Play Scrabble with Me

0 21
Avatar for ElizabethV
3 years ago

I love this board game and I wish my husband could play it with me but he finds it boring. Since I don't have anyone to play it with, I just content myself to playing it online via this app called LEXULOUS WORD GAME. I have been using this app for almost 5 years now but when I got busy with work and studies, I couldn't find the time to play it or I just chose to not play it anymore because it is highly addictive. Well, for me anyway, since Scrabble is my favourite game and I love the challenge of beating other players. It certainly causes to release dopamine in my brain every time I am able to get high scores from my BINGO words and when I have more than 5 winning streaks.

But inasmuch as it is enjoyable, it can also be frustrating when I know that my opponents are using "word generators" because sometimes they come up with words that are totally unheard of or words that you would most likely not encounter at all no matter how many books you have read in your lifetime.

Or maybe they are just really a walking encyclopaedia, since some of the bingo words that they come up with, you won't even find them in a dictionary or thesaurus. Maybe they're just that smart and have high linguistic intelligence, who knows.

In saying that, I just have to give them the benefit of the doubt. They might also think that about me when I could form bingo words one after the other (haha!!! Not that I'm saying I am quite a linguist, but I do use my brain power to form words out of my 7 or 8 tiles and place them on the board strategically).

Anyway, it's a FREE GAME in a FREE WORLD. People can do whatever they want to do and I can't stop them even if they choose to cheat. I can't control their actions; I can only control mine. For as long as I am playing clean and I'm having fun, that's the main thing.

So far, my best result was 15 winning streak, which made my ranking go up to 2024. As at the time of writing this post, my current level is down to 1997. Even in such a simple game as this, I am competitive and I want to beat the higher ranking players and reach their level, too.

Now, let me tell you my favourite features of this game Lexulous.

I can play against random people from all over the world, or if I just want to practice then I can play against "computer" of different levels, such as Newbie, Amateur, Intermediate, Expert and Champion. I have never beat the Champion, that's why I only play against the Expert. Haha!!!

As you can see in the image above, there is an option to link my Facebook account to this app and then I can play with my anyone on my Facebook friends list. Well, actually, the only person I play Scrabble with is my mother. She is really good at Scrabble and she enjoys playing it, too. When I was still in the Philippines and when she was here in Australia for a short visit, we used to play Scrabble all the time. I knew she would really enjoy Lexulous the way I do, so I introduced it to her and instructed her how to install the app on her phone. So far, we have played 25 times already and she beat me twice.

I also like the new user interface of the app. With the new UI, when you choose a player, a dialog box will appear showing the opponent's current rating and head to head stats showing the number of games won, lost or drawn against this player. It also shows how many points you will earn if you win or will be deducted from your current ranking points if you lose the match or if it ends up in a draw. Then, you have the option to accept the challenge or cancel it.

Lastly, the new feature that I really like and I find most helpful is the dictionary. You just have to make sure that in the settings, "Show Definition" is enabled so that the meaning of the words you and your opponent submitted on the board will appear after each turn.

So if you like Scrabble...

... you will definitely enjoy playing Lexulous on your computer or your mobile phone. You can register for free on Lexulous.com, or you can download it and install the app on your mobile phone. It's called Lexulous Word Game on PlayStore.

Once you're registered, your starting rank will be 1500 (but I think it's much lower than 1500 when you sign up using your Facebook account), but it will increase as you continue to garner points every time you win a game against someone, especially if you beat a user with a higher ranking than you. Of course, when you lose, points will be deducted from you.

So if you like to challenge me on a game of Scrabble via Lexulous app, here's my:

  • username: b0ggledm1nd

  • Lex ID: 1052-5571-5498

Again, this is a Free game. There are no monetary rewards or anything, other than pure enjoyment and fun, not to mention, improve your vocabulary as well.

Hope to see you there!!!

Bye for now!

[All screenshots are from my Lexulous account.]

[Top Image is from Unsplash.]

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for ElizabethV
3 years ago

Comments