My First Paid Writing Gig Experience

39 98
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago
Topics: Writing

I was supposed to publish this last night, but the site did not allow me to. So this is somehow a late celebration, but the feeling still feels so surreal, so I am still gonna write about it.

I posted about my first paid writing gig experience on my Facebook account last night to celebrate this small win, and I am also posting it here because this platform helped me to have my first writing gig and client.

M.A. Buendia said, "Post about your wins- big or small. Don't let anyone who doesn't contribute to your success have a say on how you should celebrate."

What he said makes sense. At first, I was hesitant to post about it because I thought that someone might think that I am just bragging or might say where on Earth am I getting the audacity to post about money, but after posting it, some of my Facebook friends and real-life friends reacted heart to it, and I felt happy and overwhelmed. I also received some words of encouragement from my High School teacher and mentor to continue writing.

So here it goes.

Yesterday, October 29, 2020, around 9:34 in the evening, I received this e-mail saying that I have received P1,393.65 from someone. I got very excited when I saw the notification on my phone, so I immediately checked my Paypal app if it was real. And yes, it was. My client also sent me an e-mail confirming that he already sent the payment for the scripts I wrote for him.

To be honest, I thought I won't receive the payment anymore because I have been waiting for it for almost two days, but I got shocked and excited when I saw the notification that popped up on my phone. I even thought that he was a scam. Haha! But it turned out, he is real.

I know this is just a small amount compared to the earnings of other writers who have been in the freelance writing industry for a long time now. But let me celebrate this small success because this is my first time to experience having a paid writing gig.

And because of this, I am now more determined to write better and to apply and submit my proposals for more freelance writing gigs on online job websites. This is my first experience writing as a freelance writer, and I am so excited to write for the second time, third, fourth, and so on until I land a long-term writing job.

I know you are curious to know how I got my first client and writing gig, so I will also share it here.

Exactly a week ago, I applied for a job post on an online job website that is looking for a Script Writer for Youtube Videos that tackles business and finance. I submitted my proposal where I included that I am a Business Administration student. I also said that I am a content writer on this platform and that I have background knowledge about writing Scripts for Youtube Videos because I am also a Youtube video Creator. I also shared some of my published articles on this site that is related to business and finance.

After a day, I received a response from him that the sample articles I included on my proposal that I sent him are the exact things he is looking for. So, he asked me to write about 2 topics for 10 dollars each. I told him that the minimum rate for Filipino writers is about 20 dollars per 1,000 to 2,000 words, however, I gave him an option that I am fine with only 15 dollars for one script. He accepted my offer, and the next thing I know, I was already writing for the topics he gave me.

The YouTube video scripts I wrote are:

How To Start a Business

How To Make Money Online

This is a good start for me as a freelance content writer because I already have first-hand experience on how to get a writing gig and client. Just like what I have said, I am now more eager and determined to continue what I am doing at the moment, because I know that it will be worth it and paid off in the end.

I would also just like to thank ate @bmjc98 for motivating me to try applying for writing gigs and jobs out there, and for constantly pushing me to believe that I am somehow good at writing. Seriously, it means a lot to me. I am forever grateful, ate.

So if you are also an aspiring freelance writer like me, just keep writing. Keep improving your works. Believe in yourself that you can do it. Go out there and try, because there is no harm in trying. No matter how many people will ignore your applications, I know there will be someone who will believe in your writing abilities. So don't quit.

Cheers to more writing gigs and clients!

21
$ 3.86
$ 3.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago
Topics: Writing

Comments

Congratulations! Better be late than never

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much. 🥳🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Thank you po. 🥳😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow congratulations 🥳🥳🥳🥳

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much po. Hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much po. Hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that's really a lot, congratulations. I'm not good in writing seriously but, I really want to write, it's just that I'm not really good in english, wish I have a talent just like yours. Congratulations again, fly high, write more and share it to the world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Hihi That is what I thought too, that I am not good at writing, but I already got my first writing gig. I think you should keep writing until you master your English. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try again. Anyway, what did you right about? The one that you submit, is it a story or?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I included those topics I wrote about in this article. You can read it again. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, script, just like when creating a movies or in theatre tou need a script to ,hmm 🤔 okay okay, thank you hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha! Not really. You can read the scripts I wrote for my client for you to have an idea. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

U have to try your best in composing wonderful write up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congress to you great job

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. I appreciate that. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great job. I hope you continue to excel in your writing endeavours. Success always. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I hope you success in life too. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations on your gigs success friend all for the best keep soaring.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I will. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations... Cheers to more writing gigs! 🥂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you po. Sana nga makakuha ulit ng client. Hihi

$ 0.00
3 years ago

congrats

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Magaling... good for you,,, keep it up...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Galing naman ❤️ share naman ng talent jan 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. After 20 tries, nakaisa din ng client. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ano name ng YouTube mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sikretong Malupit. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, congratulations that's great achievements for us as a writer, by the way how to join some gigs please? If you don't mind hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Haha! You can try joining on Freelance Writers groups on Facebook po. You can also create an account on onlinejobs website.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, I see may links ka ba nang mga FB groups hehe. I will try that one onlinejobs website too.. Congrats sayo malaki na rin yang premyo ah, nakaka proud yung ganyan hehe keep improving 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can search Freelance Writers Philippines po sa FB. Pwede din po kayo magtanong dun about freelance writing gigs. Hihi Thank you. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh, okay cge salamat ha hehe. Thank you sa info congrats again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem po. Haha and thank you. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago