Chapter 20: Finding Opportunities Amidst Uncertainties

3 18
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago
Topics: Life

About a year ago, on my 20th birthday, I had so many plans that I wanted to do this year. One of those is to travel. Unfortunately, Covid-19 came and wreck some of my plans. However, I am still grateful for this year because there might have been plans that did not push through, there were still opportunities that opened their doors for me.

As I turn 21 years old tomorrow, I want to look back and reminisce on some of the amazing things that happened before I turn another year older.

January 8, 2020- I experienced donating blood at Red Cross.

I started this year by donating blood to the Red Cross. It was my first time, and definitely not my last time. It has always been my goal to donate blood because it's not just beneficial for me, but by doing so, I get to extend even a little bit of help to those people who need blood.

January 12, 2020- I attended the Planetshakers Conference in Manila.

I am a fan of their Christian songs, and when I heard that they were coming to Manila, I grabbed that chance to witness them sing their songs live, and it was also a soul-searching moment for me. It was a fun, loud, and heartwarming experience.

February 15, 2020- I joined a "Run For a Cause" event.

Although I didn't really run and I mostly just walked, it was still an amazing experience especially that the money raised on that event was put to a good cause, and I am grateful I am part of it.

March 14, 2020- I hiked at Marian Hills in Pagudpud.

This day was the last day before the lockdown was imposed in the country, and this was also the first and last time I got to hike because my plan of hiking at Mt. Ulap this July didn't push through, all not thanks to the pandemic.

May 31, 2020- I stopped eating rice.

So it's been almost seven months since I last ate a meal with extra rice. To tell you honestly, I don't miss eating rice and I felt so much energy since I stopped eating it. I don't know if it is factual and proven by Science, but not eating rice really boosted my energy. So yes, still, "No to rice" this 2021. 😁

June 01, 2020- I started with my Ketogenic Diet, Intermittent Fasting, and Exercise Journey.

I actually was just inspired by so many "glow up" posts going on around Facebook and Twitter that is why I also wanted to experience this "glow up" thing myself, which made me search for an effective diet to lose weight and it lead me to a Keto diet group on Facebook. On my first month of strict diet, I lose about 6 kilograms so I didn't continue with my diet anymore. But up to this day, I am still on a low-carb diet with so many cheat days and cheat meals. πŸ˜‚

July 29 and August 10, 2020- I Organized a Simple Birthday Celebration for my Parents.

One of my goals in life is to make my parents experience the things they haven't experienced. And one of those is for them to celebrate their birthdays. Even though we still celebrate it before by cooking pancit or macaroni, this year I made it a little special by buying them both a cake, donuts, and the typical Filipino "handa" during birthdays. My papa would always say that he hasn't experienced having a cake for his birthday since he was a kid because there were 11 of them that their parents couldn't afford to buy them one, and it is my goal to buy them both a cake during their birthdays.

August 27, 2020- I moved to my tiny house.

It took almost a month to finish the construction of my tiny house, where only I and my dog could fit. Lol πŸ˜‚

It has always been my goal to build a house, even just a small one since I was 17, and I am glad I was able to pull it off this year. Although it still needs some renovation, I am happy I get to sleep under my roof.

September 06, 2020- I Joined read.cash platform.

It's been more than 3 months, and I am so grateful that I am a part of this platform. This site has helped me a lot, and it's the biggest twist of my life. I will forever be grateful to that one friend who invited me to join this website.

Readcash did not just give me extra income, but it gave me so many people whom I can learn from. It gave me a venue where I can freely share my thoughts and ideas. Seriously, read.cash is such a huge blessing to me.

October 20, 2020- I received my Passport.

I applied for my passport last August 11, and I received it after more than 2 months. It was my plan to have an overseas trip on my 21st birthday, but of course, leisure travel is not yet allowed so I'll just use my passport as a valid ID for now, and let it stay on my cabinet. πŸ˜‚

October 20, 2020- I was hired as a Freelance Content Writer.

After being a blogger on readcash, I got "promoted" as a Freelance Content writer, all thanks to ate bmjc98 who has been patient to answer my questions about her job and for introducing freelance writing to us here on this platform.

I'm going to search for a part-time or even full-time writing job once I already have a lot of free time. ✊

November 29, 2020- I was accepted at Upwork.

Although I am still yet to try sending a proposal on that platform, I am grateful that my application to be a freelancer on that site was approved. I know that Upwork will be beneficial for me in the long run especially if I got to find a client on that platform.

That's it! There are still a lot more amazing things to be thankful for this year and these are just some of them.

When the lockdown was imposed, and when Covid-19 was all over the country, I was quite scared that this year might just be a year wasted, but some opportunities and blessings came despite all the uncertainties.

For my 21sth birthday, my only wish is that 2021 will be a better year than 2020, and may there be a lot more blessings that come our way. I also hope and pray that the pandemic will be over sooner or later, and that no more life will be taken away because of this virus.

Cheers to a more prosperous year ahead!

-4
$ 3.10
$ 3.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago
Topics: Life

Comments

Welp, Happy Birthday! Grabe may sarili ka ng bahay gusto ko din nun ah hahaha need ko talaga mag-iponπŸ˜† Sana gumawa ka din po ng article about keto diet hahaha I want to read it. Simula nung nagquarantine kaunti na lang kinain ko because I want to burn my belly fats, nagexercise din ako for almost 3-4 months and unfortunately, hindi nawala ang belly fats pero yung katawan ko namayat my parents told me to eat a lot muka daw akong may sakit kaya ayun kumain na ulit ako ng maayos, any tips po? Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Hahaha! Next time gagawa ako ng article about ung journey ko sa Keto diet. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Then I'll wait for itπŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago