An Ordinary Day Here

1 25
Avatar for EgemenTR
2 years ago

I have been living in this small town with the full name Newcastle-under-Lyme for about 9 months (I know the name a little long, we can call it Newcastle for short). I wanted to share the mediocrity of a day here, maybe a little in small details, so that we can get a little distracted, and if I miss this place in the future, I will open this article and read it. When I first came here, I wrote an introduction to this place, you can look at it right here. Now let's get into some fine details, let's see how an ordinary day goes for everyone here.

Now that we got up in the morning, we see that the weather is rainy and cloudy again. Are we surprised? Of course not, thank God it's raining beautifully, we say mercy and open the curtains so that more light comes in. I know it's very hot in Turkey these days, and but it's raining here right now, the weather has still fully warmed up, and we can't say that summer has arrived. Because what a fate... We do not forget about our umbrella, I admit that I still do not have a good umbrella. I lead my life with very poor quality £1 umbrellas, why? Because that's the kind of person I am, I live this life with my umbrellas that skip things like that and break in the wind.

The room I live in is in the Jul center, very close to everything. There are two large grocery stores opposite, Aldi and Morrisons. That's a good thing, of course. Aldi would like to thank you for a student-friendly market in our Bim setting. We usually prefer him. I'm usually at the office at school during the week. I have already mentioned that schools here usually provide doctoral students with an office for their studies. Jul. The more flattened and dark the room where I live is, the more bright and spacious my office is. That's why I'm trying to be there during the week. But I also like to work outside on weekends and sometimes on days when I don't go to school on weekdays. Sometimes I pick up my computer and leave.

Unfortunately, there are not many alternatives at that point. There is no library with a decent working environment. There is a building called ”Castle House". It's set in the setting of a public library, but it's a dysfunctional place. So all that's left is the coffee chains we know about. And the only ones are Costa and Nero. Sometimes I go to Costa, sometimes to Nero, sometimes I work very efficiently, sometimes I can't work. But I still like it, because I see new people, I watch everyday life, I make inferences for myself. And then I also like coffee, which may be a more reasonable reason.

They renovated the inside of the Costa, the tables became more tidy. Nero is a little bad in that sense, but he also has a nice view. Today I am writing this article to you from Nero. We have a philosopher in Nero. He carries an e-book reader with a worn case in his hand. Her hair is long and messy. I call him Zizek for short, because Zizek's light hair bears similarities to his long form. Our brother Zizek has glasses, he is probably in his fifties, and he is constantly in Nero on weekdays. I mean, he's actually here every time I come. He prefers comfortable armchairs, not table chairs. For example, I've never seen him in Costa. I think he prefers Italian coffee. He spreads out on his couch, reads his e-book or newspaper in a light recumbent mode. He gets up every once in a while and gets another Dec. I haven't seen you talk to many people. It's not about socializing, but I think he can't stand being alone at home. Apart from that, our brother comes here more often with his wheelchair and his helper dog. Once we sat together at the table in the middle. He takes the opportunity to talk to people, is friendly. Actually, I would have liked to have a long conversation with him if his dog didn't smell so bad, but it's a share. Working hours at Nero are usually new mothers with babies, they come with strollers, they all sit together, they drink their milk frothy coffee. Unfortunately, there are not many other places to socialize, because it's here. Heh, and my favorite old couples are usually the ones. Especially on weekends, they get up early and come with their newspapers, sometimes they just read their newspapers without ever talking to each other.

And let's not forget about Costa. For example, we have an uncle in Costa who wants to be famous. It is likely that he is over 60 years old. He usually hangs out alone, and I guess he prefers Costa to socialize. He's very good with the employees, even sometimes they help him and Dec Decoupage the plates on the table, which is not a very frequent movement around here. When he gets bored, he gets up and walks around, goes to the safe, makes a joke or two, makes everyone laugh, then takes his place and reads his newspaper for a while. Then he gets up again, takes a walk, takes empty plates, glasses to the safe, again makes a few jokes and laughs. Interestingly, I've never seen him in Nero either. And how do I look from afar? A strange stranger crouched on his desk, trying to write something on the computer in front of him, headphones in his ear. And hi to him, too.

There is no good bookstore here. Sometimes I'm looking for a good bookstore where you can go in and look at books for hours, sit down and do some reading. It's a little ridiculous, but I can get my head around it in stationery stores or bookstores. There are two parallel streets here where all the activities are gathered. Here are small-scale shops, markets and so on. There are also two Poundlands very close to each other. This detail can give an idea of the socioeconomic level of a city for the UK. So are the charity shops, I mean, the shops where second-hand things are sold... there are a lot of them here, and they are always full.

In addition, Sunday stalls are set up right in the heart of the city, and various items are sold. It becomes colorful, it becomes fertile. You'll pass through them. Dec. Most often on the shore you can see a homeless person somewhere around the corner. They usually ask for money politely, and they are very pleased when they give it, they thank you very much. Don't look at me like that, actually, this is an expensive place to live. Their rent is also not so cheap, but it is especially more expensive than in the city of Stoke-on-Trent, to which it is connected. It could be because it's a university city. And yet there is not even a railway station. We have to take a 20-minute bus to Stoke for the train, you should be, I'll be fine…

You can take a tour like this and go back home and see these things. If you sit in a cafe like me and forget to drink your coffee and dive into this article, your coffee may get cold. Indeed cold. Well, I hope it has been a pleasant article for you. Let it be a little like that today. Dec Tuesday, by the way, I'm going to Portugal for a congress. I sat down and wrote them down as if I wasn't the one who would be presenting there -even though my presentation wasn't ready. Because that's what happens sometimes.

Note: I couldn't find the appropriate image for the post. Then I asked why there shouldn't be such a cool coffee image on this blog. Because why not?

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Bjorn
Avatar for EgemenTR
2 years ago

Comments

I've replaced books with audiobooks lately, but I still enjoy the feel of a real book. Thank you for your story!

$ 0.00
2 years ago