Being proud of our feats without being brash and loud

0 9
Avatar for Echoecho
3 years ago

BEING PROUD OF OUR FEATS WITHOUT BEING BRASH & LOUD

Clement Hii

When someone at a business dinner casually asked what I’m most proud, I was for a moment lost for words. He would probably have expected me to reel off a list of achievements, but I immediately felt it wasn’t about giving examples of amazing feats. When we think back over our life and everything we’ve done, some moments will stand out and make us want to say: “Heck, I did that!” But I seriously feel it doesn’t have to be one of life’s milestones. Often, we take for granted the things we think are ordinary and forget their true value. Knowing what makes us proud of ourselves can bring a better perspective on how we look at ourselves. It can also allow others to understand our thought process and personality.

I had interviewees who tell of their “proud” achievements which made them come across as arrogant, and that they won’t fit into a team based role. Pride is an emotion that says we’ve met or surpassed expectations. But I think pride can be more discrete & soft-spoken - it doesn’t have to be all brash & loud as if you’re screaming: “Look at me!” I’m proud with how far I’ve come, but I’m also equally proud of all the times I’ve failed and the hard lessons learned. I’ve a friend who takes great pride in his physical exploits, and another who feels just surviving 2020 is a momentous attainment. We can, and should, feel lofty with many simple actions in our routines - making someone smile or just being honest. I think pride should be an internal expression of self-love and not an external plea for attention.

-3
$ 0.00

Comments