Random Thoughts on A Rainy Night

8 32
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

The rain seemed to have a lot of stories to tell tonight. It has been pouring ever since this morning, even right now, that the sun is already taking a nap.

The moon and the stars somehow wanted to appear tonight, but the rain said no. Instead, dark, thick clouds blanketed the night sky and finally cried out slowly again.

There are a lot of memories I recall whenever it's raining. I don't feel exactly sad. I don't feel happy, however.

Maybe this is what "feeling sentimental" means.

A rainy night makes me think of a cozy coffee session at one's favorite cafe, while looking at the people filling the streets. Some are walking, others running while covering their heads with hands or anything they hold. Some are couples sharing an umbrella. Or children having the time of their lives playing under the rain.

Rainy nights also gave me memories of staring over the window on a bus or train, enjoying whatever my eyes laid on, fascinating myself with a hundred moving images I could only see within a few moments. The trees that never seem to end in a long way home. Or the city lights from afar that replace the hidden stars for the night.

Of course, rain associates me on my own moments as a child. Pleading to my parents to let me go outside and play. I think I had one of the brightest, most sincere smiles those times. Worries are not yet in my consciousness, rain is enough to make me happy.

As little children, we would all just go out and enjoy, sometimes wearing only our underwear, run around the place, play some games that involves running and shouting as loud as we could, as if we could defeat the sounds of the heavy rain thumping on the roofs of the houses surrounding us.

We would feel disappointed when mom calls and tells us it's time to go home.

I would also reminisce some sad memories I shared with the rain. One thing I would never forget, that one tume where I did the best I could to restrict myself from crying because of a failing exam. I was late and the train I was supposed to get on had already departed. The fare I had that time is a hard-earned money of dad that day. I insisted on having that money since that day is my exam. I think dad even borrowed some money for that. And I was late.

I had to wait for one more hour before the next train. And those sixty minutes felt tragic to me. I was filled with anxiety about my exam. Image of my father appeared into my mind for a lot of times, and I could just grit my teeth because my heart was breaking so badly.

It was a rainy day, and I was waiting on a seat near the station with a burdened heart.

Right now, I am looking over the window from this room to see the view of the night. The outline of the trees and houses added some figures to the dark scenery. A few lightnings here and there, but no loud thunder. Good thing, no thunder.

I used to not really like the idea of raining. As much as it outs much hassle to me with the additional burden of bringing an umbrella, or the constant effort to not get wet by the rain, even the trouble of mud-filled shoes, it also causes our house to be leaked with rainwater inside.

Yes, it is flooding a bit inside our house. I don't know, maybe some construction issue or the land is just not really firm inside. Mopping the floor constantly is a tiring and patience-testing activity—I once cried out of frustration. Someday, I hope God will help me be able to buy a house free of these issues and inconvenience.

However, when I spent some quiet time just staring into the vast view outside, I somehow felt an inner piece.

It is a kind of calming feeling I will not just get anywhere. Only the rain could comfort me in such a way. I just found myself appreciating every raindrop the falls wherever it wants to, the flowing rainwater on the soil that even has patterns sometimes, even the illusion of tiny crystals flying out and about in the air.

Rain is beautiful, and it soothed me in an unexplainable way. It's like that friend who does not ask how I feel but seems to know what's in my heart already. That damn serene feeling.

This made me remember a song by RM, a member and the leader of the global superstars, BTS. The title of his song, is "Forever Rain."

In this song, RM said that when it rains, he feels like he has a friend. That someone is also sad with him.

With all the caps and umbrellas going on in a rainy season, no one will notice his griefs, and that's what he likes.

A contradicting representation of a lonely person who doesn't want to reveal his sad side to the world because he's afraid they would just judge him, or invalidate his feelings. But adores the rain under the thought that it would cry for him, just listen to his grief without saying anything, without judging.

Let me add some lyrics I found really fitting to this mood.

I wish it rains all day
Cuz I’d like someone to cry for me, yeah
I wish it rains all day
Cuz then people wouldn’t stare at me, yeah

Cuz the umbrella would cover the sad face
Cuz in the rain people are busy minding themselves..

When it rains I
Get a little feeling that I do have a friend
Keeps knocking on my windows
Asks me if I’m doing well
And I answer, I’m still a hostage of life
I don’t live because I can’t die
But I’m chained to something..

Please don’t ask any questions
But do keep pouring forever
I’m not lonely when you’re pouring
Please stay by my side

Even rain is not forever. Some time it gets tired, it will leave too.

So I think I should enjoy the rain more from now on. I should start appreciating whenever it visits me.

Anyone out there who loves rain?

I have found out that introverts are more likely to love rain because it gives them a sense of calmness and peace (Source here). So, what do you think about it, my fellow introverts?

Is there any reason you like rain, or why you do not like it? I would love to know, please tell me a story about the rain. I am so excited to see yours.

Right, so there is even a word to describe people who loves rain. They are called Pluviophiles.

Anyway, I tried to compete with the rain tonight, guess who won?

I am sleepy already, while this buddy is still pouring here. I lost.

That would be it for my random thoughts about rain. Before I end it for real, is there anyone here who is a Pluviophile?


Hello! I wrote this one under one hour because I don't want to miss a day in posting. I apologize if most or some of my thoughts are all over the place; hence random.

I am really getting sleepy at the moment, see you again soon! Here.

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

5
$ 0.49
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 2
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I like the Summer rain. It even reminds me the song called "But Not Tonight"

"Oh, God, it's raining But I'm not complaining It's filling me up With new life"

https://youtu.be/GyJZSxjjaM0

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, let me check that song out. Thanks for reading. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A pluviophile here! It's now rainy season and i'm loving it. Well, it can be hassle specially to those who are stuck at the road on their way home. And more hassle if they have to use public transportation.

There's just this certain feeling of calmness and peace within me whenever it is raining. And ofc, the sentimental feeling! Lol. I think our brains are programmed to feel that whenever it's raining. Or is it just me? Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. A Pluviophile spotted! Maybe rain is really set to bring some sentimental feeling? I guess that applies to anyone. We've seen it in dramas and all. Haha. Thanks a lot for coming by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it is. Haha. You're welcome. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love the rain. It brings much joy, peace and a lot of memories. But I only love it when I am not going out. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For real! Hahaha! Much more senti and drama time ganern. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha senti. I'm always senti. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago