Bible Time: Priorities

0 46
Avatar for Ellehcim
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Bible, ...

Tonight's topic is not new for many of us. Or it maybe new to you.

Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday of the week, the youth ministry of our church practices devotion, starting at 08:00 o' clock in the evening.

I understand that not everyone in this community is a Christian, so you are free to not read along. For me, it's my way of doing my part as a child of God, who, like any other people, struggles everyday with my spiritual life but keeps on going, because I want to be with God when my time comes.

It's been a while since I wrote in my "Bible Time" series. Well, let's get going..

Right now, our text is Matthew 19:16-30.

It tackles the story of a very rich young man, who asked Jesus about what he shall do so he may have an eternal life. Jesus answered that he shall obey the ten commandments of God, to which the man responds, "I have done these things.." (v.20)

This is where the story gets more interesting. Jesus told him to sell all his possessions and give to the poor—that's how he'll have a place in heaven. Then, the man sadly walked away, because he was very rich.

No other reason. The young man got sad, and walked away, because he was very rich.

I did not understand this text fully, and I slowly did, the more I read it through time. Does this mean that it's useless to obey the commandments of God? The answer is confusing at first, but I'll try my best to explain it, in God's guidance.

The missing piece with this young man is his willingness to let go of everything he has so that he can prioritize God. He's not yet ready to turn against his physical possessions, and that is the sign his heart is not focused on glorifying God. I then realized God does not tell us to NOT be rich. In fact, He wants us to prosper. However, He wants us to be ready and willing to sacrifice our riches, our resources, to prove that we consider our relationship with Him as our real wealth.

It might be weird to think this way, I agree. Why would I just give away the wealth I worked hard for? Isn't that unfair? Yet, we must remember that we are blessed because God allowed it. If we'll think clearly, we'll be reminded that we own nothing in this world. God is the creator and owner of every riches in this world.

Thus, we can be confident that it is God who will bless us more than we need. God does not care about our earthly possessions—He has plenty of it—infinite, even—what He seeks is our desire to put Him first before everything else. Following the ten commandments of God religiously is useless if we don't have the willing heart to prioritize Him. Honestly, everyone can follow rules consistently, right? Especially when we know we have repercussions once we violated such. But following as a sign of love and sheer willingness is a different story.

The story goes on with the disciples being bewildered when Jesus spoke, "It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God." (v.24) Simply said, it's indeed difficult for the rich to enter God's kingdom.

We can say it's because we know our focus and priorities will be divided, one for God, and one for money. We can't serve two masters. God gave us the free will to choose, God, or money? Personally, I'll choose the one who owns everything.

This is a sentence I've always tried to remember and live by: If I follow God, His blessings will follow me, (not the other way around). It's really better than me working day and night, chasing after money. If I do my best to be a good servant of the Lord, He'll find favor in me, and answer my prayers, and pour blessings my way.

It's about the sacrifice of worship. We are letting go of our worldly desires, and start working according to God's will. Surely, He knows and sees our efforts, and will not let our works go to waste. In turn, He opens the windows of blessings, and other beautiful things we'd not even expect.

It's hard, but it's possible. And it's gonna be worth it. Personally, I still find it hard to re-assess my priorities, because as the world says, "Time is money". Yet, I still continue to ask for God's help, so I can find it easier to prioritize His will, comforting myself with the fact that He does not forget my efforts, that He has the power to pour lots of blessings over my life and my loved ones', and has the power to provide me peace that can never be bought by money.

As the verse 26 said, with God, it can be possible. So, let's get to the point. Even if I'm rich, I can still go to heaven? Absolutely yes, and that's ONLY through God alone.

I am one of those who's working my way out of poverty, towards a financially pleasant life, and yes, I definitely aspire to be rich. I am only a human, though, and I can be tempted, so shall always ask for God's assistance, so I would not be a slave of love of money, but instead, do my best as I go through life, holding unto the hope that He'll prosper me.

Due to the time constraint, and this was getting a bit more lengthy, I was not able to have an in depth discussion of the verse 30, and here it is:

Matthew 19:30

"But many that are first shall be last; and the last shall be first."

You can also share your thoughts about this verse in the comment section.


I am very open to correction, if I might have explained things wrong or in a misleading way. However, I ask that everyone be kind and polite with words. I still have a lot to learn as a Christian, and I pray that God improves my understanding and wisdom.

Thanks for reading, may God bless us!

To God be the Glory.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
6 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Bible, ...

Comments