Raven, Ergo or Cortex?

1 34
Avatar for DrKalp
Written by
2 years ago

Hello there, buddies! I recently purchased an RTX 3080 Ti by selling my RTX 2080 Super graphics card, and I considered re-mining due to the lower cost of this card and the cooler weather.  In the meantime, I tried out a few different coins. ; however, I do not mine Ethereum because my card is the LHR version from birth. Meanwhile, I experimented with coins like Raven and Ergo, but because these coins unreasonably boost both the memory and normal temperatures of the card, I used a new currency and calculated its profitability. I considered writing an article about my experiences with this topic.

The MSRP of the GeForce RTX 3080 Ti is $1,199, and it was released in June of 2021. It uses SAMSUNG's 8nm manufacturing technology as well as NVIDIA's Ampere architecture. The GPU contains 10,240 CUDA Cores, 112 ROPs, 320 TMUs, 80 Ray Tracing Cores (2nd Gen), and 320 Tensor Cores and is based on GA102-225 (3rd Gen).  It has a Boost Clock of 1665MHz and 12GB of GDDR6X memory running at 19GHz on a 384-bit memory bus with a bandwidth of 912GB/s. TDP is 350W.

First and foremost, I'd like to discuss why the RTX 3000 series GPUs become so hot. Let me point out that the GDDR6X memories utilized in these cards are Micron output, which means they aren't ideal for mining. The temperature rises as the voltage applied to the memories rises. For example, on older RTX 2000 series cards, lowering the voltage by a particular amount reduced mining power by 5% or 10%, respectively.

These rates produce a performance loss of 20-30%, and in some cases up to 50%, in the 3000 series. The temperature in the cards likewise falls at the same pace, but if we take the costs of these cards as a base, this diminishes the efficiency dramatically. Because of this inverse ratio, most people prefer not to damage the card by mining. The fact that the cards are new, budgets are limited, and prices are high exacerbates the problem for people worried about their income or expenses.

To give you an idea, I paid around $1000 for my card. This card is useful not only in gaming, but also in my everyday life. I want it to make money for me. It's a little worrying that you won't be able to obtain full performance at these temps and that the card might break down. That's why I'm attempting to keep it running at maximum capacity while keeping track of how hard the various coins push the card.

The only difference between Raven and Ergo mining is that Raven uses both Core Clock and Memory on the graphics card; the more power you give to your card in Raven mining, the more memory power you use, the more Mh/s you get; similarly, in Ergo mining, the higher the Memory and the higher the energy, the more Mh/s you get. Raven coin had the maximum value of 53 Mh/s, while Ergo had a value of 262 Mh/s.

The Raven GPU 60 memory had temperatures up to 100 degrees for the majority of the period, with the fans running at 90%. The fans were set at 80% in Ergo, the GPU temperature was 57 degrees, and the memory temperature was between 80 and 88 degrees. The memory temps for Ergo are in the somewhat acceptable range, but I can't say the same for Raven. These temperatures are not optimal for me, and they can cause problems in the long term.  Raven's electricity use was 320-330 Watts, while Ergoda's was 250-300 Watts. Another distinction between Raven and Ergo is the difference in payment frequency and profits, with earnings as low as 0.30 cents in Ergo and daily in Raven.  Ergo is not a strong investment in forward-looking mining, despite its positive appearance. It takes me three days to get to one Ergo. I could excavate 60 Ravens in one day in Raven. In general, I didn't understand these two coins, especially for the LHR versions of the RTX 3000 series cards. So I started looking into Cortex.

What is the process of Cortex mining, why did I chose Cortex, and does it make sense in the long run?

To begin, you'll need an AMD or NVIDIA graphics card to mine Cortex (CTXC).  For Cortex mining, you'll need at least 11GB of GPU memory for Windows 10 and 8GB for Windows 7 or Linux. This algorithm varies from previous cryptominers in that it does not use the card's memory. This is a significant benefit for the high-power RTX 3000 series cards. The card operates cooler since it uses core speeds rather than Cortex memory.

Your performance loss will be minimal if you lower your power consumption. On my 3080 Ti, the PL 81 Core Clock +150 and Memory Clock 0 have a Fan Speed of 70 and a Power Consumption of 282 Watts. It preserves my card at 58 degrees and my memories at 70-74 degrees. This feature of the Cortex's temperature is satisfactory, too, when it comes to gains. My personal card has a value of about 6.3 GPS, therefore if I dive in the pool with these parameters, I'll save about 29.77 CTXC today, which is about $ 6.05.  There is a 0.30 cent loss, according to Ergo and Raven. However, I prefer this because the RAM and GPU temperatures are both within acceptable ranges, and the numbers are also acceptable. Because I believe it is a long-term investment, I believe it makes more sense than Ergo and Raven.

So Solo or Pool?

To be honest, it depends on your digging ability and, of course, your luck. Solo mining is a great option if you're lucky or have a lot of digging strength. If your GPS speed is 3 or lower, I do not recommend Solo because the block you will locate may not satisfy you. As I have stated, this is a game of chance and digging prowess, and the Pool guarantees a charge. My own digging pace is 6.3 GPS, and in the first 10 minutes, I found a block for roughly $1.40.

The number of blocks I discover varies depending on my luck throughout the day; sometimes I find 8-9 blocks, and other times I find 2-3 blocks. In light of this, I recommend that you solo; as I previously stated, if you want a guaranteed pay every day, it makes sense to join the pool. For the time being, I've moved to Solo mining because the challenge of locating blocks is low. Cortex has a larger edge over other coins because my card temperature and energy usage are at a good level.

What pool am I digging in?

I selected 2Miners as a pool because I believe it is the best network for Cortex and is more beneficial both as a pool and solo. I discovered my first block not long after I began mining, however I had to restart because I experienced an internet outage in the 15th minute of mining. Miner Statistics - Solo Cortex CTXC Mining Pool - 2Miners is my wallet address. It's also available here. I'm using Gminer as an app, and I believe I'll be making greater money with time.

As a result, Cortex is an investment I've made to keep my card from breaking down due to temperature fluctuations, as it will deliver higher gains at lower temperatures while using less electricity. I'm not giving investment advice here; I'm only sharing what I've learnt for people who are interested in learning more about Cortex mining. None of these articles constitute financial advice.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for DrKalp
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

What are you mining nowadays raven?

$ 0.00
1 year ago