Part 1: Life as an O.F.W(Overseas Filipino Workers)

2 39
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago
Topics: Growth, Lesson, Inspiring, Work, 2021, ...
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty

When I was small, I can still recall every March of the year was my happiest. Aside from having a long vacation from school, it's the time to meet my relatives from abroad. I and my cousins were lining up from our grandmother's door waiting for our favorite aunt to come out. The smell of the dark chocolate reminds my excitement during my childhood days. I got my inspiration from my aunt why I dreamt to work soon abroad because, in my beliefs, it's the solution to save my family's crisis. It came to a point that I was aiming to get married to a foreigner because I want to be like my aunt.

All these fantasies were slowly changed when I was in my teenage stage. My experiences started to mold me for a new vision in life. I became focus on prioritizing my family. Give a better home especially to my parents. I realized that a willed woman does not depend on man's power but she uses her own to reach on top. Dreaming to get married to a foreigner was no longer part of my ambitions because, at this time, I promised myself that I will work hard by my own sweat not relying on someone to become what I wished before.

It was in my high school days when I spoke to my stepsister for the first time. It was in my 6th grade I found out that I have an older stepsister but never in my life did I meet her personally. When my mother passed away, she promised us that she will be the one to take care of us. When I finished college, I was able to work in a private school for a year. Before my contract ends, my sister offered a reward for my hard work so she invited me to come with her to the Middle East.

HOW TO CROSS MIDDLE EAST FROM THE PHILIPPINES?

When you are planning to go abroad, make sure that you are fully loaded with confidence and sincerity to leave your country. There are many ways we can travel abroad but it depends on the situation. I did not undergo to any agency here in the Philippines for employment but I did my visit visa. Having a family or relatives from abroad will make an easy way for you to pass as long as your supporting documents are authentic and certified. In my experience, the immigration asked me to show my birth certificate and my sister's birth certificate too and the woman saw there that we both have the same mother so we are blood-related. Actually, I was lucky during my interview because they were all in a hurry since I was the last passenger to wait on board so I was not able to spend more time having conversations with the interviewee.

THOUGHTS ON THE PLANE

It was my first international flight and it's going to be a long journey. I was happy because I finally made it. Happy because my future awaits there and happy to finally meet my stepsister for the very first time. Besides that happiness, there are worries and sadness as well. I am sad because I have to leave my loved ones and worry about how will I survive there in a new country, with new people, and new culture. All I can do at this moment is to stay firm and positive for whatever will be the outcome of this decision of mine. I know that God has a greater plan why he let me pass through this all. I am excited about a new career and adventure.

THE ARRIVAL

Dubai International Airport was so huge. I was so afraid if I may get lost. I was wondering if people can speak English because as far as I know the majority of the people here are Arabic. It was in the airport when I saw the actual dress of the Emirati women and men. What I did so that I will not get lost was, keep reading and looking at the symbols and signs. Next, never hesitate to ask people for help or instructions and I am proud to myself that I was confident enough to approach them because I have no choice if I will let my nervousness drive me.

FINALLY, I SAW HER

This was a bit dramatic and emotional meet-up with my sister. We were both longing for our mother and how I successfully made this journey. I can see from her teary eyes how happy is she to see me. It feels so great that there is kind of people like my sister who truly accepted me and trusted me to be with her on her new chapter of life.

I am going to end the first part of my life as an now. This is just the beginning of the story. I cannot wait to share with you my good and bad experiences there. I know some of you can relate to this because you as well had experienced this or have some family and relatives working there. Thank you, everyone. What a cold and rainy Friday. keep updated for PART 2.

4
$ 5.11
$ 5.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.02 from @zolabundance2
Sponsors of Donnabel8.-
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Donnabel8.-
2 years ago
Topics: Growth, Lesson, Inspiring, Work, 2021, ...

Comments

In my case, I wanted to isolate myself from other country because I want to develop myself in a new environment. Though my family is one of main priority, I still wanted to enhance myself in a new environment and additional salary as well. This country is getting worse, and I guess that there's nothing wrong to move in other country by thinking about myself first. Anyway, get well to you included your family hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's been fused now in the mind of Filipinos that we expect more than what our country can offer. That's why some of us are taking a risk to pursue what our goals in life and to go abroad is one of the keys to make a successful life even others didn't make it but we can see how it changes lives compare on what we used to or kind of living we have while here in Philippines. It is nice knowing from you about your interest in going abroad. I know God sorted something for you in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago