My Typical Weekend

17 22
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Today is not a weekend, but somehow, I suddenly want to share how my rest days usually go.

My rest days are Saturdays and Sundays, the two last days of the week. Wow, that is a novel knowledge. I hope you learned something new.

Before you get sick of my awkward humor, let me start this right away. Let's go!


Friday Night

Friday, I think, is my favorite day so far. This is the day I am always excited about.

I promised myself that I wouldn't sleep late again. Well, Friday nights are exceptions. I have this confidence that I will just wake up late tomorrow—it's a Saturday, anyway.

When I get on my bed, get a hold of my cellphone, the real fun starts. I catch up with all K-pop contents I missed while working. I have become an expert in switching among Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, Weverse, and Spotify. If I get bored, I will watch my latest K-Drama downloads, I always have them ready. These are a must-haves for me.

Before I realize it, the time screams 2:00 a.m. already, but I won't budge. As long as my eyes still don't close on their own, I stay awake. And please, don't be like me. I have changed a lot recently because strengthening my immunity is more important than anything these days. Then why did I say this? Uhh.. I guess, I just want to be honest. Now, I only stay up a little before 1 a.m., and I am planning to improve this on the next days.

My phone, most of the time, gives up first before me. I guess it's battery can never beat me. When my phone dies, then it's really game over. Girl, learn to rest a least.

Good night—no Good mornight, everyone.

Saturday Morning (or Afternoon?)

The sun may have approached the window already, but that is not enough to wake me up. Sleep is the real deal for night owls like me. Sleep late, wake up late.

You maybe thinking now how unproductive my weekends go. I can't blame you, my friend. Waking up early is what I really just don't like. At least, I am being truthful here.

I am not a morning person. Maybe it's one of the reasons I don't love my job a hundred percent. The responsibility to wake up at 6 o' clock in the morning decreased it by 20%.

Everything that's just about waking up early is just not my thing; unless it's a day I am looking forward too.

So yeah, nine or ten in the morning, my real day starts. For some reason, I have a little to no appetite to take breakfasts on weekends. Don't ask me, I don't know as well. It's just that, eating is not the first thing on my mind when I wake up, guess what is it instead? I think you said it right: Urge to sleep again.

My Saturdays are quite uneventful, at least, to me. I do the same things over and over again, it just changes schedules a bit.

My usual breakfast maybe a cup of milk along with a few pieces of'Pan De Sal', a popular bread breakfast among Filipinos. When I really don't feel like eating, I just drink my favorite oatmeal drink, Energen. I still have to be nourished even I am not willing to eat.

Pan De Sal is best served hot.
Vanilla is my favorite Energen flavor. The other flavor is chocolate.

After a while of eating, scrolling to my phone a bit, and more relaxing time, I proceed to wash my clothes. I don't like doing the laundry, too. At this point, you may just say I am a lazy girl. Maybe, I am, after all. Haha.

Or maybe not. I just say that I don't like doing these specific things considered as work, or chores—but I still do them. I guess we're all like this, after all? Doing it anyway is what's important, do you think so?

Lunch time comes quickly, and that's when I eat a lot. Mother cooks the best dishes, and I am not lying when I say that. She has a magical talent in cooking, everything she cooks just excites and satisfies our tummies. Thank you, Ma!

I am the assigned dishwasher on weekends, so washing the dishes is one fixed activity I do on my days off.

Washing dishes ain't always fun. Why is this girl smiling?

I do a bit of house cleaning, before I rest again in the afternoon. Usually, at two to three in the afternoon, they watch shows on TV, or sleep. I watch K-Dramas during this time, or have a siesta, too. One additional habit I adopted these days is being on read.cash. Of course, I won't be able to post here without spending my time being here.

It eventually gets dark before we notice it, so I go outside to fetch my dried clothes, and I fold them afterwards, before putting it into my cabinet.

Dinner comes in, and we watch TV until we feel like it's already late. And just like that, the day ends and everyone goes to sleep—well, except me, not yet.

Here we go again, the usual late night 'Me time'. I bond with my phone until I feel drowsy, and I pray before getting ready to fly into the dream world.

Sundays: New Normal

Ever since the pandemic began, Sundays have never been the same for me.

We usually attend the Sunday Service on the church we are members of. It's a worship service that covers half of our day—we immediately prepare for lunch by the time we come home.

However, due to COVID-19, gatherings have become impossible, so our Sundays have become quite different.

We usually wake up early for the morning service; nowadays, I wake up late on Sundays, too.

My Sunday is similar to Saturday's events, minus the laundry. I got more time to sleep, rest, and relax. More 'Me time', too.

Right! Before I forgot, there is another thing I do. I am not sure if all of you'd be familiar of this.

I pluck mother's white hair weekly. As per her complaints, white hair in the scalp are so itchy and uncomfortable. Majority of my mom's hair is still black, and these strands of white hair are very small, hidden within all the strands of black ones, and they are so many. I could spend a lifetime before I would be able to eliminate all of them.

This is what makes mother more relaxed and happy, because, itchiness and discomfort are alleviated. I don't like doing this, as well, as finding these small buddies is not easy. Doing this task sometimes hurt my eyes, and mostly my back, for looking and crouching down for one to three hours.

Lastly, before this uneventful day ends, I iron my uniforms and prepare my allowance for the workweek ahead.

Of course, I sleep early the night before day of work. I don't want to do my job looking like someone who just came back from the dead. Lack of sleep affects productivity, and a person's well-being. I am very aware of that.


Although I can't really say that my job is the source of my happiness, I am still thankful I have one. It is the source of the income that helps my family and I to get by, especially during this pandemic. So, I do every effort to make my work more fun and worthwhile.

Having work, in addition, makes me appreciate my weekends more. My job validates my constant desire to rest (haha!) and makes me feel that I am helping my family enough. It's an important part of me that I sometimes forget to appreciate.

It's kinda strange that writing an article about my weekends turned out making me grateful of the weekdays. How? Wait, let me read back where did it start.

So, okay. I guess this is how it turned out to be. Did you see how boring I am as a person? Pandemic or none, I am not fond of travelling or spending time outdoors, so my usual routines didn't change much before and now.

Final Thoughts

I am apologizing in advance for what I am about to confess. I really have a hidden agenda in posting this. Aside from sharing my usual weekend routine, I am asking for your help.

Now, please don't exit this article and read a little more.

Can I ask you for recommendations? What are the things you usually on weekends that you may suggest to me? It maybe anything, as long as appropriate. I just want to add some twist to my boring days off, so I am asking you, dear friends.

It maybe your unique weekends' past time, or a new hobby, or additional activities where I can earn even on weekends. Everything is accepted!

Can you help me? No? It's okay, I am sad to know that, but thank you, still, for being here. It means a lot to me.


Hello!

Another personal sharing of mine has been posted! Would you mind sharing me your thoughts, too? Don't be shy, and look for the comments section now!

Until next time, everyone! May God prosper us all!


• Lead Image Source: Happy Weekend

• The rest of the pictures have the sources embedded in them. :))

3
$ 1.19
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

So, what is your job again exactly? Haha And I agree, what on earth is that girl doing? Smiling while washing dishes? That's no fun! Haha Anyhow, I guess this is really just the normal weekends now, we can't do the usual shenanigans, no more sky diving, skinny dipping in Manila bay, horse back riding around the ranch, oh I also missed having a hot tea on top of a mountain. Ahhh, this pandemic sucks. Hahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. Because of the pandemic, we have nothing to look forward every weekends na. huhu.

Oh and I would live to try horse-back riding too!

To answer your first question, I work as an office staff. :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha office staff. Aren't we all? Hahaha, on a totally unrelated note, have you seen an episode of "The Office"?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am only familiar with the Title, but I haven't wantched a single episode. Is it good? If you'll testify about its quality, then might as well add it in my 'Must watch' List.. :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahhh. Not really good. It's weird, it's cringey, it's offensive, it's stupid but there's something about it that just pulls you in watching. Don't start it. Hahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah okay. That's how I described one of the worst series I have known but I still grown addicted, too. Hahaha! Fine, I won't. :P

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What series was that??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't exactly remember the title, I apologize for that. But it's a series I was able to watch when I availed of a Youtube Premium Free Trial last year. Haha. I will update it, when I remember it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha alright. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will be very honest with you. Since there are lots of people from the Philippines I got curious and looked up some places. Oh My God what a beauty I saw. Those beaches are amazing. Other than that if you have nature places nearby I would just go for a walk and have a nice drink in their cafe. What about hobbies?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! Philippines is such a beautiful country, full of natural resources. If not for the pandemic, lots of tourists from around the world would have been in Boracay already, since it's a beach best for summer. For hobbies, you can choose what you like. Different places have different cultures and activities they are proud about: amusement parks, local restaurants, sewing (or embroidery), even farming and fishing.

Since it is a tropical country, we only hve summer and rainy season here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love to go there. Would somebody be my guide? 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, let's see what tour guide training I can get! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not know much about your history either. Do you have rich history behind your country?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think, yes. The Philippines had been colonized by Spain for more than 300 years. After that, other countries also gained governance over Philippines, like Japan, America, etc. That's why we have high respect to what we call our 'National Hero' and other heroes, for being instruments in our country's freedom.

Our language, to be honest, has many words that are influenced by Spain, given it has occupied Philippines for 3 long centuries. The one I also mentioned above, 'Siesta' is a Spanish word, too, a custom which originated in the same country.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh thank you for some information. I like learning about other cultures and histories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My pleasure!

$ 0.00
3 years ago