nonsense articles fewer than 500 words, or articles that look like some social media posts.

What I am saying is, there are days I am too lazy to re-read and revise my works. I just post it without proofreading or editing, which is so vital in every writing process. This is so important as I could see an overview as to how my article went, and it gives me chances to correct my mistakes, be it about grammatical lapses, misspelled words, or even inconsistent context, or flows of ideas.

I think I have done this once throughout this week, and thankfully, I have did some proper revision already. So, no more lazy days starting today.

Quality is indeed important. I gotta work harder.

So here they are. My four observations as to why I sometimes feel that my writing sucks. As you can see, those mentioned have solutions, and I am doing all my best to have those resolved at the time of my writing.

I do this stuff all the time, evaluating myself, exploring my own skills, mistakes, and situations that caused these. This is with the ultimate goal to find attainable solutions; hence making a positive change possible.

Sometimes, criticisms are helpful to make ourselves better. There is always room for improvement. Even if you maybe the best writer in this platform, or the highest-earning contect creator here, there will always be mistakes and need for some revisions to make your works better.

However, criticisms do not always come from others. There are moments when only you yourself can find faults in your system, when others fail to. Criticizing one's self isn't bad at all, as this purports being someone who does a frequent self-evaluation, always aim to improve, and becoming the better version of himself/herself everyday.

So with this article, I can say that, yeah, I suck in writing sometimes, but there is always a solution in every issue. I know I can improve. My courage to post this one, is my own step to progress.

Thanks for being here. :)

My sponsor block is so excited to see your name there.

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

9
$ 0.69
$ 0.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 6
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

You got me there. At first I was about to comment about the title and give you uplifting or motivational words, I even have a speech prepared. LOL. But then my thoughts came to a crushing halt. What am I to say to you? I am not in the place to say anything, I also suck at writing, big time!

And then I went on reading... paragraph after paragraph, I was like, Hol' up! Wait a minute. This... this clever human being, is she describing my works? Lol, seriously though, most of those stated above are just so relatable, to me at least. I am you!!! No offense meant. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What?! You are I?! I don't really notice that you do those I mentioned above. But upon reading other comments, I guess, I am not the only one with these habits in writing. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah yeah, they're pretty normal happenings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, so I guess, we all sometimes suck in writing ? Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess we do. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry too much your articles are good. Yes there is always room for improvement for everyone. Did you think to look around for writing techniques and some good suggestions? There are good videos on YouTube.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't yet, but I will check Youtube tips one of these days. Thanks for your encouragement. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lazy rascal๐Ÿ˜‚ Your articles are good compared to mine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Can't think of a better word than rascal! ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its funny though๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? I guess, it's okay to let it remain there! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup! That's little spice in your article. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some spice, yeah! Good description! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the word that comes to my mind. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL you are good in this XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great read, I can be a lazy rascal too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I think all of us do. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes absolutely right ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But not all times okay? hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago