One of the Hardest Years in My Life

0 45
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Life, Journey, Blog, Writing, ...

Many people may think that year 2020 has been the hardest one to date. I definitely agree.

Though each one of us undergo different trials and judge on its level of difficulty, I think we can all come up with a 'Yes!' if we're about to ask whether 2020 is such a tough year.

Many unfortunate things occured in this year. Let's have a look at some that I can remember.

Taal Volcano

What welcomed the New Year's month is the eruption of Taal Volcano here in the Philippines. It has sparked massive fear among the residents near the area, as well as all the Filipinos throughout the nation. Even it really didn't cause an explosive eruption (which is the worst case scenario), the phenomenon has resulted in widespread ash fall in some parts of Luzon.

Photo by Alex Ongcal/Rappler

As a Filipino who lives in a region near one where Taal Volcano is, I have experienced the inconvenience first hand. Ashes are just...everywhere.

Imagine the snow layered up on the roofs of the houses, covering up all the streets. You can just feel the hassle we have to go through. All the seats in the jeepneys are always covered with dust, and no matter how many times we get rid of it, it just comes back with the wind.

This is how an ash fall effects looks like.

My hair became hard and almost white due to the ashes; I had to wash it three times to remove everything.

This isn't normal mud; it's ash mud.

Explosion in Beirut

A video shocked people around the world. It's a big, explosion that happened in Beirut in August 2020.

This traumatizing event caused a large amount of casualties and has scarred people for life—especially the ones who live near the area.

It is allegedly caused by poor storage of a huge deal of explosives, though the cause of the certain ignition is still unknown until now.

Wildfire in Australia

Even wildfires have been normal in Australia ever since, what happened in 2020 is one unforgettable dilemma.

This bush fire caused a negative effect to an incredibly large amount of wildlife, including animals, plants, and even humans. The significant loss of habitat has also become a problem, to which extinction may follow.

The photos above are some of the pictures that evidenced the worse events in the bushfire. Rosé of Blackpink spoke up about how sad she is about this issue, as Australia is what she considers her home, too.

COVID-19, the Star of the Year

And of course, the main topic of my article. The worst one of all. Everyone's common denominator.

COVID-19 did not spare anyone. It trampled on the rich, and on the poor. It spread like an unseen enemy that has killed a lots of lives. It has affected mostly all of the livelihoods and businesses.

It came like an unexpected storm that has no plan of leaving the world. What it brought is not just the disease, the virus. It also brought fear, anxiety, agony, and every bad thing you could think about.

I remember it clearly. It's the third month of 2020. I received a text from our management that starting that day (that day is a Wednesday) we should not report to work, until further announced.

I thought that time, things are really getting serious. I watched clips of people who caught the virus, and these instilled fear in me. I am shocked by the fact that one can easily catch the virus, and it can pose a great threat to his/her life.

I started getting news about people that I know who had the virus. I have seen the news that just revolved around the increasing cases.

Strict quarantines have been implemented. I have only seen quarantines on movies; I never expected I will undergo through one.

What I thought to be just a week's worth of leave went on for two months. All of us couldn't step a foot outside, except one who will be issued a travel pass.

I couldn't work, so our finances are frozen. We are thankful enough to receive assistance from government local units, and our own employers' benevolence. It's what kept us sustained for the past months.

When things got a little better, I was finally allowed to work again. The fear is still there, but I gotta earn money. At this rate, we would die not of COVID, but of hunger.

I faced the risks and worked. The advances I made to the company are now deducted from my salary every payroll period. For the first time, I received about 20% of my usual salary. Yes, 20%. As the expenses don't change, I wasn't able to save for those times.

Everything is hard. COVID 19 made it harder. It just didn't affect us financially, but also emotionally. I know all people around the world experienced it, too. The fear of being hospitalized, seeing your life become in danger, your families that would worry a lot about you, and of course, the immensely large amount of hospital bills. Where in the world can i get a hefty amount, when I can't even work?

Those thoughts went in and out of my mind all year round, until now. 2020 is over but it seems like Corona Virus hasn't gotten the news yet.

This virus affected the businesses around the globe, my employer is not exempted. I haven't got my midyear bonus, we had no year-end parties, nor summer getaways, none at all. It's so frustrating.

When will it End?

Right now, the first quarter of 2021, is over, and there seems to be a bit of improvement with the overall situation.

Vaccines have been developed, but we still aren't sure of its efficacy. News have surfaced about people getting worse side effects.

I myself haven't gotten a vaccination yet, as I don't want to. It's my choice. I'd rather wait for an absolute confirmation about it before I consent.

There has been a recent uprising in the cases recently, and it had even employed new strains. How annoying, right?

Just as 2020 can't be any worse, 2021 seems to be a continuation.

Amidst all this, I personally believe everything has a reason. This pandemic will end eventually. In the future, a real antidote will be invented, so people won't have to worry anymore.

COVID-19 will perish someday, and will not be a big deal anymore. One day, it will be considered a normal virus that has a cure, and of course, a prevention. When that would be, I don't know. It may happen when I am not here anymore, or it may occur right now.

Personal Thoughts

What I just do to keep me going is to live the best that I can. Whether it's working, staying at home, or writing, I will do my best.

I never know what comes tomorrow, so might as well make everyday count. The fear and worry are still there, but, happiness and positive things are always here as well, anyway.

Worry exists to make us worry; Fear exists to make us be scared. Just like fear and worry, happiness and positive things are also meant to make our day better, or make us thankful we got through another day.

Like what we Filipinos declare, "COVID ka lang, Pinoy kami!" (You're nothing but a mere COVID, we are Filipinos!)

2020 has been a tough year for me, and for you too, and for a lot more others. But I still hope for the best. I know God is working right now. I know everything will be back to the real normal soon. I know everything will be okay.

I still hope for the best.


Hey there! I want to know how you dealt with 2020 too; mind if you'd share it to me? Let's talk in the comment section.

Thanks for reading! Please visit my profile for more contents. Until next time! ✨

#random #virus #covid #issues #2020 #year


Lead Image Source: I hate 2020

5
$ 1.88
$ 1.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MizLhaine
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences, Life, Journey, Blog, Writing, ...

Comments