Tools I Use In My Freelance Writing Career

17 68
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Some of you probably know that I'm trying to build a career in freelance content writing. I actually started my journey almost 2 years ago, last October of 2020, when I decided to start seeking more opportunities out of my skills and passion for writing.

At first, I just wanted to have an additional side hustle because I wanted to earn more money since I had a lot of free time that time. So I started pitching my writing services to different potential clients. I began applying for writing jobs that I could find on Facebook groups and even on online platforms like OnlineJobs.Ph and Upwork.

Luckily, there was one person who believed in my writing skills that hired me as one of her freelance content writers for her agency. Although I didn't get that many writing tasks and assignments from her when I started, my experience as a freelance content writer for her agency really helped me jumpstart my career since I got to build my writing portfolio because of the writing tasks given to me.

Anyway, in this article, I'm just going to share with you the Tools I use in my Freelance Writing Career. These are the apps I usually use every time I write content for different clients and everything in between. Perhaps, you might find these things useful as well if you are planning to build a career in freelance content writing.

1. Grammarly Premium

When you're a writer, it is important that your sentence construction is flawless or at least has only minimal errors.

Before, I only used the free version since I didn't know how to get the premium one. Luckily, when I got hired as a content writer for another writing agency, the head writer or editor suggested purchasing a Grammarly Premium account to avoid writing mistakes in my work. So I went on Facebook to find some sellers and I got to purchase mine for around 25 pesos valid for 2 months already. There are also some sellers who sell them cheaper.

What I love about it is that it doesn't only help you polish your writing but it also helps you make it plagiarism-free because of its built-in plagiarism checker. So once you finish correcting the grammar of your article, you don't need to copy and paste them again into another plagiarism checker tool. This tool saves you time and effort.

2. Google Drive

Google Drive does wonders and I'm so happy I get to take advantage of it now.

Before, I only used it to store the files of the articles and blogs I wrote for my client. But now, I get to use it in writing as well since I can directly write articles on it with the help of Google Docs.

Google Drive is where I store and compile my writing portfolio, which saves me time and effort, especially when applying for potential jobs since I can just copy the link to my portfolio and include it in my cover letter. There's no need to attach each file anymore when sending emails as clients can just click the link to access my writing samples.

3. Asana and Trello

Before, I didn't know how these tools work, but after working with different writing agencies, I learned how advantageous they are, especially when you are working with a Team or agency.

Asana and Trello are where you usually see the writing tasks assigned to you and your co-writers and it is also where you submit your work. It is very organized since you don't have to submit your work through email anymore and you can just send the link to the Google Docs where you wrote your writing assignment.

4. Slack and Skype

Slack is like Messenger but in a more professional manner. This is where you get to communicate with the team and receive updates about upcoming meetings.

I don't usually use Skype but one of the writing agencies that hired me is also using it to update writers about deadlines and tasks that needs to be finished.

5. Upwork

Obviously, Upwork is a platform where you get to look for potential clients and apply for possible jobs that fit your writing skills.

I created my account on Upwork almost 2 years ago but I only got to work it out last August this year when I decided to just work online instead of applying for a corporate job in the city. It has been a rollercoaster ride for me in using Upwork since the competition is getting harder each day as a lot of writers are now applying for the same job. But if you really get to learn strategies to make your proposal better to win clients, you'll eventually find a job.


Aside from these tools, there are still a few more things that I'm using in my Content Writing journey and I'll probably share them next time. And although I have been writing for years now, I still feel like a noob in the industry because there are just so many things to learn.

Anyway, if you are planning to also make a career in content writing, you just really have to believe in yourself and your abilities, and don't be demotivated when you get rejected or receive negative feedback. The right client will find you.

Cheers to a successful writing career! ✨

11
$ 4.37
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Comments

Yung dalawang nasa unahan lang po yung alam ko sa mga nabanggit nyo po. Pero sure naman po ako na magagamit ko itong mga tools na ito someday kapag pumasok na din po ako sa freelance writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Magagamit mo talaga yan sila. Haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo kapag nagtuloy po ako hehehe. Salamat po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grammarly made life easier hahahaa. It's good to cross check your work with it. It's absolutely wonderful... Google drive comes in handy too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it's a life saver. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣🤣 I agree

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Been always wanting to try freelancing but my device' availability hindered me to because I don't have a laptop. I'm working on it right now but I think it would really take a lot of time due to non-stop school expenses recently plus my parents' financial problem.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. I feel you. Focus on your studies first and keep saving to buy a laptop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Will definitely do that. Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing naman, nakakainspired magbasa ng mga ganito.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natututunan po yan. Haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

free lang Grammarly gamit ko sis ..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di pala basta-basta mag freelance writer langga nuh pero grabe you made it. Napaka galing mo talaga langga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi po. Hahaha! Natututunan naman yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag gusto matutunan ng isang tao matutunan talaga langga nuh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gonna save this for now!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sige lang. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago