A Free Day, Indeed

2 11
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

You might not believe how my Saturday went. What I only did was wash the dishes for the whole day. A little bit of a housekeeping, and nothing more productive than that. Almost half of my day was just me with my phone, and sleeping. Goodness, I did not even wash my uniforms.

I am having an internal breakdown right now. Not that severe, though. Just thinking of how uneventful and unproductive this day went made me so disappointed at myself.

I guess writing here is an addition to a good thing I've done today. Thanks to this platform, I guess.

If you'd ask me what I did with my phone, well, the usual time-consuming habits. Watching Korean Drama, catching up with all the Kpop contents I missed during the workweek, and that's all. I did not even chat with anyone online today. I was just busy minding my own world that I did not even bother opening my online messaging apps. Speaking of those, I will check 'em all out after this.

I was the only one to look after the house today. My older sis worked night shift so she has just slept throughout the day. Mom, dad, and my younger brother had their own errands to attend to.

Don't judge me for this, but the television doesn't entertain me anymore the way it did in the past. Maybe it's because the shows in my own country are just not my style, or those have become boring to me. I am not being a hater though, but maybe, just maybe, Korean Dramas have raised my standards of what shows really should be.

I am sick of the same old storylines, the cliché backgrounds of both the protagonists and antagonists. Moreover, this one show. Let me just give a mild shade to this one show. Don't they get tired of just fighting and fighting? I mean, engaging in gun fights, seeking revenge, a never ending saga of anger towards someone, more dying characters, stressful events, along with an impulsive main character. To my fellow kababayans out there, you might now what I am talking about.

To the fans of this show, please don't be offended that much. I apologize if I went overboard, but, you get sick of it, too, don't you? Anyways, good thing dad did not turn on the TV tonight. Or did he? I don't know, I am already here at our newest mini-room I told you recently. Just chilling around, playing some favorite tracks on Spotify.

Okay, so how did I end up talking about TV shows again? Right, Korean Dramas. And others, too, I guess? I mean, I am also watching "Girl From Nowhere" too, which is from Thailand. I know, this series has finished last month, but you know, I am always late with things. I just finish them whenever I want. (Haha!)

Maybe the pandemic has contributed as well, to what the shows have become. We know all shooting activities are very limited these days as gatherings are discouraged. So we just suit ourselves with the replays of old dramas that we have watched years ago. I guess it's also a factor. Wow, thank you, COVID. Note my sarcasm.

Moving on, I don't think you'll be interested with what I am about to share but keep reading, anyway. LOL. On June 18, 2021, which is exactly six days from now, a special meal set called "The BTS Meal" is set to be served in McDonalds. There you go, a sharing you did not ask. (Nervous laughing).

Please bear with me, though. You know I am a huge fan of BTS. I am a certified ARMY! And I look forward to this so much. (Though I haven't saved yet to treat myself for this soon. I will start on Monday.) I know this might be priced a bit higher than the other sets, because it has the BTS branding on it, but who cares? It's the experience that matters to me. Let me have you watch a short promotional video, hehe.

It warmed my heart to see many dance challenges on Tiktok, with the McDonalds crews dancing to Butter, BTS' latest single. I don't have the Tiktok app though, I just watched compilation videos on Facebook.

These crews are amazing. Even if they might not know the song, or even the group, I salute them for their efforts. Now, there is one thing left for me to wonder? What could the McDonalds staff who is a BTS hater think? Will this person resign or not? Just a random thought, never mind, I'll just laugh it off.

I will end my fangirling session here before you leave me. I guess, I have given a pretty much detailed summary of how my day went.

I slacked off, indeed. Every brain cells of mine know it was a lose schedule. No planned activities, no organized TO-Dos and all. But if you're gonna ask me, I honestly enjoyed it.

I enjoyed this "lazy Saturday" as I got to loosen up a bit. Just freely doing my own thing without feeling pressured of deadlines nor eyes watching me. You know, like the usual setup in work. I always have to wake up early, get work on time, do my tasks properly, and stuff. I am not complaining though, as such mentioned are just the right attitude in the workplace. So today, I took this "rest day" pretty seriously.

I mean, come on. I have a right, don't you think? This slacking off is kinda valid as I only get to do this once a week. Just give this one to me, sweety. Let it slide just for today.

Stated above where my own arguments to my other self that was guilt-tripping me. It's like my responsible side and carefree side bickering with each other. I am assuming you have already guessed who won.

It's not that much of a lazy day though. Believe me. I am not making an excuse here. I suddenly recalled what I did before writing this article.

Everyone, I did some exercise. Yay, after weeks of delay, I got to stretch some muscles again. I think I said goodbye to some fats that have rented in my belly for a while now. However, it was tough. Many weeks of inactivity made it difficult for me to revive old sets of exercises again. I manged to pull through, though. It was fifteen to twenty minutes of labor—oh, I mean, working out. I felt better after it, not gonna lie.

Yes! Additional productivity points for Elle! Gotta make it habit again, for sure. Wish me luck.

I just turned off the lights because it's getting late. I gotta get a good sleep after this, because I literally spent time with this phone since this afternoon. Today has been a good day, after a few more deliberations I did. Not the best one, but one of the favorites.

I love how the Google design was customized to fit the day to celebrate. :)

I mean, today is Independence Day right now in the Philippines. Even it is a day to solely celebrate the freedom of our country from the occupation of the colonizers, I guess it is also a day where I can just freely do what I want, without worrying about any norms nor rules. Just have a good time, and enjoy the moment as it lasts. Who knows? My next Saturdays may not be as free as today, so I gotta keep this memory.

This part is a simple appreciation to all the heroes out there that made this freedom possible. We, people of this generation, are now enjoying this right you've sacrificed your lives and youth for. I salute all of you. Mabuhay!

This has been my sharing for today. To all my fellow Filipinos out there, hapoy Independence Day! How did you celebrate this holiday?

And to others who have come to this part, how did your Saturday go? Was it a productive one? Or a laidback one, like mine? Please let me know.

Well, this is how my Saturday turned out to be. My rest day, a free day indeed.


Greetings!

Thanks a lot from the bottom of my hypothalamus! (LOL) I really appreciate y'all reading and supporting me.

My sponsor block is so excited to have your name appear on it. ;)

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

4
$ 0.20
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 2
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I love lazy days. Especially after hard work when I know it is well deserved. You probably needed it too. It is nothing wrong with that. You are recharged. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. Thanks for the nice words. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago