Online games : a distraction?

2 11
Avatar for Eclipse
3 years ago

I've seen a lot of people being hooked up with online games especially since the pandemic began. Now that we are locked up in our own house, we have no choice other than to find something that could ease our boredom. It can be learning how to cook, to play an instrument or to study for entrance examinations (usually for upcoming senior highschool student or college freshmen) but some people found playing online games as fun as the things mentioned above. Some of the online games that are popular today can be played through our mobile phone such as Call Of Duty, Minecraft, Mobile Legends, PUBG Mobile and many other to mention. The others can be played through our personal computer such as GTA 5, Valorant and etc. For sure, some of you could relate and has an opinion to the games listed above.

However, some elders look to online games as a distraction to studies, a horrific way to waste one's life. But, I disagreed to such thinking. Online games becomes most of the youth’s stress-reliever and air-breather to the pressure in school, family problems and anxiety about things we can't figure out. The older people can't expect us to just study all the time because that will suffocate us to death. They should understand that their generation and today's generation is different in timeline and on how we cope up to the shits that surrounds us.

In fact, base on my own experiences and some of the people I've met, online games do not disturb education because if you're really stupid, then you're stupid. I know someone who plays online games everyday but still managed to be a scholar in the school he went to. Not only that, he also maintained his high grades while having fun with games. I, myself, could still find time to play games even when I have an examination the next day but I still managed to got perfect scores. I'm not encouraging those who read this to do what I did but the purpose of my experiences was to prove that online games is not a distraction BUT how you manage your time is.

P.S I'm not good with words but I hope I clearly stated the point I'm trying to convey. If I have something I should work on, please kindly tell me!

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Eclipse
3 years ago

Comments

For me its a big yes .! Because i have a brother whos so much addicted in online games . Its destroy the good manners of children .They not thingking the bad effect on it .They forgot to study even this day is pandemic we should to study online or module .My brother forgot to eat beacause of playing online games .Online games are so much toxic .Its not good specially in the children .He only focus on it .Because some of the children not aware of distraction they only want is to play . If you are online games be responsible ,manage your time but like what I said many children are not aware .Anyway you did a good article very interesting.!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As what I've said, it is really about time management but I suppose some childrens are still not aware of that but i think with the proper guidance of those who knew better, they can learn how to manage their 'game time' and the things they need to do like studying and eating. I agreed that those characteristic shouldn't be tolerated but one person's actions shouldn't represent the whole people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago