A Russian Ghost

0 9
Avatar for Egypttales
2 years ago
Topics: Ghosts

The following story is vouched for by Mr. W. D. Addison, of Riga, and sent by him to Mr. W. T. Stead, who published it in Borderland: “It was in February 1884, that the incidents I am about to relate occurred to me, and the story is well-known to my immediate friends. “Five weeks previously my wife had presented me with our first baby, and our house being a small one, I had to sleep on a bed made up in the drawing-room—a spacious but cozy apartment, and the last place in which one would expect ghosts to select for their wanderings. “On the night in question, I retired to my couch soon after ten and fell asleep almost the moment I was between the sheets. “Instead of sleeping as I am thankful to say, is my habit, straight through till morning, I woke up after a short dreamless sleep with the dim consciousness upon me that someone had called me by name. I was just turning the idea over in my mind when all doubts were solved by my hearing my name pronounced in a faint whisper, ‘Willy.’ Now the nurse who was in attendance on the baby, and who slept in the dressing room adjoining our bedroom, had been ill for the past few days, and on the previous evening my wife had come and asked me to assist her with the baby. As soon, therefore, as I heard this whisper, I turned around thinking, ‘Ah, it is the baby again.

To learn more about this topic through this link.

A Russian Ghost

1
$ 0.00

Comments