The memoir of an ex-investment manager Part 1

6 39
Avatar for Edwardcloud
2 years ago

I had been working in the banks after my graduation. I remember that it was during the subprime crisis when I decided that I had enough of the banking industry. It was an employment agency that had sent me to an interview in a private investment company as a risk manager.

I could still remember that there were two gentlemen at the interview. Throughout the interview, I had told them what I was doing in the bank. They had asked a few questions on the trades that were performed by the banks and my role in it.

I heard nothing from them over the next two weeks, deep down I felt disappointed as I thought that I had what it takes to be a risk manager in that firm. I had continued to search for my job as I had given up hope on this job opportunity.

It was at a Friday morning interview where I had received a buzz from my phone. Out of respect for the interviewers, I did not pick up the phone. When the interview was finally done, I had made a callback to the number which was somehow familiar.

"Hi Edward," It was from the investment company. "The purpose of this call is to let you know that the position that we are looking for had been hired" You could imagine my face when she said that. I had already known that they had already found someone since they had not to get back to me within 2 weeks. So with a relatively cold tone, I replied, "Okay, thanks for letting me know that."

I was about to hang up the phone when Eileen continued, "Our investment director, Mr. Richard Tseng, if you remember is one of the two gentlemen who had interviewed you a fortnight ago, will like to meet you later at 3 pm for a discussion."

"Oh, what is the agenda?" I just want to make sure that I am not wasting my time where the time could be better spent elsewhere. "After the interview, Mr. Tseng thought that you are suitable for the role of the investment manager. He will like to have a further discussion with you."

Since I do not have any afternoon appointments, I decided that it would be a good idea to meet Richard to see what was in his mind. So I accepted the offer for an interview/discussion.

I had reached the office at 2.45 pm and been led directly into Richard's office. Unlikely the prestigious office that you see on television, Richard's office was outdated, full of annual reports and papers. I was pretty shocked by the sharp difference between drama and reality. At the desk was Richard who was still staring at the multiple screens when I came into the room.

<To be continued>

Post note: This is the first time I am doing a blog. There is a lot of technical aspects of things which I may still have trouble in having professional blogs like many here. This will likely be a general blog leaning close to general financial management. Thank you. All names had been changed to protect the privacy of the involved personnel.

<Pictures credit from Unsplashed>

6
$ 0.23
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.03 from @MizLhaine
Avatar for Edwardcloud
2 years ago

Comments

Oh my banking, that is what my parent's want for me when I was in HighSchool, but I think I'm not into it:D Goodluck on your journey on it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there! There is indeed a difference between drama and reality, looking forward to read the part 2 for this article.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much MizLhaine. I hope that I had not been disappointing as I am very new to blogging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Edward! Congrats for your first article. I'm looking forward to reading the continuation of this article.

So you're into banking. Cool! I am always fascinated about the people in the bank. It's not easy to deal with lots of numbers every day.

Anyway, see you on your next post.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the support. You and a few others had inspired me to take the first step into blogging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very much welcome. ☺️ Enjoy your stay here!

$ 0.00
2 years ago