How I accidentally sent BCH to a wrong BCH address

19 39
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Topics: Mistake, Story, Tired, School

You know they say when you have plans for something and it doesn't go as expected, it hurts more than when you do not have any plans for it. I just made a very terrible mistake I am not very proud of in sending money from badger wallet to my binance account.

I initially used to use bitcoin.com wallet but ever since I changed my phone a week ago due to a damaged engine on the last one, it seems I couldn't access the app anymore. Whenever I tried downloading it from playstore I don't even see its name pop up but instead I see other wallets I am not very familiar with, when I finally got it on playstore, they said that my phone, isn't compatible with the version that's available on playstore. It came as a surprise because the phone I am using now is the same phone version as the one I was once using before I bought this one. So I thought maybe it was the app version that was updated. I decided to opt for badger wallet and it seemed kinda different. At first it looked strange but I later came to understand it, or so I thought.

I transfered $25 from my readcash wallet to badger wallet and it went just fine. First step done! I then tried send the money to my binance wallet but then it turned out that badger bitcoincash wallet doesn't transfer through legacy address and binance addresses are all legacy. But when I was using bitcoin. Com wallet it really didn't matter as I could transfer to legacy address. This was entirely different with badger wallet so I tried scanning the QR code of my binance wallet address but still, it didn't work. I transferred the funds from my badger wallet back to my readcash address to see if there was an option that converts legacy to cashaddr because I couldn't find that on binance either. I thought maybe readcash catered for that, so I tried it out. I pasted binance legacy address directly on my readcash and it showed me a link where I could convert it to cashaddr address and that's where I amsw the mistake. As I clicked on the conversion link I was presented with an address. Unknown to me, it was only a sample. It looked too similar to my binance legacy address so I just copied the corresponding cashaddr address thinking it was mine. I pasted it on my badger wallet and transfered the funds to the address. I had to wait for funds to arrive in my wallet thinking they are awaiting confirmation.

I waited for about an hour and then after nothing came, I rechecked the address and realized that it was the wrong address. What pained the most was that I had urgent plans to settle with the funds but I guess I have learnt my lesson now. I now know how to use badger wallet and that is a knowledge gained I guess.

The reason I had been gathering the money is that I wanted to pay for my documentation which is soon to close. I don't like disturbing my family about every single thing I might need, but since it turns out to be like this and I don't wanna get penalized for not paying the miney before the deadline, I guess I've got no other choice.

It was a terrible mistake on my part. I hope I do not make such again.

Thanks for reading guys.

Yours Layly,

😊😊

10
$ 2.37
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 8
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago
Topics: Mistake, Story, Tired, School

Comments

Some mistakes are expensive and we learn from them. I am sorry to read about yours... I often used the address converter via https://tools.bitcoin.com/cash-address-converter/

We do need to be careful and double check everything before any transaction to avoid any loss next time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh wow!! Thanks alot Farmgirl. I am definitely trying this out. Thanks!! 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome and be careful hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh god you mistakenly choose another address. I hope you already pay on your documentations

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well not yet. But I will manage to do so today. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the experience. But what I actually do to convert the legacy address from an exchange is to add bitcoincash: before the legacy address, without any spaces. It works for me especially when I want to trabsfer to Luno

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. I never know that worked. Since legacy starts with 1 and cashaddr starts with q followed by sowm other letters, I didn't think of it that way. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The damage has been done, at least youve learned a lesson. I know that tge good Lord will shower you with more blessings. <3

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen. Thanks for the prayer AlphaCron

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your experience, you will need to be more careful next time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I sure will. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Atleast now you knew how to use the badger wallet and can't do another mistake

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. I definitely won't make another mistake.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have made such mistakes in the past with btc. It's getting very frustrating.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very. Infact I uninstalled my badger wallet. It really sucks for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you have learned something. Things will be easier and better next time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so. It's something I won't forget anytime soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened with many of us. We all learnt from our mistakes. So will you, right dear?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. So I did. I learned.

$ 0.00
2 years ago